A Scalpel to My Secret Faults

We’re still getting acquainted with people in the RV park where we are staying, so this morning when on our daily walk, I saw Jo outside, I stopped to talk with her. She has been quite sick–actually she was in the hospital when we moved our rig into the park, and the first time I saw her after she was released from the hospital, she was wearing oxygen to help with her breathing.

She is a charming, spunky lady, and this morning when she told us the details of her medical situation, I was astounded at her story. She had a sudden gall bladder attack and when she was examined at the hospital, they found her gall bladder to be half the size of a football. A normal gall bladder, she showed us today with curved fingers, is the size of a small egg. She was extremely ill, filled with gangreen and suffering from a vicious case of double pneumonia.

Jo had never before had a gall bladder attack, and though this deadly situation had been brewing for years, she had no idea that such a poisonous danger was developing in her body. Now she recognizes that for years she had not had the energy and strength she should have. “I feel like a new person,” she told us this morning.

Immediately on hearing this story, I thought of David’s scripture in Psalm 19:12: “Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults.”

I am sincere today in asking God to cleanse me with secret faults. I’m aware of many of my faults and shortcomings, and that’s bad enough, but when I consider that I might have secret faults of which I am not aware, it troubles me and causes me to cry as did David, “Cleanse thou me from secret faults.”

Heaven is too precious, and His coming too near, for me to be caught unaware, harboring secret sins and refusing to consider the faults in my life. I want to submit to His sharp scalpel, that with loving hands He wields. Cleanse me, purify me, make me whole.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Holiness, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Scalpel to My Secret Faults

  1. Tena says:

    Amen to this post, Sis. Buxton! I don’t want to take a chance at missing heaven either. God keep my heart pure and my hands clean. I often ask the Lord to show me if there is any wicked way in me that I am not aware of. And He DOES show me when there are things there. I am so thankful for that because, then I can make it right and move forward in my walk with Him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

