A Birthday Tribute to my Honey

Today is Jerry’s 75th birthday.

Leviticus 19:32 “Thou shalt rise up before the hoary head, and honour the face of the old man, and fear thy God: I am the LORD.”

Proverbs 20:29 “The glory of young men is their strength: and the beauty of old men is the grey head.”

Proverbs 16:31 “The hoary head is a crown of glory, if it be found in the way of righteousness.”

In the fineness and beauty of youth did I find, admire, and marry you. Relentlessly, the years have moved on, as does deep, cold water, snatching away your strength, your stamina and your endurance. Replaced with those transient and fading gifts have come wisdom, gentleness and enduring righteousness. Moving smoothly and inexorably into the place of the dark-haired firey evangelist, eager for life, has come a tender, compassionate, grey-haired gentleman. A man of righteousness, godliness, and faithfulness.

For truly, you have never changed. Within the ever-so-slightly fading body yet beats a heart for mankind, a burden for the lost, a love for your family, and a continuing passion for God and for His ways.

I salute you, respect you, love you and wish you a very happy birthday.

Shirley

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Family, Holidays, Leviticus, Proverbs. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Birthday Tribute to my Honey

  1. Cheri Bagato says:

    Good afternoon Bro and Sis Buxton, I just wanted to wish you a very Happy Birthday Bro. Buxton, you may not know me by name but I spent many days with your Bro. Buxton in Ontario, I used to work with Linda K, and moved to Arizona when she did, Would love you see you all, come to Glendale, to Pastor Garretts church sometime, God Bless, Cheri Bagato

  2. Shirley says:

    Good afternoon, Cheri.

    I will extend the birthday greetings to Jerry. Oh, we’d love to visit with you at Brother Garrett’s church sometime.

    Blessings,

    Shirley

  3. Michael says:

    I sit at a distance and admire this same man whom you have loved for so long,I hope as my hair grows grayer or in my case continues to fallout that I can follow in his footsteps. HAPPY BIRTHDAY POP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Amber says:

    Aunt Shirley,

    Please give our love to Uncle Jerry on this his Happy Birthday!!!

    Much love,
    Randall, Amber and Bailee

  5. writeathome says:

    Happy Birthday, Bro. Buxton! May you be blessed on your special day with the things that really count: love, family and ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..CAKE!

    Love and blessings,

    The Connell family

  6. Shirley says:

    Hey, everybody, thanks for the birthday wishes for Jerry. I’ll try to get him to sit down here and write a word or two.

    Carol, cake he hasn’t eaten yet, but when we leave here (Hastings Bookstore), we’re heading to the Black Bear…a local place known for tasty food served up in generous amounts. We’ll be taking care of the cake part.

    He’s sort of already had cake. I haven’t posted about the fabulous meal Mike and Mel cooked on Saturday—ending with luscious pie and flaming candles, at which, the birthday man blew—very successfully, extinguishing every one of them.
    sjb

  7. myblessings says:

    Happy Birthday Bro. Buxton. Hope you had a grand day. God bless you always.

  8. ABB says:

    That is so sweet and very true.
    Andrew

  9. dean says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY BRO. BUXTON. HOW WONDERFUL TO HAVE SUCH A PROFOUND AFFECT ON SO MANY LIVES. LOVE FROM TEXAS…. THE GODAIRS

  10. iluv2prshim says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Bro. Buxton. May you be blessed with good health and a lot of happiness.
    I am in Texas right now celebrating Karla’s 40th birthday. Can you believe she’s that old? lol
    Love and prayers,
    Ronda

  11. helenl says:

    Shirley, What a sweet letter to a man you obviously cherish.

  12. kikikaria says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your loving husband and godly man. Happy birthday to you Bro. Buxton. You are a role model to us all.

    The Mester Family in Fairfield

  13. cjojo59 says:

    God Bless, and have a wonderful, fun and blessed birthday!,

    Sis. Caroline

  14. Jana Allard says:

    Well said and quite touching.

  15. tommyjoe says:

    Bro. Buxton: I not only salute you for your birthday but also for the man of God you’ve been over the years. You are so reminiscent to me of Elder Coon up in WA state—also a “hoary headed,” wise man whom I respect and admire. Sis. Buxton: excellent tribute! I’m praying for you both, for your continued strength, hedge of protection around you & family!! God Bless!

  16. Holly Bren says:

    I LOVE YOU BRO. BUXTON!!! Happy Birthday to you. Wow, 3/4 of a century, that’s an admirable accomplishment. We’ll have to celebrate again the next time I get to see you. I can only dream of having a positive impact on as many lives as you’ve had. You are an incredible person, and a living testimony to the healing power of God. Besides that, you’re a really neat person too. Thanks for all you’ve done for me and my family over the past 33 years; my life would have a huge hole in it had the Buxtons not been a part of it. I’m so thrilled that my children get to know Pappy Buxton.

    May the celebration never end! You deserve it all and more.

    Many hugs,
    Holly

  17. AP says:

    Pappy, thank you, thank you, thank you. You truly are an amazing man. Thank you for being my pastor, one that never waivered on this glorious truth. Thank you for being like a father to me during some of my very formative years. But most of all thank you for being my friend, this is the most important of all to me. I love you more than you can imagine.
    Your friend,
    AP

  18. Jerry says:

    Needless to say my emotions ran high when finally this Friday night I was able to read your kind comments. It is friends like you who have impacted my life these 75 years. Again a great big THANKS. REMEMBER …. GOD IS STILL LOVE.

  19. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

