Alcoholics Anonymous and Godly Communication

As we sat over lunch yesterday, my new friend looked me straight in the eye and said, “We’re both alcoholics.” It startled me to hear her say that, for I knew she had not drunk for many years. When the words sank in, though, I recalled that alcoholics who have recovered through AA speak of themselves as alcoholics, the thinking being, I believe, that their addictive tendency is something they must fight all their lives.

“We’re both alcoholics,” my friend had said, and as she continued with the conversation she added details of her friend’s life. “She attends AA meetings four times a day.”

“Four times a day? Is that what you said?” I quizzed.

“Yes, she attends AA meetings four times a day, and it has helped her tremendously. She is doing very well.”

This morning as Jerry and I walked, he asked me. “Yesterday at lunch, did she say her friend went to AA meetings four times a day?”

“Yes,” I replied.

I continued to think of this conversation and how important it is to commune with God throughout our day. He is our strength, our source of energy, our compass and direction point, our center. We must communicate with Him throughout our days. The scripture in I Thessalonians 5:17 “Pray without ceasing” doesn’t prescribe our being constantly in chapel or on our knees. That is impossible, of course. The gist and thrust of the scripture is that we are to live our lives—our daily ordinary lives— in a prayerful godly attitude. Going to church once a week  won’t suffice, a casual prayer every few days is not enough, a monthly reading of His Word is inadequate. Daily, often and sincerely, we must communicate with Jesus, with our leader, our guide, our facilitator.

Going to AA four times a day has enabled one woman to live a sober, profitable life. Attending to God, listening carefully for His voice, hearing and acknowledging Him throughout our days will doubtless give us happy, sober and productive days. Know something else? We’ll get to Heaven that way!

______________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Alcoholism, Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Friendship, I Thessalonians. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Alcoholics Anonymous and Godly Communication

  1. writeathome says:

    Good post, Sister Buxton. If going to AA meeting four times a day can help someone stay sober, how much more can communing with God do for us! It not only blesses us in this life, but as you said, the benefits of this kind of lifestyle are out of this world! 🙂

    Love,
    Carol

  2. Shirley says:

    Hello, Carol.

    Yep! I’m for the “out-of-this-world” lifestyle.

    Love you all.

    Shirley

  3. Shirley says:

    Helen, thank you. I rushed right over to pick up the money, but I couldn’t find it! 🙂

    Shirley

  4. dean says:

    Four times a day is about right. 6 times a day on the weekends.

  5. Jerry says:

    Dean , How I wish I could visit with you, Dee Dee, and your sweet Mom. What remarkable memories. Get it together and come speak at our baby church.

  6. Shirley says:

    Dean…ditto!

    Shirley

  7. Jana Allard says:

    Great post. I love the scripture about praying without ceasing. In my life, I feel to pray without ceasing is to act as if God was physically present with me at all times and He is included in all my conversations. Even the casual talks. I do believe we can pray without ceasing in that manner.

  8. Jana Allard says:

    P. S. Congrats on your Thinking Blogger Award.

  9. Shirley says:

    Thanks for the congratulations, Jana. And again…ditto!…to you, this time.

  10. Brian Allard says:

    Good Morning Sis. Buxton.

    I was certainly delighted to talk on the phone with your husband and hear the wonderful news about the growth of the church in Lake Havasu. You two will build a great work there.

    Praying without ceasing is not just a prayer time. It is also an attitude of who I want to become. “Walk in the Spirit and you will not fulfill the lust of the flesh.” Your friend has obviously decided to not fulfill her fleshly desires so she walks in the light given her by AA. This requires devotion to the cause. If we could only learn to produce an equal amount of devotion to “walking in the Spirit,” how much more could our lives be fulfilled? Great post!

  11. Shirley says:

    Thank you, Brian. I so want to be one who “walks in the Spirit” at all times.

  12. Pingback: Repentance and Thinking Blogger Awards « Shirley Buxton

  13. mICHELLE says:

    AA IS AN UNGODLY BRAINWASHING CULT.YOURE BEING DECIEVED

Leave a Reply

