Beautiful Boldness

“And when they had prayed the place was shaken where they were assembled together; and they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and they spake the word of God with boldness.” Acts 4:31

Although within these few words are encapsulated several salient lessons, I’m going to grab onto just one of them this morning…”they spake the word of God with boldness.” What a marvelous quality is boldness, and how well we represent God when we do not hesitate to tell others about Him and about His love and eternal plans for us.

Saturday, as we traveled through the town of El Centro, on all four corners of one of the intersections was a large group of people—people of all ages, from adults to children. Some of them held well-lettered poster boards with various messages on them. Jesus Loves you and He Died for You are a couple I recall. They flew shiny red heart shaped balloons, and as we drove through the intersection, they waved and cheered and smiled. Somewhere in the mix was a sign proclaiming the name of their church. It was beautiful, and I admired them and their boldness to stand on a street corner and tell of their love for God.

On one of the corners had been set up microphones and loudspeakers, and various persons were giving testimonies, perhaps preaching—I’m not sure—and as a nod to the high Spanish population of the area one person was interpreting the speaker’s words into Spanish.A lively, dynamic atmosphere has been created there on the streets of this small town in southern California. Now, I’m aware that preaching on street corners may perhaps not be appropriate in some areas, but in other places, I think it may prove to be an effective way to spread the Gospel.

It takes boldness to be involved in such an activity, and many people just would not be able to do such a thing. I wonder why that is. Why is it hard to boldly speak for Christ? Why do we find it difficult to hand a church card to our mechanic or to the postman, or to speak with a mother with youngsters who stands behind us in line at the grocery store? Why do we hesitate to knock on our neighbor’s door and offer to share the word of God with them, or to invite them to a Sunday service? How is it that we hesitate to walk through the neighborhood park and hand out gospel tracts or 99 cent Bibles or Sunday school papers?

There is no hesitation among those who proclaim Satan’s gospel. His workers are quick to spew their propaganda and to fervently gather in disciples. Without batting an eye, they speak of evil, of filth and of vile intent.

Let us take on boldness in our lives as we tell others of our love for Jesus. As we move through our daily lives, let us invite those we meet into the greatest entity on this planet; the church of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Come on, be honest with me now. Could you be involved in such a service or would you be ashamed? Why? Why not? Would it help your church, or do you think it might be a hindrance because of your church denomination, or maybe even, because of the neighborhood? Why? Would the makeup of the street service team make a difference in your willingness to be involved? What if it were a group of young people doing street drama, or singing in an excellent way, maybe even with live music? Would your city even let you do such a thing?

_________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. 

 

 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Acts, Christian Boldness, Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, Disciples, Jesus, Pentecostal, satan, Street Service. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Beautiful Boldness

  1. Jana Allard says:

    Not only would I be involved in such a service, I have been involved in street ministry. The makeup of the team would be of importance to me. I personally feel these venues are to be presented in a high energy, positive manner and take care not to be perceived as a boycott team. We do have to follow the laws of the land, and that can make street ministry difficult in some areas. It is best to obtain the proper permits through your city.

  2. timbob says:

    Greetings. I remember doing this with saints from across the country in 1986 during Mardi gras in New Orleans. We occupied an entire corner in the French quarter and it was an awesome time. While living in Virginia, the church that I fellowshipped with went street preaching weekly and it likewise was an awesome time. Today, I don’t know of anyone around here who is engaged in such. We really should be turning the world upside down with the gospel of Jesus Christ. It’s really good to know that it’s still being done. It’s a sad thing that my memories of engaging in this are almost 20 years old.

  3. Monte says:

    I participated – preaching, sometimes – in many such “street meetings” on the campus of The University of Iowa when I was a fairly new Christian in about 1978.

    I don’t think I’d do so today, because it seems to me that this is not the way people go about finding information they trust in that particular culture. It takes relationships, now, for truth to be regarded as true. I’ll bet there are places – culturally different – where it would be perfectly appropriate, tho.

    Actually, we may be doing something similar by getting to know people on the web – and something much more likely to find people who are seeking.

  4. cumby says:

    My pastor sends me to the prison to preach. If he sent me to the type of place you wrote about in your post, I would go. The boldness comes from being in God’s will and under the authority of whoever he’s placed over us in ministry.

    Thank you for this timely and important exhortation.

  5. iluv2prshim says:

    That would have been great to see. Did you take any pictures?

  6. Tena says:

    Awesome post!
    You ask, “Why do we find it difficult to hand a church card to our mechanic or to the postman, or to speak with a mother with youngsters who stands behind us in line at the grocery store?”, etc. My thought is, it’s two things. One is, my flesh holding me back (which is ridiculous) and the second is, the enemy doesn’t want us to try and save another soul from hell.

    For a long time now, I’ve been praying for God to let me see people through His eyes. I ask God to let me see people as a soul who deserves a chance at heaven. I could be the one who is suppossed to tell them! Boldness has been stronger in me in the last few months than ever before! God does answer prayers!

    We must show THE LOVE OF JESUS to everyone we come in contact with! If we show them love, then they will be drawn and want more. Our church started a Neighborhood Outreach project a few months ago by just giving. No talk about God or church at first. Gave pastries, candy, toys, pumpkins, turkeys, etc. Then we began inviting the children to Sunday School. They came and are coming every Sunday! The parents know us and trust us because we showed LOVE!

    Handing out a church card can be done with love. Instead of saying, “Please come to my church.” We can say things like, “God has something special just for you. He loves you and cares about you. Will you come to church with me and let God touch your life? I will pick you up and we can go together.” Begin with the love of Jesus.

