Turning Aside to Find God

“Now Moses kept the flock…And the angel of the LORD appeared unto him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush; and he looked, and, behold, the bush burned with fire, and the bush was not consumed. And Moses said, I will now turn aside, and see this great sight, why the bush is not burnt.

And when the LORD saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush…” Exodus 3:1-4

Sometime ago when I was reading these verses here in Exodus, it struck me that as God watched Moses walking through the wilderness, He was favorably impressed when Moses stopped to take a second look at the burning bush. Check it out. There seems to be some significance placed on Moses’ turning aside to observe this phenomenon. My take on this is that had Moses merely glanced out of the corner of his eye and thought that sure is a strange sight, but had continued with his flock-watching, Biblical history would have been drastically changed. Perhaps God would have passed by Moses, and would have chosen to go on to someone else who would lead His people from bondage.

But Moses was in tune with God, and in His spirit he recognized this burning bush as being something on which he must focus. Scripture bears it out: when Moses took that action, God saw him and was pleased. The next step in His divine plan was set in motion: In an audible voice, God spoke to His man, Moses.

How often is it that God wants to talk with us, nudges us, shows us something extraordinary, or reveals a divine truth? Can it be that He watches our reaction to signs of His presence and decides whether to bless us with the next step…with hearing His voice. I want to be careful in this area, for I cherish the thought that God is watching me, is whispering my name, and that He wants to be involved with deeper and more intimate communication.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________
My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Exodus, God, Moses, Perfection, Prayer, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Turning Aside to Find God

  1. helenl says:

    Wow. Shirley, I want to let you know I read this and am thinking about just what to say. I think this passage of scripture is very telling. I’ll be back.

  2. Shirley says:

    Hello, Helen. I’m anticipating your response.

  3. timbob says:

    Greetings. Great thought and all the more reason to be always walking in the Spirit. I can’t help but wonder how many times I’ve failed to “take a second look.”

    have a blessed weekend in Christ.

    timbob

  4. helenl says:

    Well, I’m back. I realized that if I didn’t stop to do this, it would never get done. There is no time when I’m doing nothing (unless the plan is to do nothing).
    I think epiphanies such as this happen all the time, if one is “in tune with God.”

    It’s what happened to Martin Luther King at midnight at the kitchen table. God told King to “stand up for justice.” And King had a new job. No longer was he merely a preacher, although he was that “first and foremost.” “[God’s} divine plan was set in motion,” and King was off to become “the symbol of a movement,” for he had heard God calling his name.

    It’s what happened to me at my kitchen table, as I read a book review of Arthur Ashe’s Days of Grace in which he said “being black” was more difficult that having AIDS. “[God’s] divine plan was set in motion,” and I went back to school to learn how to fight racism in a still racist country. And though I get the most argument from Christians, I will follow the Lord, for a newspaper book review can be a burning bush. And God is always on the lookout for “someone . . . to lead His people from bondage.”

    I think epiphanies such as this happen all the time, but too many people are afraid to believe and follow the call.

  5. jc says:

    I saw God at the beach this spring. He was in the ocean waves as they rushed upon my feet. I saw His reflection as the sun peeked over the water in the morning. I saw His footprints in the sand, shaped like starfish and sand-dollars. I saw Him riding on the wings of pelicans. I heard Him in the soothing rhythm of the water. He whispered “I did this for you” as I stood there contemplating the wonder of it all. I saw God at the beach, and now I see Him everywhere.

  6. Shirley says:

    Beautiful, JC. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

