Compel Them to Come In

Years ago, I heard the story of a Sunday morning service in a very large Pentecostal church in Indianapolis, Indiana. Someone heard a ruckus in the foyer and when the usher checked, he found the pastor’s wife, Jean Urshan, tugging gently on a man as she tried to drag him into the auditorium.

“What’s going on, here?” the usher asked. Seems Sister Urshan had taken literally the scripture Luke 14:23 “…compel them to come in” and the recipient of her enthusiasm had some reservations about such Sunday morning activities.

Around 9:30 this morning, Michael, Jerry and I met in the parking lot of the building where we are beginning a new church, drove one block and parked our cars. We stood together on the sidewalk and asked God to help us spread the Gospel in a tasteful, effective way, then with attractive church cards in hand, we were off to invite these people to our fledgling church. Michael took one side of the street; Jerry and I the other. It was a rewarding morning, and we found more than one person who promised to attend our services.

Later in the day, I thought of Sister Urshan, and her interpretation of the scripture. While I was finding the exact location of the verse on my computer, I came across a sermon by Spurgeon on this very subject. You may want to read how this dynamic preacher of the gospel dealt with this portion of scripture. Rev. Spurgeon’s sermon is here.

What a story we have to share, what life-changing concepts we have to offer, what good news we have to tell those with whom we walk. While I probably won’t use the same method our precious Jean Urshan did, I do understand her passion, and her desperate desire to introduce people to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ.

______________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Boldness, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, Luke, Pentecostal, Prayer, Preaching/Preachers. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Compel Them to Come In

  1. Joel Buxton says:

    To MY Dear Granny!
    I wish words would permit me to convay how proud and excited I am about what my Granny and Pappy are doing for God! Allways know that I and my family are behind you and Pappy and pray oft for the both of you. We are so excited what God has been doing in our lives and ministry in the last month! We are so thankful for little Seth, He is such an awesome baby. In the last month We have been in Revival in three differant churches, Bro walkers in KIngman, Bro Danny Powers in Peris and Bro Bertrums in lakeside!!!
    God has been so gracious to allow us to see 21 brand new people recieve the GREATEST GIFT in the whole world….The HOLY GHOST!!! To God be all the Glory.
    Also we have seen at least that many backsliders and whole families praying back through!!! Thank you Jesus..
    Thank you Granny and Pappy for everything you have been , everything you are, and everything that you are becoming!!! What a priceless Heritage that I have been handed!! ITS TIME FOR REVIVAL IN THE ENTIRE BUXTON FAMILY!!! In Jesus Name…Love YOU……Joel, aisha,thane,ethan & seth

  2. writeathome says:

    Sister Buxton,

    I’m praying that God will bless you efforts to spread the gospel in Lake Havasu and that you will be blessed with a great harvest of souls!

    Love,
    Carol

  3. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Joel, and what a wonderful treat to hear from you this morning.

    Please know that the admiration extends both ways, and that you probably may never know how happy it makes Pappy and me to have so many of our family involved in ministry. Truly we are blessed beyond our due.

    Can’t wait to hear you preach again, and to hold baby Seth.

    Hugs and kisses to all of you.

    Granny sjb

  4. Shirley says:

    Carol, thank you for your thoughts and good wishes. We feel things are going well here, although, we haven’t had the amount of visitors we would like. Why, I wanted a full-fledged large church in one month! 🙂

    Blessings on you and your ministries

    Shirley

  5. Shirley says:

    Hello Bob.

    Yes, Jesus is the reason…not only for the Christmas season, but for everything, our life, our breath, our very being.

    God’s blessing to you.

    Shirley

  6. Todd Wolff says:

    I was surfing the Internet for some new drums and thought I might try and find Bro. Buxton it wasn’t long when I came across a new church started by Andrew Buxton. I started to go through the website that Bro. Andrew has up and I saw your picture with Bro. Buxton I was so excited I ask my wife too come into my office (Maryelizabeth Wolff) and I showed her the man that baptized me. I started to tell her honey remember I told you about sister Buxton and how I would sit and play the organ with her at alter calls that picture is her honey as I pointed the mouse towards your photo. Then I came across this site. I want to reach out to you and let you know I have always served God even when it was hard I did and I always will. I understand a few years ago Bro. Buxton was hit by a car my heart grieved we prayed. At the time had no way to get in contact with you. Over the years I have meant to contact you because of how much I missed you. You have had a huge impact on my life. I don’t know if you remember that little freckle face boy that sat with you while you played that sweet organ. You where so sweet and so on fire for God my only hope was that one day I would meet and marry someone as sweet and precious as you. The end of that story is I have. We live in Rochester NY and work with the youth of New life Assembly. I never will forget you saying that a preacher can play the drums and be preacher. I have worked with young people for a log time and love the work we are doing. I never became a preacher even though I have felt the call. In Gods time there will be a place for that someday. Let Bro. Buxton know I will never forget him and all the loose change I collected. I will be praying for the work you are doing and that God always guides your steps I love you and miss you very much.

    Love Todd Wolff

  7. Shirley says:

    Todd, my dear. You have made me extremely happy today. I’ve commented at length on my other blog where you also posted this comment. Read every word of it, please.

    Love to you and all your family.

    shirley buxton

Leave a Reply

