Of Sleeping and Waking

“I laid me down and slept. I awakened; for the Lord sustained me.” Psalm 3:5

Fatigued and spent from the day and its varied issues, I ease into bed. Reflecting on such sheer comfort as I drift into oblivion, I often remember to thank God for this sublime rest.

The mystery of sleep takes me, and the hours pass. Near dawn, I rise, restored and healed.

_________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Devotionals, God, Home, Psalms, Rest. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Of Sleeping and Waking

  1. tommyjoe says:

    Sis. Contino again. I always try to remember to thank the Lord for another day as I awake—clothed and in my right mind.

  2. Jana Allard says:

    I have always said it is amazing what a nap does for children. The worst attitude can be repaired with rest. It’s amazing. If it is so magical for children, I wonder how many adults would be more pleasant with adequate rest?!

  3. dean says:

    When my day is crowded, confused or just simply over-stressing, I often steal away for 5 minutes of me time. My favorite gambit is just to sit in the sunshine and consider how very blessed I am. Seems to always recharge me!!

  4. mike says:

    Such a blessed thing that we can lay our head down and drift off to sleep with the comfort and peace in our heart that no matter where we wake the Lord will be by our side.

  5. DulceDiana says:

    Thanks so much for this post!! It answers thoughts in my head…if that makes sense?!

  6. writeathome says:

    Psa 127:2

    (AMP) It is vain for you to rise up early, to take rest late, to eat the bread of [anxious] toil–for He gives [blessings] to His beloved in sleep.

    I too am thankful to be able to be rejuvinated in sleep that the Lord gives and to awake refreshed.

  7. kikikaria says:

    Thank God, not only for the bliss of physical rest, and I do revel in it, but also for the rest that comes when God fills us with His Spirit. (“For with stammering lips and another tongue will he speak to this people. To whom he said, This is the rest wherewith ye may cause the weary to rest; and this is the refreshing….Isaiah 28:11-12)

  8. Shirley says:

    Good afternoon, everybody.

    Over the past weekend, I was a guest in the home of Pastor and Mrs. Rick Keyes in Santa Maria, CA. The bed in their guestroom is a “Select Number Bed.” I’ve heard this brand of bed advertised many times, but never before had I the opportunity of sleeping on one.

    It turned out to be delightful, and I lazily snoozed away. I had been shown how to select the firmness I wanted, and I settled on number 80–a bit firm, but that’s what I’m used to.

    Thanks for all your comments on both physical and spiritual rest.

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

