Rendering Appropriately to God

Over the past few weeks, on numerous occasions I have had contact with people who are fiercely struggling with drug and alcohol addictions. I have grown attached to these people; their dreadful plight “breaking my heart” and causing me much unrest. I weep often for them.

You see, I am so utterly blessed. I was born into the home of godly parents, who, from the day of my birth, I feel sure, prayed over me, spoke God’s Word into my ears, sang great hymns of the church as I closed my eyes in sleep, caused me to memorize passages of scripture, and led me to God’s house for worship every Sunday morning…and Sunday night…and Wednesday…and…

To mind comes David’s questioning words in Psalm 116 verse 12: “What shall I render unto the LORD for all his benefits toward me?”

His answers come in the next two verses: “I will take the cup of salvation, and call upon the name of the LORD. I will pay my vows unto the LORD now in the presence of all his people.”

It doesn’t seem enough, does it? But then, is it ever possible to repay the LORD for all He has done for us? “I’ll repay by taking the salvation He provides, I will call upon His name, and I will pay my vows,” says David and, so, say I. My rendering seems skimpy, much too lightweight and fully inadequate, yet it is what I can do.

Too many of us—think about it, now—fail to offer even these minimal renderings. Just consider that and what it means.

“I won’t take the cup of salvation,” translates into the thought that the death of Jesus was absolutely in vain, and as having no value.

“I won’t call upon His name,” is pompous and humanistic, implying no need for the Omnipotent, All Powerful One.

“I won’t pay my vows,” implies base dishonesty and lack of respect for God and for His jurisdiction over the world and over mankind.

So, with David, I will consider all the benefits of God, and, with lowly and prayerful thoughtfulness, will consider what I can humbly render unto Him.

______________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Alcoholism, Bible, Children, Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, God, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rendering Appropriately to God

  1. tammy says:

    MY EX IS IN PRISON FOR BRINGING DRUGS OVER THE STATE LINE HIS BRI=OTHER AND SISTER BOTH HAVE AIDS FROM SHARING NEEDLES THE OTHER BROTHER DIED OF COCAIN OVER DOSE SO I KNOW WHAT DRUGS CAN WILL DO I JUST WISH THERE WAS MORE HELP OUT THERE FOR DRUG ADDICTS pheonixstar@atlanticbb.net

  2. tammy says:

    MY EX IS IN PRISON FOR BRINGING DRUGS OVER THE STATE LINE HIS BRI=OTHER AND SISTER BOTH HAVE AIDS FROM SHARING NEEDLES THE OTHER BROTHER DIED OF COCAIN OVER DOSE SO I KNOW WHAT DRUGS CAN WILL DO I JUST WISH THERE WAS MORE HELP OUT THERE FOR DRUG ADDICTS

  3. helenl says:

    Shirley, Your story and mine sound so similar, only we went to church only on Sunday mornings. Our parents lived their faith before our tiny eyes. They modelled for us how a Christian lives. We were quite sheltered. But then I grew up, and God has shown me how many others, also His beloved children for whom Jesus died, did not come up so easily. May God break my heart for the addicts and the poor and the sick and the lonely such that I both pray and act in their behalf for Jesus sake.

  4. I grew up in a non-Christian home but somehow God still got ahold of me and I praise and thank Him for that everyday. My heart, too, breaks for those addicted to drugs. That is how my step-son, Craig died. (see my blog site for more info. if you wish) So I have a burden for those whose lifestyle involve drugs or drinking. It seems that is how people make it through this life anymore. Life is so stressful and hard. We have more stuff – but have never been more empty. It’s because we’re a nation that is forgetting its God.

  5. Shirley says:

    Tammy, my heart is absolutely grieved for you and your family, and I, too, wish more could be done for addicts of all kinds.

    While I value efforts that are made by any group, I believe, statistically speaking, a much greater chance of breaking these chains come through God and His people. Please find a church. If you would like me to help you do that, please tell me so here, and I will contact you by email.

    I wish you peace and love.

  6. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Helen and Beverly. Sorry to be so long in responding here.

    We are the blessed ones—we who understand that God truly is the answer. If only we could transfer our understanding to those around us.

    I want so desperately to help those who are addicted, and I know the both of you do also. God help us all to have the wisdom to deal with these precious people.

Leave a Reply

