Satan Visits a Sunday Church Service

The pastor introduced us before the service started, and I could see that Judy (not her actual name) was ill at ease and probably not accustomed to being in church. I was surprised to see that she had chosen a front row seat. During the minutes before the opening song, she roved around, getting up, then returning to her seat often. Because I could sense her uneasiness, I was concerned that she might leave before the services began, but she didn’t, and a bit later a man came in, tapped her on the shoulder, then sat down beside her.

The pastor had been the one to contact Judy—in a convenience store parking lot—where he first saw her in a car. God impressed him to speak with her, so he walked over, leaned in and invited her to church. She seemed receptive enough, but didn’t come to church right away. She did begin calling him, though, and finally this Sunday morning, she made it to the mission church.

The pastor preached a powerful sermon, and during the altar service, Judy came forward. I could see her from where I stood and again detected her extreme nervousness. The pastor walked to her, and I moved beside him. He had talked with her awhile, and she had raised her hands, when the pastor laid his hand on her head and began forcefully praying. Immediately, she fell to the floor. My first thought was that she must have heard of Pentecostal services, and may have thought she should fall when hands were laid on her. (Although, at times, people in Pentecostal services, and perhaps other churches, are “slain in the spirit,” from my personal observations, this is not a frequent happening.) I was wrong, though, for immediately on hitting the floor, she opened her eyes, sat up and tried to stand.

Several women helped Judy stand to her feet, and now as I looked straight into her widened, glazed eyes, I could see that this woman was troubled by evil spirits. I confess that it somewhat startled me, and I detected in myself a modicum of fear. Later as I talked to the pastor about my reaction, he quizzed me as to my fear.

“Because I could sense evil spirits about her.”

“You’re right,” he replied. “You were looking into the eyes of Satan. But the spirit of God in you is stronger than any other spirit,” he reminded me.

“I know that,” I agreed. “Yet, this experience today startled me.”

Now, I have received the Holy Ghost, I try to live an overcoming life, and know that I am a child of God. Yet, I also recognize that the devil is real and he is powerful. Perhaps it is good for us to come into direct contact with his evil influences at times, so that we are reminded how important it is that we keep ourselves covered by the blood of Jesus.

Many of you who read this may never have witnessed such an episode; others of course will relate, and will have insight to this scenario. I want to hear your thoughts. Was my fear appropriate, or did it reflect a lack of faith in God?

_______________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Blood, Christianity, Devil possession, Devotionals, Fallen Man, Holy Ghost, Jesus, Pentecostal, Prayer, satan. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Satan Visits a Sunday Church Service

  1. PB and J says:

    i am glad you asked. i grew up in a more traditional church backgorund where slain in the spirit and demonic possession was never an issue.

    however, God brought a troubled girl to live with my wife and i. at first we thought she was just being abused by her parents, but we came to find out that she was spiritually abused as well (ie ritually sacrificed to satan).

    anyway, at first she would pretend to know what we were thinking (and she was often very close, but never right completely). she said she had always been able to read people’s thoughts. this freaked us out! we were scared. then she told us about a demon that would follow her around everywhere and later we found that she had even allowed some into our home.

    anyway, we got advice from an elder couple who had experienced such things before. they reminded us that He who is in us is greater than He that is in the world.

    i realized, i am not supposed to be afraid of demons, THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE AFRAID OF ME. well, not really me, but JC in me. He makes an incredible statement right before He ascends. He says He has been given ALL authority. then He gives this authority to His disciples.

    i realized that i have authority through JC over demons. they HAVE to submit in His name. and thats what happened. i have since seen others struggle with demonic control, but they often pray and request the demons, etc. however, my wife and i didnt have any probs. the girl was seriously, seriously possessed. the demons told us that they were legion.(and not at our prompting either) the same name the demons gave JC. legion means thousand. so she was seriously screwed up.

