Sharon and Friendship

On Sunday morning as we were arranging things at our church, across the parking lot walked a lady, whom we later learned was named Sharon (not her actual name.) She was so sweet, had found one of our church cards in the apartments where we had been on Saturday, and had come for our service.

“I’m here in Lake Havasu to make a new start in life,” she told us. (Later, Mike told me she appears to have been addicted to Meth.)

“Wonderful. We’re here to start a new church, and you are just who we need,” I responded.

She seemed to enjoy the service, and afterwards as I was still inside the building and she and Jerry had walked out the front door, I looked through the large windows and saw that she was weeping. Mike, Matt and I joined Jerry and Sharon as she continued. “I’m so alone. I have no one.”

I talked to her a bit, telling her how much we cared and that she had found friends with us. Then Mike moved to her, and Sharon threw her arms around him, and for a long time sobbed as Mike spoke to her of loneliness, and friends and God and love and redemption. We were all so moved by her plight and by her sweetness.

That scene is etched in my mind, and here on Tuesday, two days later, I think again how blessed I am to have friends–all kinds of friends–close and dear ones, casual friends, ministerial friends and blogging friends whom I have never met. I have close and precious family, and other people who would rally ’round me should any sort of emergency arise. I am rich.

I was talking to Mike on the phone today when he shouted; “There’s Sharon. Hey, Sharon,” I heard him call, then to me, he spoke. “Call you back in a minute, Mom.”

He was ecstatic when he called again. “She got a job, Mom…and she’ll be at Bible study tonight.”

Think of your friends today, of your church, of your family, of your good life, of your blessings…and, please, will you say a prayer for Sharon.

___________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, Fallen Man, Family, Friendship, God, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sharon and Friendship

  1. helenl says:

    I am rich too, Shirley. God wants everyone to be rich. I will pray for Sharon.

  2. writeathome says:

    I do thank God for my family and friends. I am excited about “Sharon”, and I will be praying for her!

    Love,

    Carol

  3. tommyjoe says:

    Sis. Vivian Contino here. I am excited about Sharon too—and the new beginning that she is having. I was glad to see your pictures and the church where you had Easter Sunday services. All I can say is HALLELUJAH to Jesus. Love you all and continued prayers.

Leave a Reply

