I Miss My Time With You

If you read this post on my other blog a couple of days ago, you will know I have grandkids here with me while their mom has delivered a new baby sister. It’s been busy in our household, a couple of the youngsters have been sick, and this morning, I rather slept in. Jerry was up first, and although it was neat to arise and sniff the aroma of freshly brewed coffee, I missed my time alone. I’m nearly always up first, come here to the study where I read, write and meditate.

When I missed that special time this morning, I was reminded how important it is to spend time alone with God and with His word. It really doesn’t matter what time of the day you choose, but for me, morning is best. Recall, that even Jesus when He was here on earth, found it necessary to be alone…and to pray.

“And when he had sent the multitudes away, he went up into a mountain apart to pray: and when the evening was come, he was there alone.” Matthew 14:23

A beautiful song by Larnelle Harris also came to mind this morning.

“there he was just waiting,
in our old familiar place
an empty spot beside him,
where once i used to wait
to be filled with strength and wisdom
for the battles of the day
i would have passed him by again
if i didn’t hear him say

(chorus)

i miss my time with you
those moments together
i need to be with you each day
and it hurt’s me when you say
you’re too busy
busy trying to serve me
but how can you serve me
when your spirit’s empty
there’s a longing in my heart
wanting more than just a part of you
it’s true
i miss my time with you

what do i have to offer
how can i truly care
my efforts have no meaning
when your presence isn,t there
but you will provide the power
if i take time to pray
i’ll stay right here beside him
and you will never have to say..

You can hear Larnelle Harris here.

What about you? Do you have a special time alone with God? Is it in the morning, or evening, or does the time matter at all to you? Why? Why not? Many people think mornings are better. Is there any substance to that?

____________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Children, Christianity, Devotionals, Family, Jesus, Matthew, Mornings with God, Prayer, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I Miss My Time With You

  1. writeathome says:

    I like mornings for my devotional time too, because it seems my mind is fresher then, and I try to get up before everyone else so there are no distractions. I remember when I was in college(ABI), I used to go up to the prayer room to pray at night, and I fell asleep in there quite often. Sometimes I would wake up 2 or 3 hours later, and my legs would be completely asleep. I would have to shake them and beat on them with my fists to get them to wake up, so that I could walk down the stairs and go to bed! My friends were threatening to put an alarm clock in the prayer room. 🙂 Mornings are definitely better for me.

    I love that song by Larnelle Harris, and I sang it as a solo once in church.

    Love,
    Carol

  2. Shirley says:

    Carol, I wonder how many hours we have “wasted” in prayer rooms. Or is that time wasted? Does it count that we are trying?

    The lesson here is that we should pray at times when we can be effective, and that’s why you now choose the mornings. Oh, well, recall that the disciples also slept when they should have been praying. And think about it! They were mere feet from Jesus Christ Himself. Can you imagine praying with Jesus personally?…and falling asleep. Human beings, we all are.

  3. tommyjoe says:

    This is mom Contino here (Carol’s mom). I like mornings. I feel more refreshed in the morning, but sometimes if I have been watching my granddaughter in the mornings, then the evenings are better for me.

  4. Shirley says:

    Welcome Mom Contino to God Things, and thanks for your comment (obviously with the help of your fine son, Tommyjoe).

    I believe that for many people the mornings seem to be a better time to get alone with God.

    Blessings to you.

  5. Jana Allard says:

    I love this song. We performed this song several years ago in a musical. Devotion time? I always enjoy the quiet moments in the morning after the children have left for school and after they have gone to bed in the evening. One thing that is always in the back of my mind, is the scripture that instructs us to pray always. We have quiet times of devotion, but we actually commune with God all day.

  6. Shirley says:

    Hello, Jana.

    It is true that not only should we have a devotional time, but all day long, we must stay in touch with God, please Him, honor and worship Him.

    A great day for you!

  7. myblessings says:

    As everyone else I prefer the mornings for my private time with God. However, I usually have to wait till my children are in bed for the evening. It does not matter how early I get up, if my kids hear me, they get up. Maybe when I get my bedroom settled after our move, I will be able to switch back to morning devotional time.

    God Bless!

  8. Tena says:

    I like mornings because it’s a wonderful way to start the day, but it doesn’t always work out that way. So, I choose a time as soon as possible when I won’t have distractions. To me, it’s more effective to pray when I feel I can be “alone” with God. I like to pray at night, too. When everyone is in bed and asleep, I feel like I’m alone with God. It’s a precious feeling to me – hard to explain. Sometimes I’m too sleepy, though. BUT…I am sure to spend SOME time with my Jesus EVERY day. If we really love Him, we’ll WANT to spend time with Him, right?
    I really liked this post, Sis. Buxton. Thank you. 🙂

  9. iluv2prshim says:

    When my children were in school I made the morning my prayer time. After they had left for school and I cleaned the breakfast dishes, that was a great time for me to spend time with the Lord. However, now I find that the afternoon or early evening is better for me somehow. I tried that super early stuff once upon a time and I just fell asleep like the disciples so I figured that wasn’t doing anyone any good at all. lol Time with the Lord is so precious! I want to be with Him always. If I say His Name, “Jesus”, I want to feel Him and most of the time I do. However, sometimes we walk by faith and not feelings. He is still real and He still answers prayer!

  10. Shirley says:

    Hello!

    especially to Tena, Ronda and Eva (who I notice are all posting after 10:00 pm!)

    All of you may recall a few years ago, when it was quite popular to have early morning prayer meetings; indeed, that may still be the case in some places. For a time, though, I think it placed some people under condemnation who could not pray at those times—or who just preferred another segment of the day.

    The ultimate issue is surely not WHEN we pray, but that we DO pray.

  11. satisfiedhousewife says:

    What a great post. As a new mom of a baby (after being without a baby for almost 9 years now!) I don’t get as much time as I used to….and boy, do I miss it! I spend some time in the Word every day and in meditation and prayer, but it’s not a concentrated long time like I’ve been used to for years. This boy is sure a demanding one! This also brings back precious memories of prayer meetings I used to go to in my old church in CA. I remember just hearing people pleading, agonizing in prayer, worshipping, singing, whatever…it was so beautiful to hear! If I was having a hard time thinking of what to pray, just hearing someone else would encourage me. Some people think hearing others praying is a distraction. Well if it is, it’s a good one I think! I liked those prayer meetings better than the silent ones, where you can hear a pin drop. I could just about drift off to sleep in those!

    Anyway, I used to like night time, when everyone was asleep. I used to stay up for hours reading, studying, and praying. Now things are different. Mornings are the best, but I need to think up something different now having a baby (that hardly ever sleeps during the day and still wakes up every 2 hours or less every night!) Any ideas? 🙂

    Blessings,
    Jen

Leave a Reply