    anyway, the demons tried to lie to us many times, but each time they lied, i commanded them to tell the truth in JC’s name. and THEY DID. one time i even got tricked by one, who excused his presence in the girl. then i realized it was a lie and commanded the demon to tell the truth and it did.

    the bottomline, is we should not be afraid of demons. we have authority in Jesus’ name over them. yes, its a little freaky at first, but we arent given a spirit of fear, but power. i think the reason we are often so afraid of demons (i used to be terrified) was because they are mysterious and have so much power. but we have so much more. if we tremble at them, then i think we dont truly believe in the greater power that God has.

    hope this has been helpful

    ps my wife and i are very happy not to have to deal with issues like this all the time, because it was still a hard time. and i think it is a wrong focus to spend our time dealing with demons all the time.

    peter

  2. helenl says:

    Shirley, I think it is very understandable that you were afraid. It is not every day that something like this happens. We are reminded over and over again by pastors that – in church – we are in the presence of the Lord (and so we are). But seldom does the pastor say that evil spirits may be present with us this morning (although that is true also). The unexpected can make us afriad, even if we have the power of God on our side and in us. Fear is a human emotion. And it is we imperfect human beings who are saved by the shed blood of Jesus.

    Remember the pastor who invited this woman had prior knowledge that you did not have. You were trying figure out what was going on as it was happening. This does not indicate a lack of faith. (You didn’t comdemn yourself for your emotions in your book about Jerry’s accident, and you should not question them now.) The pastor who “quizzed” you was out of line. He had no right to judge you. But he, too, is imperfect and a prime candidate for your forgiveness.

  3. PB and J says:

    helenl

    amen to that. i agree that a pastor shouldnt be condemning you because you were afraid. however, as i wrote earlier, i believe he should have encouraged you and strengthened you by showing you that as a child of God you need to fear.

    our emotions don’t mean that we are sinning by having them. we are only sinning if we choose not to do the good that we know that we ought. this is what faith is. when we disobey because fear. so the emotion isnt wrong.

    may you be encouraged and strengthened by our Lord Jesus Christ.

    peter

  4. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Peter. Welcome to this site.

    Thank you for your thoughtful and extensive comments. I believe I am in *agreement with what you are saying, and certainly your observation that we shouldn’t focus on Satan and his devices is well taken.

    *Edit: Peter, I was posting at the same time you made your second post, in which you agreed with Helen, that the pastor was out of line. When I wrote here of being in agreement with what you had written, I had not seen that post. Please see my response to Helen.

    I’m not sure, but perhaps in my original post I overstated the amount of fear I experienced. It was not such an overwhelming emotion that I felt I couldn’t deal with it; indeed I stayed in the altar area and prayed with Judy for quite a length of time. However, the look in her eyes was otherworldly, and I truly felt I was in the presence of the devil.

    Let me make it clear that I don’t believe Judy was the devil; indeed, I hesitated before posting about this, and have not identified her, (although some persons will be able to) because I certainly don’t want to castigate her personally. I have nothing but good desires for her, and expect a report that she has been delivered of these spirits.

    But, when I looked into her eyes, I felt I was looking into evil…and it was quite uncomfortable.

    Again, thank you for coming to my site. Hope you visit daily.

    Peace.

  5. tikkiro says:

    Would be a bit curious how you recognised these spirits for what they were? I’ve certainly looked into the eyes of mediums on TV feeling the same, but I know that’s more because I’m aware of their evil practices, so expect it – not sure I’d feel that if I met them in person without that prior knowledge perhaps.

    I think the danger is more certainly in not giving demons and Satan enough respect – we tend to live in societies that either make him into a fun creature, or someone to be dismissed without a thought, or else build him up into some all powerful equal and rival to Jesus. If even Arcangels don’t argue with Satan then we shouldn’t either – its a very dangerous area to work in unless you’re absolutely sure the Lord has called you to do so, and you’re fully covered spiritually in protection. Just being a Christian I don’t believe is enough, as while we may not be possessed by demons they can certainly manage to gain a better foothold over our lives if we errantly allow them access unwittingly.

