The Softening

The water here in Lake Havasu at our RV park is quite hard. No, it won’t break things, and it doesn’t sound like gravel if you pitch a glassful out the door. Rather, its hardness is revealed by spotted glasses and windows, shampoo that refuses to lather in the shower, and reluctant bars of soap.

There are solutions to this problem, and one is a commercial water softener designed especially for motorhomes. Jerry and Mike finished connecting one to our rig yesterday, and when I showered last evening, and as I washed dishes this morning, the water felt slick, suds bounded up and the drinking glasses are sparkling bright.

This transformation from hard to soft applies also to the human heart. No, not that physical heart that rhymically thumps in our chests, but the invisible spiritual heart each of us have. The prophet Isaiah likened this change to the refining of silver, a process that purifies, making it sterling and valuable. Chapter 48 verse 10: “Behold, I have refined thee…”

And in the New Testament: l Peter 1:6-7 “That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ”

Sometimes when I find myself feeling a little hard around the edges and thinking I need to be more tender toward God and toward mankind, I ask God to run me through a softening cycle.  Purify me, God, remove anything that shouldn’t be in my heart, cleanse me, soften me.  And He is faithful to answer my prayer…sometimes its a bit painful and I cry ouch or try to move myself from the softening process, but in the long run, that is where I want to be. Soft and tender before God.

___________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Isaiah, Perfection, Prayer, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Softening

  1. I need to ask God to soften my heart a bit more. I find myself with a hard heart just because of the day to day junk of living in this world and trying to cope. Thank you for reminding me.

  2. cumby says:

    An apt comparison-the hard water and the softening that the father wants to do in our hearts. God knows I need it. Thank you!

  3. helenl says:

    Beautiful devotional, Shirley. I think sometimes we could all use a bit of softening up, a bit of slickening, so the sin can run off and we can be clean again.

  4. writeathome says:

    Sometimes I pray the prayer that David prayed, but I don’t think I pray it often enough.

    Psalm 51:10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.

    It’s so easy to let our hearts become hardened through the cares of this life and the deceitfulness of sin. May God help us to keep our hearts open and exposed to Him.

  5. Shirley says:

    Good morning, everybody. Thanks for being here, for reading and leaving your timely comments. I do appreciate that, for I love to hear from all of you.

    A soft day to all of us—

    Shirley

  6. satisfiedhousewife says:

    I just got a water softener too, so I know exactly what you’re talking about! (Don’t you love it?) Anyway, I agree with everyone that I need a continual softening. Notice too, that the water is softened after it is “purified”….hey, go figure! We have this tank filled with salt rocks that is used to clean the water in the middle of the night, then it goes through the filter.

    Jesus said we are the “salt of the earth”, and think of it – not only are we supposed to act as a “purifier”, but that as a result of the souls we turn to righteousness and faith, that they will turn from their hard hearts and become soft towards the Lord also! And the process goes on and on from one soul to another!

    Isn’t that an awesome thought?

    God is such a wonderful God!

    Jen

  7. Shirley says:

    Hello, Jen.

    Thanks for your timely remarks which opened up a new dimension to this conversation. Yes! We must be purified ourselves, then because we are salty…we must salt our world.

    Love and blessings

    shirley

  8. Pingback: Posts I Enjoyed Reading This Week 3/23/07 « christiannewsanalysis.com

Leave a Reply

