Recognizing Bondage

This morning, Jerry spoke with his sister Mildred who lives in Louisiana, and she told him of the death of one of her grand-daughters. She suffered from severe emphysema, but could not stop smoking tobacco, and consequently died last week at the young age of 40 years. During the conversation, Mildred reminded Jerry that her husband had also died from emphysema, and up to the time of his death, he was addicted to cigarettes. As he lay dying, he begged one of his sons to give him a cigarette. “If you do that,” a doctor told the family, “it is the same as striking a match to a stick of dynamite.”

As Jerry repeated the conversation to me, I recalled the following scriptures, and considered how precious and hallowed are our bodies, especially when we have turned ourselves to God, and His spirit now dwells within us. (It also convicted me of some bad eating habits I have.) šŸ˜¦

On occasion, I have heard of people who consider Christians to be foolish and bound by laws and regulations. There are even reports of those who have been trained to follow in God’s ways, and subsequently decided to do otherwise, who now rejoice in their freedom from “bondage.”

I ask you humbly today: just who is in bondage? We who sincerely try to follow after God and obey the scriptures, refusing to take into our bodies material which damages and destroys this temple of God…or those who even on their death bed beg for one more cigarette? Think about it, with an open heart and mind.

“What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.” I Corinthians 6:19-20

“And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.” I Thessalonians 5:23

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians, Bible, Christianity, Condemnation, Devotionals, Fallen Man, God, Holiness, I Thessalonians, Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recognizing Bondage

  1. Jana Allard says:

    This is definitely a post that makes one think. I have often wondered why people accuse us of being in bondage. Some so-called Christians who accuse us of being bound because of particular convictions we possess concerning modest apparel, need to consider themselves. Why don’t they just let people sing or preach in their churches nude? If they told a nudist to put clothes on, they would be “binding” the nudist. Ok, if not nude, how about letting your best soprano lead worship singing “How Great Thou Art” in a string bikini? I know this sounds absurd, but that is just how absurd it is to accuse me of being in bondage. Nothing in my walk with God has ever made me feel bound except my love towards God. I love being bound to Him.

  2. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Jana. Yes, we are bound…bound in love and gratitude…bound to our Saviour, our Redeemer…and…best of all…(changing the meaning for a minute)…bound for Heaven! Now that’s a good one!

  3. myblessings says:

    I heard once, can’t remember if it was a conversation or preaching, but I remember a conversation where a person was being accused of being in bondage by thier church. You can’t do this, you can’t do that. They simply listened to their arguments and then asked “I suppose before you go out, you have to put your makeup on. thier response was “I don’t even take the garbage out without my makeup on. Similar questions were asked and at the end he simply asked “now who is in bondage?”.

    This conversation really struck me. I have never felt that my “convictions” place me in bondage. In fact, there have been instances over the years where I was thankful for my so called bondage convictions. In fact, they don’t bind you, they set you free.

    I love Jana’s comment and so true.

    I for one am glad I am “bound” for heaven.

    God Bless!

Leave a Reply

