The Love of God

Sometimes it is beautiful music that leads me into His presence, or a sense of danger that jerks from my throat the shout of His name, or a scheduled prayer meeting, or a Sunday morning gripped hand of one who sits beside me. Other times—perhaps they are more significant moments—I sit, quiet and alone, and listen…listen, strain to hear His voice, the voice of my Master. When at last I am able to discern those tones, the peculiar tones of another world, then am I led, led trembling into His presence. To talk.

Talk to God, you say? Talk to the Creator, the Master of the Universe? Can it be so?

Yes, my friend; indeed it is so. Understand, please understand, that only the unsearchable, mysterious love of God enables such an unthinkable, incomprehensible ability—ability to talk—to communicate with God. In reciprocity is such talk; in equilibrium is it not.

For words from God are of the highest order, of majestic and ethereal flow, timeless thoughts, spoken from eternal and peerless fount. And mine? Of the earth; flawed, faltering and fearful. And yet we talk, we commune, we speak. Because of love. Because of the Love of God.

So, as did Zedekiah the king, who quizzed Jeremiah, I ask, “Is there any word from the LORD?”

And strain my ears to hear words as from Jeremiah, “And Jeremiah said, There is:..” Jeremiah 37:18

And in His presence…and in His Word…and in His Words do I revel.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Jeremiah, Love of God, Prayer, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Love of God

  1. Michael says:

    I realize, as my mother, I’m sure I’m very partial as to what you write and the meanings your words and of all the thought generated. I’m even more sure that as you write about the lord and what he means to you in your own personal life ,I would be remiss to not tell you and thank you in my own words for instilling in me from my birth what you write about and what you live. Michael

  2. Shirley says:

    Michael, I cannot think of a more fitting first response to this blog, than one from you, for as you know, as many of us know, for more than 20 years, you wandered…alone, alienated from God, and from His people.

    Then, as did the prodigal in the Bible, you came to yourself, and made your way to the house of the Father. My soul shouts at the thought, I shake with emotion, and tears fall from my eyes. I will never stop being grateful.

    I love you more than you can ever know…and I love God for His everlasting infinite mercy…without which, none of us could possibly be saved.

    Mom

  3. iluv2prshim says:

    This is going to be good! Real Good! I’m glad you are starting this new blog.
    I am also amazed that the God of Glory, the Creator himself takes time to talk to me. What I have to learn to do is sit long enough in His presence (like you said) and listen.
    Great things are in store on this blog. I just feel it!

  4. Shirley says:

    Thank you Ronda for being one of the first to visit my new blog. We are kindred spirits, who both love the precious things of God, and I truly value your being here. Are we not blessed?

    Sometimes I look at people staggering through life who do not know The Way, who have had no “good breaks,” and who are so lost and alienated, and my heart grieves for them.

    But look at you and at me—all our lives we have been surrounded by people of God, by His presence, and with His anointed Word ringing in our blessed ears.

    It’s a marvel.

  5. carolena h says:

    Sis. Buxton,
    You and your new blog are an answer to one of my prayers. Lately, I realized the need to draw closer to the Lord. I feel that I have been so far away from Him for so long. And I really miss His presence. Being a single mom, a fulltime student and raising a teenage daughter is sometimes overwhelming, and I forget to go to The Source for my strength. But this year I decided that I would put Him first, by praying, and reading His Word. So, thank you so much for this new blog, I will be reading it everyday! And keep me in your prayers.
    Gdd Bless
    carolena

  6. Shirley says:

    Carolena, yes, I will pray for you. My heart goes out to women such as you who carry such a heavy load, and who obviously have a heart after God.

    You’re right to turn your attention toward Him, though, for He absolutely will be your strength. Do you have a church? Godly believers will help you find your way.

    God bless you tonight, give you rest and peace in your soul.

  7. Tena says:

    This is wonderful, Sis. Buxton! I am looking forward to your spiritual wisdom and gifted writing on this blog. May the Lord use you mightily here. Love you lots! Tena

  8. Maria says:

    Hello on the new site, Shirley!
    In Jesus,
    Maria in the UK
    http://www.inhishands.co.uk

  9. Greg the explorer says:

    Of all the blogs in all of the world wide web I couldn’t be haappier than to find myself here. You have a gentleness and a love for God that goes beyond doctrine or difference of opinion you bestow upon al that visit you the gift of your attention and wisdom.

    I find it hard to pray. Whether it is due to laziness, business or both – or some other reason – However I find that when I do take the time and when I do allow myself to sit and be, that I am filled with the amazing wonder that the God who flung the stars out into space, who set the rivers to flowing and the lions to roaring would enjoy being with me.

