To Follow Jesus

Can you possibly imagine how it was in Galilee on that day when Jesus took a morning stroll-around and began to pick his first disciples. Think about it. Here are these burly, probably rough men, fishers, tending their nets and boats, thinking mundane thoughts, considering their obligations and anticipating another routine day of hard work when Jesus, the Master of the Universe walked by. He stopped, fixed His gaze on them, and beckoned.

“As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. ‘Come, follow me,’ Jesus said, ‘and I will make you fishers of men.’ At once they left their nets and followed him.

Going on from there, he saw two other brothers, James son of Zebedee and his brother John. They were in a boat with their father Zebedee, preparing their nets. Jesus called them, and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed him.”

Matthew 4:18-22 NIV

Perhaps in part because Jerry and I are taking on a new ministerial venture, did I want to look into this story for my reading on this spectacular Monday morning. From a child, I have memories of God’s calling me. No, I have never seen Him, never had a vision, nor have I heard Him audibly speak to me. But I am 100 percent sure He has uttered my name, has spoken personal messages to me, has tapped my shoulder, has whispered in my ear, “Follow Me!”

Such a divine touch can never be forgotten, or cast aside, or minimized. Because I know that, I am fascinated with these scriptures, and with thinking of those sinful men, who stood now in the presence of Jesus, who gazed straight into their souls and said, “Leave all this stuff. Forsake it. Hang up your nets, store your boats…Follow me.”

To a hungry, sincere person, there is something riveting and magnetic when Jesus extends an invitation to follow Him. What an incredible, beautiful journey lies in wait for those who accept the challenge of forsaking all, and falling into step with Jesus, the Master of the World. It is an abundant, joyful, exhilarating life.

Glad He selected me, touched me, tagged me. Glad He looked deep into my soul when I was a tiny girl and said, “Come, I want you for my Kingdom. Follow me.”

I know you who now follow Him have your own encouraging words to add here, and I’m eager to read them.

Are there others? Are you perhaps reading here today, and have not answered His call? You may have felt the tug of His Spirit, have heard His unique voice, and have felt His eyes, looking deep into your soul. Why not respond today. You can do that wherever you are–in your home, in your office, in the library. He wants to come into your heart, wants to flood you with His Spirit, and lead you and guide you into all Truth.

There may be someone reading this who needs help in finding your way. Let me know, and I will do what I can to point you in the right direction.

______________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Disciples, Matthew. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to To Follow Jesus

  1. writeathome says:

    I’m so glad I heard Jesus called me when I was 16, and I have never regretted answering the call. There is no better life than living for the Lord! It is definitely not a bed of roses everyday, but He has promised me that I would never be left or forsaken and that He would walk with me through every circumstance of life. There is no friend like Jesus!

  2. Shirley says:

    Yes, Carol. Indeed a life lived out with Jesus is the best life in the world. I’ve heard more than one person say that even if there weren’t a Heaven to anticipate, still they would live for God.

  3. myblessings says:

    I was in my early twenties when I felt Jesus begin to call me. He took me and my husband down a road that lasted 3 years until at last we found “home”. He used this journey to grow us, heal our marriage and heal my body so that I may have children. There were many things that the Lord did on our behalf and each day, each month, each year was a step to prepare us to find Him in truth and to serve Him for the remainer of our lives. When we finally found home, I had just had my son. Oh what joy not only to be given a child, but to become a child of the KING. That was 13 1/2 years ago and while we have had storms, each one has helped us to know Jesus more and to be more determined to serve Him.

    Now we are at a stage in our lives we never thought we would be at. While we have been used in leadership before and still are, we are ever mindful that the Lord has a plan for us and that we need to be sensitive to His will.

    Sister Buxton–You have been an example to me that no matter the age–God may still want you to do a work for HIM. Often times we think, I’m too old to do that or do this, The Lord doesn’t want me. This is definitely not true.

    May the Lord bless you and Brother Buxton as you again commit your lives to His service.

  4. Shirley says:

    Eva, thank you for sharing a bit of your journey to the Lord.

