Ultimate Quenching of Thirst

The temperature reached 113 degrees here in Lake Havasu yesterday, and I was hot! It has amazed me that the heat has not bothered me much at all…until yesterday. One hundred and six degrees or even 108 didn’t faze me, but yesterday when the thermometer settled onto the 113 mark, I was not comfortable. Not at all. I had drunk so many liquids that I seemed to slosh as I walked, yet I still felt thirsty. Nothing appealed to me. Not water, not sugarfree lemonade, not coke…Nothing seemed to satisfy.

Later in the day, this beautiful scripture came to mind. To me, this is one of the most powerful accounts in the Bible. I’m printing the entire story, for it is such a marvelous interaction between Jesus and this Samaritan woman. Some day I will talk more about this scripture, but for today, think of the water part…the drink part…the thirsting–non-thirsting part, where Jesus said to this precious, bewildered woman: “Drink here. Drink of me, and you’ll never thirst again.” Love it!

“There cometh a woman of Samaria to draw water: Jesus saith unto her, Give me to drink. (For his disciples were gone away unto the city to buy meat.)

Then saith the woman of Samaria unto him, How is it that thou, being a Jew, askest drink of me, which am a woman of Samaria? for the Jews have not dealings with the Samaritans.

Jesus answered and said unto her, If thou knewest the gift of God, and who it is that saith to thee, Give me to drink; thou wouldest have asked of him, and he would have given thee living water.

The woman saith unto him, Sir, thou hast nothing to draw with, and the well is deep: from whence then hast thou that living water? Art thou greater than our father Jacob, which gave us the well, and drank thereof himself, and his children, and his cattle?

Jesus answered and said unto her, whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again: But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.”

John 4:7-14

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Disciples, Fallen Man, God, Jesus, John, Love of God, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ultimate Quenching of Thirst

  1. Ahhh! Sounds refreshing.

  2. Jana Allard says:

    This made me think of a song written by John Ragsdale. The chorus says, “We thirst for You, we long for You, in a dry and barren land, we’re longing for Your hand to guide us to, a place where You, can fill us once again, baptize us once again, we thirst for You.”

    I do understand how that kind of heat feels. We had days up to 117 degrees last summer. So far this year, we have only been into the 90’s. Tonight was a beautiful, breezy 69, but I am sure the real hots days are coming soon.

  3. timbob says:

    Greetings. “A well of water spiriging up into everlasting life.” Thanks for mentioning this account of the interraction between Jesus and the Samaritan woman.

    I was thinking, while reading this, of Psalm 63:1 which talks about a dry and thirsty land where no water is. In fact, even while writing here, thoughts are coming about the significance of this verse. Our land is dry and thirsty with a grievous famine for the word of God. Folks going about their way and rejecting the only one who can truly satisfy.

    Thanks for a very thought provoking post.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  4. dean says:

    Wow!! Just imagine 113 degrees with 90% Texas style
    humidity!! Unbearable. Please stay cool!!

  5. writeathome says:

    How thankful I am to have that “living water” inside of me! I’m thankful we have a God that knows how to satsify a thirsty soul!

    Hope today is a little bit cooler for you. 🙂

  6. tommyjoe says:

    When a man (or a woman) has this living water, he (or she) never thirsts again. How refreshing. It makes me think of the song—Drinking At The Springs Of Living Water. Know that one? For those hot temperatures, get a little plastic tub, fill it with water, and soak your feet in it. Love, Sis. Contino.

  7. dean says:

    “THERE IS A RIVER, THAT FLOWS FROM DEEP WITHIN. THERE IS A FOUNTAIN,THAT FREES MY SOUL FROM SIN. COME TO THESE WATERS, THERE IS A VAST SUPPLY. THERE IS A RIVER THAT NEVER SHALL RUN DRY.”

    WOULD SOMEBODY HELP ME SING THIS AGAIN?

  8. Shirley says:

    Hello everyone. Thanks for your sincere and insightful comments.

    Dean, I’m rooting for you, I’m praying for you, I’m cheering you on, I have faith for you. You will sing this song again. You’ll sing loudly and victoriously; you’ll sing as only can the redeemed of the Lord. Why not now? Why not today…Why not at this very moment?

  9. Josiah Yoder says:

    Drinking At The Springs Of Living Water — My uncle knows it, but not the verses… do you know where I can find it?

Leave a Reply