    I firmly believe that such practices as “slain in the spirit” are totally unscriptural and thus are opening people more up to demons than any other form of spirit regardless of their desires or intent, and having come out of a charismatic church which worked heavily in this realm of deliverance etc, I know all too well how fast it can actually destroy your faith rather than build it up – particularly once you start to question such practices. I was fine until that point, and then it seriously was as if all hell had been let loose on me, ironically through the very people I had always trusted and believed were more spiritual than me, but what they put me through was nothing less than spiritual abuse, yet all under the guise of ‘solid biblical teaching’ supposedly!

    But fear is something that hits you without thought – an inate response to something coming against you, whether spiritually or physically,and thus never something to be guilty over – however, while we may feel that emotion at the outset of a testing situation, I do believe that the Lord can then overcome that if we firmly submit to Him and allow Him to act if the circumstances provide opportunity.

  6. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Helen.

    I think I did not make myself clear in my original post, perhaps on a couple of levels, the first of which I addressed in my response to Peter.

    I did not at all feel condemned by the remarks of the pastor, nor did I sense condemnation to be his aim. Quite the contrary, he was encouraging me. I was the one who mentioned my fear to him, and I feel he would have been remiss had he not reminded me that the Spirt of God is greater than the spirit of the devil. I probably should have used the word “asked” instead of “quizzed” in my post, for I did not feel grilled or intimidated by him in any way. The pastor was not at all out of line, and I’m sorry my words may have given that impression.

    Quite a subject, I know.

  7. helenl says:

    Thanks for the explanation, Shirley. I didn’t mean to place blame where none existed. Of course, the pastor was right in mentioning that the Spirit of God is stronger than satan, especially in this context.

  8. Shirley says:

    You’re welcome, Helen. I certainly did need to correct the false image I may have inadvertently given. 🙂

  9. Shirley says:

    Welcome, Tikkiro to God Things.

    I sense your sincerity and openness to the things of God, and want to answer as many questions for you as I can. You have raised pertinent and valid issues and have made timely and accurate remarks.

    In my opinion, your sense that many people fail to recognize the power of the devil and that he is often trivialized is spiritually accurate. We must find the right balance between not being fearful of him, recognizing that through the Holy Ghost we have power over satan, yet at the same time, remembering that he does has much influence and power on this earth.

    How did I recognize him? I’m not sure I can answer that in a definitive black and white way, except to say that I surely did know it to be a fact. “She has spirits,” I instantly said to the pastor when I observed her looks and actions.

    “Yes, of course, she does,” was his immediate response.

    I probably recognized the situation through the Holy Ghost that lives in me, and that is a spiritual discerner. I’m not at all sure that someone who doesn’t live for God would have recognized the issue.

    Experience in these things helps one to recognize the nature of spirits. I have attended Apostolic churches all my life and have observed satanic spirits in people, although I don’t find such demonstrations a common occurence in churches. They are quite infrequent.

    There also was a certain look in Judy’s eyes that I recognized to be satanic. Again, probably because of experience over the years.

    I must disagree with your thinking that the practice of being “slain in the spirit” is unscriptural and that it opens one to evil spirits.

    Recall that on the day of Pentecost, there was such physical demonstration among those who had received the Holy Ghost, that onlookers thought them to be drunk.

    Paul, the writer of most of the New Testament, even before he was converted, was “slain in the spirit.” Acts 9:4 “And he fell to the earth…”

    Numerous prophets and Biblical writers had visions, fell into trances, etc.

    There are groups who have placed extreme emphasis on such spiritual demonstrations that they have been led astray. We are not to be “sign-seekers,” but rather we should seek after God.

    Thank you again for being here.

