Essence

In a conversation yesterday, someone noted that the UPCI–the ministerial organization with which my husband is connected–is now bigger than ever before, and “it literally has strengthened its financial position to a degree where we will soon began (begin) financing our efforts through the interest earned on our invested monies…”.

One of my sons is connected with the WPF, a ministerial organization that was founded a few years ago. I have friends in other ministerial organizations, and many friends, and family–also ministers–who choose to belong to no organization, but who are classified independent. Since many of those who formed the WPF came from the UPCI and the UPCI is now bigger than before, it seems to me that within the small circle of church work with which I am acquainted, the dividing and expanding has worked to grow the organism. I choose not to address my personal thoughts about all the ramifications of such a move for a couple of reasons: The primary reason being that I suspect few give a flip about my observations in that regard. :)

From the mix of the conversation yesterday came to me a reminder of the importance of doing the basic work of God wherever we are, however we can, and with whatever tools have been thrust our way. Humbly. Not as a peacock admiring his own tail feathers.

Within the minutiae of my notes, scribbled on a faded yellow lined scrap of paper in my handwriting is an account I read somewhere–who knows where?–I wish to share with you.

As the doctors were arguing over his care–who would put in the chest tube, the patient pled, “Somebody please save my life.

While the others argued, two other doctors took over and saved his life.”

untitled (26 of 56)

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 74 years old feels blessed to have excellent health and lots of energy. She has been married to Jerry for 55 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 9 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, evangelism, Humility. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Essence

  1. Posted on FB by An ApostolicLady

    Well I higly doubt heaven will have initial credential requirements
    I pray the UPC holds fast to the principles that made them a great organization, based on the word of God
    I pray the WPF holds fast to the principles that led them to the decisions that is making them a great organization, based on the word of God
    I pray the independents, hold fast to the values and principles of the word of God.

    • Thank you for your visit to my site and your comment over on facebook. I’m with you: Believe we’ll definitely all be together in heaven. What a happy day.

      Blessings to you and yours.

  2. Posted on FB by Demetrio Frietze ยท

    Dr’s of Dr’s… Jesus

  3. Posted on FB by Doretha Fields

    EXCELLENT!! Love your way with words.

Leave a Reply

