The Wonder of a Broken Wall

“Wherefore remember, that ye being in time past Gentiles in the flesh, who are called Uncircumcision by that which is called the Circumcision in the flesh made by hands; That at that time ye were without Christ, being aliens from the commonwealth of Israel, and strangers from the covenants of promise, having no hope, and without god in the world:But now in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us;”Ephesians 2:11-14

Each time I read this portion of scripture, my heart springs up in joy as I consider again, that at one time, we who are Gentiles were alienated from God, could not walk with Him, and did not in any way have free and full access to Him. Happy tears come to my eyes as I ponder this, and talk about it, and share the Good News.

The crashing of the wall was thunderous; a righteous mix of blood, agony, shame, holiness and ultimate victory:

“…there was darkness over all the land…Jesus cried with a loud voice,…”My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?…Jesus…yielded up the ghost…the veil of the temple was rent in twain from the top to the bottom; and the earth did quake, and the rocks rent; And the graves were opened; and many bodies of the saints which slept arose…And when Joseph had taken the body, he laid it in his own new tomb…

…In the end of the sabbath, came Mary Magdalene…and, …there was a great earthquake; for the angel of the Lord descended from heaven….and for fear of him the keepers did shake…and the angel said, Fear not …for he is risen.” From Matthew 27 and 28

What a happy day was that. How marvelous, how wondrous was the breaking down of the wall; the barrier that separated me from the presence of God, that prevented me from knowing Him, that denied my reveling in His love and sweetness. Now, today, at this moment, I walk boldly, yet with godly fear and righteous awe, into His very presence.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Angels, Bible, Christian Boldness, Christianity, Comfort, Devotionals, Disciples, Ephesians, God, Jesus, Love of God, Matthew, Prayer, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Wonder of a Broken Wall

  1. timbob says:

    Greetings. The more that we ponder our great salvation, the more awesome it becomes. I’ve been thinking on this a lot lately. If I had gone into eternity in August of 1983, I would be in hell at this very moment. That time would have now exceeded the 18 years that I spent on the earth.(I was born again in September of 1983) To really grasp just how awesome and how complete our salvation is theough Jesus Christ. Thanks for a post that should cause every saint to rejoice. What an awsome high priest we have, Jesus Christ who able to save us to the uttermost.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  2. Shirley says:

    Timbob, your response brought me up short because of its direct and pointed reference to a person—you—spending 18 years in hell. My Lord and my God, sometimes when I think of that, my mind refuses to let me accept hell to be true. But it is true…for thus says the Word of God, and indeed, God cannot lie.

    But your story did not end in that way, praise God, glory, hallelujah. It is through His mercy, His redemption…His great salvation…that our endings may be victorious…and heavenly!

    Bless you.

  3. His love amazes me! Thanks for this great post.

  4. Shirley says:

    Gene, thank you for being here and for your comments. Indeed, His love is amazing…there just are not the right words to describe Him, and our love and appreciation for what He does for us.

    Bless you and Karla.

  5. Scotti says:

    For He Himself is our peace!!!! Amen.

    Have a blessed day in Christ,
    Scotti

Leave a Reply

