God and Moving Walkways

“Then they willingly received him into the ship: and immediately the ship was at the land whither they went.” John 6:21

Over the past weekend I spent quite a lot of time in airports. A couple of the airports–Los Angeles and Las Vegas–are very large ones and required me to do lots of walking to get to the gates I needed. At a couple of points I spied moving walkways and they cheered me, and although I had the choice of plain walking or stepping onto the moving walkway, with swift deliberation I pulled my bags to the black rubberized walkway that would move me quickly and with little effort to my destination. It was so much better than merely walking with my own strength.

I love moving walkways. They make me feel empowered, especially if when I’m on one, moving rapidly down the airport corridor, I decide to add speed by walking myself. It’s such fun, gives a lilting sense of gliding, of power and of direction. Without exception, when in an airport and on a moving walkway, I always think of God and of His might. I consider how we are empowered when we allow ourselves to be lifted above ourselves and to be moved by the Holy Ghost!

Consider the scripture I have posted. The disciples took Jesus into their ship, and (read it carefully), immediately they were at their destination! Instantly they were on land!

What tremendous power and authority belong to us as people of God. He moves us where we need to go, easily and dynamically because of the strength and vitality of the Holy Ghost. An awesome thought, is it not!

_________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Disciples, God, Jesus, John. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God and Moving Walkways

  1. writeathome says:

    I love the analogy of the moving walkway in airports! I’m so glad that the Holy Ghost does give us power to accomplish things for God which would be impossible in our own strength!

    Love,
    Carol

  2. Jana Allard says:

    Great analogy. I love airport walkways.

  3. Shirley says:

    Hey Carol and Jana. Thanks for the comments. Love you both.

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