    About street meetings: YES! We should give them a try! My son, with some other young men, went to Soul Winner’s Boot Camp (www.swbootcamp.com) in Florida with Matt Maddix, last year. They had street meetings where they were baptizing people in the town water fountain and people were receiving the Holy Ghost all over! We ARE going to do this in Hollister, probably this summer.

    There are many ways to win the lost. We must pray for God to help us, “Speak the word of God with boldness.”! Oh, God, give us a burden for the lost! Time is so short! We must work while it is day, for the night cometh when no man can work!

    Let’s put aside our own fears and pride and lead people to Jesus. We have nothing to lose and everything to gain!

  7. Shirley says:

    Hello, Jana.

    You raise an important point concerning the laws of the city. I agree with you that it is important to get permission to hold such a service.

    I can see you with your beautiful voice as being a dynamic part of a street service team.

    Thanks for your comment.

    sjb

  8. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Timbob.

    You touched me deeply with your comment about it being sad to you that such services are within your 20 year memory cache. I can’t help but continue to wonder about this. I know the world is quite different; obviously we live in a computer age, but there must still be needy people who walk the streets and who would be touched by such ministry.

    Do you have any way to gauge how effective your previous street ministry was? I know sometimes we merely sow the seeds, and may be nowhere around when the harvest is ready to be plucked—yet the fruit is truly gathered.

    Thank you for your honest remarks.

    shirley

  9. Shirley says:

    Welcome to God Things, Monte.

    Ohh, you bring up very interesting points, especially concerning the building of relationships over the web. Can you imagine that just 10 years ago or 20 at the max, we would not have considered such as venue for evangelism.

    Tomorrow will be my first year anniversary of blogging, and I had no idea of reaching as many people as I have, and I certainly never imagined it to be a place where I could be an effective witness. I have totally changed my mind, and now view this as an opportunity to be a force for God, although I know my part is small. Still it is my part, and something I can do to help spread this marvelous salvation message.

    Awesome, huh!

    Thank you for your time in reading and commenting. Hope you’re here frequently. (Every day wouldn’t be bad. :))

  10. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Cumby and greetings from Arizona.

    You’ve pointed to a crucial truth: everything rises and falls with leadership. When we put full confidence in the one we’re following it gives us courage and boldness, for we have confidence that we will tastefully and excellently do the job we attempt.

    Again, thank you for your comments.

    sjbuxton

  11. Shirley says:

    Hello, Ronda.

    I’m sorry I don’t have pictures. We actually stopped in El Centro and bought a memory card for my camera, but I didn’t have the camera working when we passed by that site. It was beautiful.

    Love,

    sjbuxton

  12. Shirley says:

    Oh, Tena. You’re awesome. I’m hoping and praying to find a church full of people just like you here in Lake Havasu. I hope the Hurst’s know how blessed they are to have you and your family—and I’m quite sure they do.

    Thanks for being here and for your great comment.

    sjb

  13. writeathome says:

    I love what Tena wrote and this is something God is working with me on in my life. Thank you for this post!

    Carol

  14. iluv2prshim says:

    Hi Sis. Buxton,
    Me again. Just wanted to say a great big YES to knowing we are blessed with Sis. Tena and her family. Great people indeed. We have a church full of them. So if God can do it in Hollister, He can do it in Lake Havasu. I pray that mighty revival is headed your way.
    God bless you and Bro. Buxton,
    Ronda

  15. Shirley says:

    Good morning.

    Carol, while I am advocating boldness in speaking out for Jesus, I don’t want you to “beat yourself over the head.” We all have different personalities, and some of these things are much easier than for others. When we truly submit ourselves to God, He uses us and our personal makeups in dynamic ways.

    Always, our quiet, consistent and sweet lives are a powerful testimony in our homes and in our neighborhoods. Having said that, though, I believe God can help those who are of a timid and retiring nature. When He sees our desire to be a witness for Him, He absolutely will help us. I’ve seen it more than once.

    You go! in your own way. 🙂

  16. Shirley says:

    Hello again, Ronda.

    Thank you for your continued prayers for us here in Lake Havasu. Things are going very well. We had one new adult in Bible study last night, and on his visitor card he indicated he wanted a home Bible study. Yes!

    Confession. When I read Tena’s powerful post, a slight spirit of proselyting came over me, but I absolutely resisted it. 🙂

  17. Tena says:

    Awww. Thank you, Sis. Buxton and Sis. Hurst for your sweet words about me. GOD deserves ALL the glory, because without Him, I am nothing good.

    You and Bro. Buxton, and your new church is on my prayer list every day. I have no doubt that God will give you the desires of your hearts, to grow a thriving, Revival church in Lake Havasu!

    I agree, Sis. Hurst! Our church is full of ’em! Great people who desire Revival in Hollister.

    Yes, Carol, I agree with Sis. Buxton. God uses people in different ways. I am NOT as bold as I should be, yet. I am shy by nature. God has helped me soooo much in that area. It takes “trusting in the Lord” to step “out of the box”. God WILL answer your prayers about this – He sees the desires in your heart and WILL help you! I love you!

    See you all next week in Sacramento!
    God bless you!

  18. Shirley says:

    Hello, Tena.

    Next week in Sacramento it is. I’ll be flying out of Las Vegas which is a 2 hour drive from Lake Havasu. That will be different from popping right down to Ontario for my flights, but I am sure it will work out fine.

    Boldness, one and all; let’s keep asking for it and working on the concept. God will help us.

    shirley

Leave a Reply