    Too old? Never. Keep listening to the voice of God, work hard in your church, find the lost, and let them know of the wonderful love of Jesus.

  5. timbob says:

    Good Morning. Thanks for commenting. I just learned of you and stopped by. I have also thought much about when Jesus called these fishermen to “follow him” To leave all that is familiar and venture into the unknown; not knowing what lies ahead, but knowing that Jesus will be with us always is an awesome journey to be sure. You don’t know what all awaits but you know that evdrything will be alright. We have a most glorious expected end in this we rejoice exceedingly. Thanks again for stopping by. I’ll place this site on the blogroll.

  6. satisfiedhousewife says:

    Hi Shirley,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment today. You seem like such a sweet lady that I would love to know. I just wrote an article recently about the Generational Gap today, and how I would love to see the older ladies again teaching the younger ladies, as in Titus 2, and seeing all the ages mingle together socially, instead of just the peers of the same ages meeting together. When I read some of your postings, I just get that longing again to glean wisdom from my elders and learn from them. Well, not just any elder, but those that are Godly, as you. Thank you for writing on your blogs – at least it is a way for all ages to read and learn from the wisdom and experiences God has blessed you with. I also read that you are in the UPC church. I used to listen to Pastor Haney in Stockton, CA every morning – he was my favorite! I am not in the UPC, but I love so many Christians I have met in that church. I haven’t listened to Pastor Haney in over 8 years because I moved out of the area and didn’t get the station any more. Also, are you like, the real deal “Shirley Temple”? I saw your links to her website and thought I’d take a stab in the dark and ask?

    God bless you, dear woman of God!!
    Jen

  7. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Timbob. Thanks for the visit, the comment, and the blogrolling.

    We humans are funny, for even after we know the Lord, have experienced His love and wonderful presence, we sometimes have difficulty in actually following where He leads. Strange, huh?

    For the Master of the Universe, the God of All Glory, the One who spoke the worlds into existence is who we are asked to follow. Should be so easy to traipse along after such a One.

    And when we do…we are led into places of absolute awe and glory.

    Happy thoughts and happy days!

  8. Shirley says:

    Jen, my goodness, thank you for your visit and such excellent insight and comments.

    I want to read your article on the generational gap. Where can I find it? I so agree with you that we need to recall the words of Titus where he exhorts older women to teach the younger ones. I am blessed, in that I often have the chance to do that, and I find these sessions most fulfilling and rewarding.

    Yes, Pastor Haney is a remarkable man. He is now the general superintendent of the United Pentecostal Church and lives in St. Louis. His son, Nathaniel, is the pastor of the church in Stockton. I was there a few weeks ago; their new church seats over 6000 people. You can listen to their services on Sunday through streaming video at: http://www.clcm.net/templates/cusclc/default.asp?id=27024

    Now, Jen, you must help me understand something. I am NOT the real deal, Shirley Temple, and I am not aware of having a link to her site on mine. Help me here. 🙂

    Bless you for your kind words and your obvious love of God and of His people.

    Hope you are able to come by often. I want to hear from you.

  9. satisfiedhousewife says:

    Hi Shirley!

    I love your websites, they are so encouraging! I thought I had seen an official webiste for Shirley Temple on your other site for some reason. My mistake! Sorry! hee hee…

    Oh, and you can find my Generational Gap article under the category: Points To Ponder. (I don’t have many articles yet, I’m a newbie!) Does Pastor Haney’s son preach like his father? I’ll have to check him out!

    I’m going to add you to my blogroll! I’ll definately be back!

    blessings,
    Jen

  10. Shirley says:

    Hello, Jen.

    Thanks for all the information. I’ll be going over to your site to read the referenced article.

    Most people I know think Pastor Haney’s son, Nathaniel, actually preaches quite differently from his father. They are both exceptional men, and both are gifted preachers.

    Bless you for being here, for your love of Jesus, and for your kind words.

  11. Pingback: Achieve Leadership

Leave a Reply

