A Distinguished Fascination with Fear

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Fear, God, Holiness, Proverbs. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Distinguished Fascination with Fear

  1. cumby says:

    Indeed. It is the balance between the fear of God and the knowledge of His great love and grace towards us, that allows us to live godly lives. Once there is too much of one or the other; that is a life out-of-balance.

  2. inhisgrace says:

    Godly fear gives us great wisdom to examine our lives and ensure that our ways and thoughts are aligned with His. thanks for this post. it was a lovely read.

  3. Shirley says:

    Cumby, I’m so glad we understand the biblical fear of God. When I was a child, I was afraid the catching away of the children of God would take place, and I was not absolutely sure I was good enough to go to Heaven. I recall in church sometimes that I would snuggle really close to my mom, and had the thought that if the rapture came, I would grab hold of her clothes…and fly away to Heaven. Not quite a biblical principal, I fear, but one that brought comfort to me.

    Now, I have a better understanding of the fear of God, and while I yet believe I am really not good enough for Heaven, I lean on His phenomenal grace and mercy.

    Yet, I understand there will come a day when plain, desperate fear of God will be appropriate. At that day, men will call on the rocks and mountains to fall on them. I prefer to fall on His grace and mercy now.

    Thanks for reading and commenting at my column.

    Shirley

  4. Shirley says:

    Yes, Inhisgrace, it is a beautiful attribute of the godly life to be able with all confidence to examine ourselves in the light of God’s word.

    Thank you for your thoughts.

    shirley

  5. Pingback: Posts I Enjoyed Reading This Week 3//07 « christiannewsanalysis.com

Leave a Reply

