Of Passion and Godliness

On last Monday, before the Virginia shooter had been identified, I heard a doctor, (unfortunately I cannot recall his name) speaking of the characteristics of such a person. “He should have been leaking,” I recall him saying. “There should have been evidence appearing to those around him that something was askew in his mind.”

Those words caused me to consider the Christian and how important it is that we “leak” God to those around us. It should not be a kept secret that we are a people who are striving for righteousness and holiness and that our mission in life extends beyond the sphere of this globe. Our objective is “other-worldly,” our appearance is difference, there should be a glow on our faces, our manners should be impeccable, our attitude sterling, and our passion for God and His work clearly visible and easily discerned. We should be “leaking” godliness.

It is said that in the midst of a tough battle in World War II, General George Patton, one of the greatest military leaders of all time, said about battle, “God, I love it!”

Consider again the beautiful words of Paul as he wrote to the church in Ephesus: Chapter 3, verses 14:20

“For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named. That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man;

That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;

And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,…”

______________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Boldness, Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Ephesians, God, Passion. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Of Passion and Godliness

  1. Beverly says:

    Hmmmm, you’ve got me thinking. How often do I “Leak” God to those around me?

  2. Shirley says:

    Good evening, Beverly. Thank you for reading and commenting here. It certainly is something we should consider…this “leaking” God to those around us.

    What a pleasure that should be, how natural it should come.

    Blessings and joy.

    Shirley

  3. Michael says:

    Im so glad the lord lets me have his spirit in me. I pray I keep enough in me that I can leak to my world.Im proud to let people know the Lord lives in my heart, I think it would be a disservice to our world if we didn’t leak.What a great thought this is.

  4. helenl says:

    I love the idea of “leaking God,” because in order to leak God He must be inside. And “leaking” is ususally done unaware. What a lovely image. God seeping out through one’s pores becuase He is filling a life to overflowing. Nothing comtemplated, just a life full of God.

  5. Shirley says:

    Thank you, Michael and Helen. What a goal: to be so full of God and His great love and mercy that we actually spread it around as we go through our days.

    May it be so.

    Shirley

  6. Helen@muisto says:

    Hi Shirley, came over to your blog from inhishands and read some of your posts – they are all so valuable, thanks for sharing.

    I liked the thought of ‘leaking’. When I was a kid, my Mom taught me to live “transparent” – so that everyone can look inside and see my faith. Its a similiar picture and both are about inviting people to see Jesus working in our lifes.

    Have a blessed day,
    Helen

  7. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Helen, and welcome to God Things. Please come often.

    I’m reminded of a story I heard about a little boy, newly a Christian, who went to a summer camp. When he returned home, his mom asked, “How did you do while you were there?”

    “Fine, Mom,” the youngster replied. “No one even guessed I was a Christian.”

    Sometimes, sadly, we grown-up Christians take on that stance. It’s good to know, however, that many others consistently “leak” the good news!

    Joy today and always,

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

