Revealing The Ultimate Heart Transplant

“Then will I sprinkle clean water upon you, and ye shall be clean: from all your filthiness, and from all your idols, will I cleanse you.

A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.

And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statues, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them.” Ezekiel 36:25-27

Sometime back I read a fascinating account of a person who received a heart transplant, and who during his recovery found that his tastes for food had changed. It so happened he was in contact with the donor’s family, and after talking with them, found that he had acquired certain proclivities for food that had been dominant in the donor.

Until it has happened to you, it is impossible to know how it is to be changed by God, to be transformed, to have your sinful nature replaced by one of righteousness and holiness. When the Holy Ghost comes into a person and dwells there, a distinct and dynamic change in direction occurs. You have charted a new course, your vision is lifted, your spirited eyes gaze upward, you’re connected to a new world. Your interest in worldly parties wanes, gambling tables lose their fascination, to drink yourself into oblivion appears foolish and inane. You have become a new person; the spirit of God—that holy and righteous nature—has now infiltrated you. Think it not strange that godly desires and passions claw at you, that His Word and His people become precious and dear.

Relationships with people will deepen, you recognize anew your family to be priceless, and you cherish them and tend them, and think of the destination of their souls. With all wisdom and tenderness you point your loved ones to heaven.

How blessed are you—how blessed am I—we who have experienced the metamorphosis that comes from a spiritual heart transplantation. God’s spirit has entered us, His statues have become our daily directives, His holiness and righteousness have become our compass, His judgments our own.

_____________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. 

 

 

 

 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Ezekiel, Family, God, Holy Ghost, Love of God. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Revealing The Ultimate Heart Transplant

  1. Steve says:

    Thank you I have enjoyed these thoughts.

    Blessing and Peace.

    Steve.

    http://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  2. writeathome says:

    Amen! It’s a truly wonderful thing to have Dr. Jesus perform spiritual heart surgery on you. It really does change your life for the better.

  3. helenl says:

    Lovely description of actual happenings. Thank you, Shirley.

  4. cumby says:

    Thanks for the scripture and the post. For me it has been a gradual transformation, where the doctor has been doing surgery a little at a time for 24 years. Either way, it’s a good and blessed thing.

  5. Shirley says:

    Good evening, everyone, and again thank you for your visits and for your careful comments.

    The more I think about it, the more moved I am at the transformation that comes to the person who finds God, who opens the door to his heart and who says, “Change me, Lord, change me Lord. Don’t let me stay the same. For I want to be more like you…..”

    Shirley

  6. Michael says:

    About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff were very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th Sep 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17].
    Peace Be With You
    Michael

  7. Shirley says:

    Michael, thank you for this wonderful testimony. I trust you continue to do well.

Leave a Reply