    I’ll be a visitor here as well Shirley

  10. Catholic Writer says:

    Hi Shirley,

    Congrats on starting a new blog. I will definitely visit it often. Please publish your RSS feed soon.

    God bless,
    Catholic Writer

  11. Shirley says:

    Tena, you are full of sweet words. I’m not writing this blog because I think I am especially endowed with spiritual wisdom, nor do I believe I am a gifted writer. I do think God’s Word speaks to all of us, though, and it feels right to share with each other.

    Maria, thank you for being here, and for your own column that is given to talk of God and His bountiful ways.

    Greg, your words truly humble me, and I do not take them lightly. Thank you. From my earliest days of blogging I resolved to show through my daily experiences that to live for God is the “good life”, and that it is an appealing way. As you can imagine, I actually have quite strong beliefs, that no doubt cross theological lines with many people, and under the right circumstances, I do not hesitate to voice them. It has not seemed circumspect to do so in this venue. No promises, though. 🙂

    Greg, one of the great mysteries of the godly life–indeed in my own life—is why we find it so difficult to pray, when it is such a positive force. The devil? Evil hindering us? Perhaps. More likely it is our “flesh,” but even that is not a logical answer, for prayer is such a glorious experience it seems it would appeal to every part of us.

    Catholic Writer: I believe my RSS feed is available. My chart is showing hits. (I am the blogging world’s most non-geeky writer, so I am not absolutely sure.)

  12. helenl says:

    Hi Shirley, I appreciate your fine examples of the various ways you come into God’s presence. There is no right or wrong way to come to Jesus; He welcomes everyone at all times in all places. What is important is that we come to God and listen. No matter how we enter the presence of the Lord we must listen in the silence, or between the gusts as the strong wind blows, for the still, small vioce that is all power.

  13. Shirley says:

    Beautiful, Helen.

  14. Jana Allard says:

    I love the new blog. God is awesome!

  15. writeathome says:

    Hi Sister Buxton,

    My sister Karen was telling me last night that you were thinking about starting another blog, and I was happy to find this morning that it is a reality! I appreciate you sharing your thoughts and insights on the Word of God. I’m thankful we do have the privilege to talk to God and to be able to listen. It’s something I want to learn to take advantage of more and more. God bless your new devotional. You know I’ll be here as much as I can.

    Love,

    Carol

  16. Eva Kolej says:

    Sister Buxton–You are an answer to prayer. I have searched and searched for a devotional to include in with my personal devotions. Now I have found one that I know will have lots of nuggets that I can glean from. You have a way with words that bless not only me but others as well. Thanks again.

    There is no greater Joy or privilige than to be in the Presence of the Lord.

    May the Lord Bless you and your new Devotional Blog. I will be praying for you.

  17. Jayleigh says:

    Praise be to God.

    Thanks for sharing this, Shirley. I will bookmark your new site.

  18. tommyjoe says:

    Sis. Buxton: Good entry–poetry without the rhyme—and straight from the heart! We had a great time w/you & Bro. Buxton on Sunday. We hoped (and prayed) you’d get to be with us both services. GOD ANSWERED that simple prayer! It was an awesome time of HIS PRESENCE and what a glorious prayer line on Sunday night!

  19. iluv2prshim says:

    In response to you your comment to me: We are TRULY Blessed! I thank the Lord often that I have been blessed to be surrounded by Godly people all of my life. I can’t thank Him enough! And I’m glad you have been and continue to be one of those people!

  20. aprdmomy says:

    My dearest Mother,
    There is no greater joy than being in His presence. There is no filtering of thoughts no editing of words. I
    speak to Him my heart and what wonder, He listens. Sometimes there are no words just tears and He knows exactly what I am feeling what I am trying to express. With Him I don’t have to be strong my weak fragile self is laid bare before Him. Such liberty and strength.

    Your writings bring to life the beauty and joy of serving our Lord. God has blessed you with a great gift. Thank you for sharing with us. This is going to be an exciting adventure!

    Love to you, my precious Mother
    Rebecca

  21. Shirley says:

    Good afternoon, everyone. I’ve been traveling all day, and am now in Lake Havasu, Arizona.

    Thanks for the kind thoughts, and especially for your words of support for this blog. The internet is a marvelous place, but fraught with danger and studded with filth. Let us as people of God continue to take a place here in a bold and concerted defense of the Gospel, while yet maintaining a beautiful, righteous and appealing manner.

    Rebecca, my dearest girl. Thank you.

  22. Jana Allard says:

    Is there a greater joy than having a daughter as sweet as Rebecca?! She is just an angel. I admire her. Her written words reflect her dedication to God and family.

  23. Shirley says:

    Jana, no one has a sweeter daughter than do I, my only daughter, Rebecca. Thanks for seeing that.

Leave a Reply