  10. cumby says:

    It sounds like you’re in good hands in your church. The fear is not unreasonable at all. It may have also been revulsion at the presence of evil. A child of God should feel uncomfortable in that situation.

    Hebrews 5:14 “But solid food is for the mature, who because of practice have their senses trained to discern good and evil.”

  11. Shirley says:

    Welcome, Cumby, to God Things. Hope you often join in the conversaton.

    Thank you for the reminder of that scripture in Hebrews, for certainly, it is appropriate here. I also relate to your saying the feeling I had might have included revulsion to the presence of evil. I believe that to be true.

    Peace today and always.

  12. timbob says:

    Greetings. After all of the comments, I can’t add much. Such an episode would cause a measure of fear in most; especially if it was unexpected. We know that greater is he that is in us than he that is in the world. We also know that there are some that won’t come out but by prayer and fasting. These spiritual battles are very real and while I’ve never seen such as this in person, I’ve heard testimonies. Thanks for posting this and thanks for being in contact.

  13. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Timbob.

    Yes, though usually not so obvious as this type, spiritual battles are real. It certainly calls for us to stay fully dressed in the whole armor of God

  14. inhisgrace says:

    hi Shirley. i was led here through Cumby’s blog and this has been an interesting read. especially cos my sister and i just had this meeting with a lady yesterday whom we distinctly feel evil from and left me feeling fearful (though my sister isn’t a Christian). but that being said, i believe you have the spiritual gift of discernment which is why another may not feel what you felt.

    1 Corinthians 12

    4There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit. 5There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. 6There are different kinds of working, but the same God works all of them in all men.

    7Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good. 8To one there is given through the Spirit the message of wisdom, to another the message of knowledge by means of the same Spirit, 9to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by that one Spirit, 10to another miraculous powers, to another prophecy, to another distinguishing between spirits, to another speaking in different kinds of tongues,[a] and to still another the interpretation of tongues.[b] 11All these are the work of one and the same Spirit, and he gives them to each one, just as he determines.

    having had an interest in the occult before and rejecting it after coming to Christ, i am reading a book recently that is written by a Catholic Reverend that deals specifically with Cults and the New Age. i cannot help but feel fearful when coming to the section on satanism and perhaps the fear is from having been so near and having switched camp now and knowing that the prince of darkness fumes. but what sustain me always is knowing that our Lord has the ultimate victory and He has already reigned throughout heaven and earth and there shall lie our peace 🙂

    blessed weekend to you Shirley! i’ll add you to my blogroll.

  15. Shirley says:

    Hello, inhisgrace, and welcome to God Things.

    Your comment is encouraging, in that another one has been snatched from the claws of the enemy. Victory is in the camp!

    Thanks for adding me to your blogroll. Hope you come by often.

  16. hiutopor says:

    Hi all!

    Very interesting information! Thanks!

    Bye

  17. cbgrace says:

    It is natural for you heart to beat a little faster when you come in contact with the spiritual realm. I have done some work in the area of deliverance and the main thing to remember is Jesus Christ has given you all power to tread upon the enemy. (Luke 10)

    The power is in the name of Jesus…you have His name. His name wields power of the enemy.

    The other night I had a “bad dream”. It happens sometimes. My husband said I woke him up (I have no memory of this) saying “Move! In the name of Jesus” or “Get out of here! In the name of Jesus”. Whatever it was, I didn’t even have to wake up to “handle it”. My spirit knows that Jesus can handle it. I am sealed in His blood, His child…not weapon formed against me will prosper! The enemy has no authority over me.

    Still, when it is time to minister or pray with someone who has a demon…my heart beats fast and I pray! Because I know that without Jesus, I have no power but with Jesus…well, GREATER is HE who is in me than he who is the world.

  18. chris says:

    There is a guy on the internet named Russ Dizdar who really helped me learn so much about how to deal with the demonic realm with no fear, but peace in Jesus Christ..

Leave a Reply

