My Prayer Request

Think about this: You are in the presence of Jesus, the physical presence of Jesus, as He prays. Either you kneel beside Him or walk about, or stop and stare and listen to this Man—this God-Man. Jesus, the Almighty, God in the flesh, is praying and you are there to hear Him. What an occasion. I’m filled with awe this afternoon at the mere thought of such opportunity. I wonder about the timbre of His voice, its pitch and tone, its resonance, volume and intensity. And certainly, I consider His words. What did He say as He prayed? In some ways I feel reluctant to query deeply into this, thinking of holy ground and of the need for bare feet.

The disciples prayed with Jesus, heard His voice, knew His passion. It was not an unusual, infrequent event in their lives, but I expect they never got over the awe of such prayer sessions. Verse one, chapter 11 of Luke records such an occasion.

Jesus was praying, and although the disciples probably did pray at this time, scripture doesn’t say so, but it does record that after Jesus ceased from praying, one of the disciples spoke powerful words that ring through the ages: “Lord, teach us to pray…”

And such is my prayer today. Teach me God. Teach me to pray. Tell me what to say, remind me of my need for moments alone with you, put a hunger in my soul for such times, an understanding of Your ways, Your direction, Your word.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Disciples, God, Jesus, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Prayer Request

  1. Scotti says:

    Amen!

  2. timbob says:

    Greetings. A really good pondering. John chapter 17 has always been fascinating as Jesus prayer occupies the whole of it. Verse 20 is where he prayes literally for every one of us in the form of “them also which shall believe on me through their word.” It’s one of those “open windows into the heart of God; much like the sermon on the mount. Such a profound portion of scripture, although all scripture is good. Thanks for the reflection.

    Have a blessed day in Christ

    timbob

  3. helenl says:

    Shirley, I stand with you on this one. How do we behave in the presence of the Almighty? Do we fall to our knees, look into His face? O God, fill us with Your Glory. And Jesus, teach us to pray.

  4. Shirley says:

    Thank you Scotti for your affirmation of my post.

    Timbob, the portion in John to which you refer is outstanding, for as you point out, Jesus is praying for us—the believer—His church. I love verse 9 where He specifically says He is praying for us and not for the world in general. Of course, Jesus loves every human who has ever lived, but it is a close and encouraging thought to believe that He cares for His people in a unique and precious way.

    Helen, it is no wonder that Moses was asked to remove his shoes.

    Bless you all.

  5. Jana Allard says:

    Prayer request? I often ask Him to teach me to pray, but I also feel guilty at times to even ask Him for anything. If He were right next to me as you described in this post, I don’t think I could ask for anything but rather I would desire to lavish love on Him.

  6. Shirley says:

    It’s a little hard to grasp, because I know I’m in the presence of Jesus when I pray, but I believe I would react differently if I knelt physically beside Him. I’m not sure I’d be able to say a word.

    There have been times in my life when I have felt the presence of God so strongly, I really didn’t know what to say. There were no appropriate, nor adequate words.

  7. helenl says:

    There are no words for these moments. But later in the valley, we should be fit to work.

  8. Mohana Lakshmi.D says:

    Dear God this is Mohana Lakshmi from chennai, iam praying for the past one months contionously, iam having lots of issue in my life. I believe only god can solve this, iam in love with one guy for the past one and half years his name is somasundaram he is also from chennai, we two planned to get marry next year after his sister marriage, but suddenly last month his sister got love marriage and went away from home, because of this issue his whole family depressed and he told me he cant marry me and he will never speak about me to his father.till this second myself and his friends trying to convince him but he is not convinced. I cant even think about life without him. I had many dreams about our marriage life..Iam very upset and depressed because of this issue. i feel like dieing only because of my mother iam still alive because she is a cancer patient am the only person to takecare of her. Iam not able to concentrate on my job i resigned few days before. totally depressed.Somasundaram is avoiding me and insulting me a lot which hurt me. If i speak to him he is getting angry on me.really dont know why he is behaving like this, till last month he is very affectionate with me but now he is throwing me like anything, please god only you can help me i believe you a lot. many are telling leave him and marry someother guy but i cant do that because i love him like anything.only you can convince somasundaram,make him understand about my love for him. He doesnt have confident thats the reason he is afraid to speak to his father. Please give him confident and tell him to speak to his father. I believe one day somasundaram will come back to me and marry me with his father permission, please god please forgive all my sins and please dont punish me.I believe you god surely you will show some miracle in my life.What i feel since iam calling and messaging him he is avoiding me so i told him yesterday that i wont call him and message him but my love for him will always be there for him with 100% and i will wait for him. Hope one day he will come back to me and say he wants to marry me, iam expecting that day.. hope god will do this miracle in my life. I believe god

  9. Shirley says:

    Mohana, thank you for writing this post. I have prayed for you, and have this piece of advise. Do nothing at the moment. Be sweet, love God, and let some time pass before you make any decisions. God will help you know what to do. For now, do nothing.

    It probably would help if you continue to work, however. Keep your mind off your problems. Keep loving your mother. Let her be the focus of your attention.

    Bless you.

Leave a Reply

