Unhurried LANDMARK and a Remarkable Family

Without question it is to my disadvantage that I do not know the Haney family well. Some of us are acquaintances, of course, seeing that for years Jerry and I were active in the Western District of the United Pentecostal Church, as were several of the Haney family. Though I do not know them closely, I deeply admire those great people and the work their family has done in the city of Stockton, CA; indeed around the world. I believe their church building is the largest in California that was actually built as a church; it seats several thousand. On another piece of property stand their older auditorium and multiple other buildings, including a Bible school campus.

Well beyond my admiration for the physical monuments the Haneys have erected is my respect for their attitudes, their closeness to God, and their obvious deep dedication to works of The Spirit. Last night’s service of their conference LANDMARK was an example of what I feel and am trying to say. I watched on my computer by live-streaming. Let me make a list; It is a short, but notable list that certainly will not encompass every positive aspect of the scenario, but it will help you understand the remarks I am making.

1. From the beginning I was struck by the lack of “hurry.” It was slow and deliberate, quite lacking in frenzy and any sense of desperation. The opening prayer service, led by Pastor Haney, lasted at least thirty minutes, and during this time, “we” were led into the Shekinah. True worship sang throughout that magnificent auditorium.

2. Pastor Haney gave every appearance and every sound and every sense of having been long in the presence of God. He was comfortable with it. He was authentic. He exuded a drift of foundation–deep, solid, robust. Yet, Pastor Haney appeared humble and unassuming. An aura of the Holy wound about him.

3. The musicians and singers were multiple, and almost without exception when the camera would pan on them, they appeared to be in a state of worship, sometimes with tears running down their faces.

4. Boldness, still without hurry, was marked throughout the service, as Pastor Haney ministered, calling groups to the altar area, and then other groups . . .and healings came and miracles, no doubt.

I believe it good for you to know these things.

http://www.clministry.com/

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 74 years old feels blessed to have excellent health and lots of energy. She has been married to Jerry for 55 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 9 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian Boldness, Christian Service, Conferences, Holy Ghost, Music/singing, Pentecostal, Preaching/Preachers, Worship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unhurried LANDMARK and a Remarkable Family

  1. Tena says:

    I also have been watching as much as possible on line, Sis. Buxton, and I must agree with your description here. I just LOVE how it is unhurried and Spirit-led and not schedule/program-led.

Leave a Reply

