Thoughts from a Sickened Soul

Is it prostituting it to hope that our understanding of the Gospel may be flawed? Is it wrong to hope for “wiggle-room” so that a person who, as far as we know, did not obey the Bible, and who died in an unregenerate state, could anyhow find mercy…and be in Heaven…as opposed to being for eternity in hell? Is it obscene to even allow these questions to circulate through a Christian mind?

I speak from the unspeakable shadowy depth of my soul today, as I consider the death of Tanya, a friend, a person searching for God, a 43 year wife and mother who sat in church services at Christ Alive, who attended a ladies Bible studies here at DJs RV, and around whose kitchen table, Jerry and I once taught a home Bible study.

Is not Scripture clear?

Who will be saved?

“…Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved,…”Acts 16:31

What is believing?

“He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water. (But this speak he (Jesus) of the Spirit…)” John 7:38-39

What did Peter say as he laid out the plan of salvation on the day of Pentecost when the Holy Ghost dispensation was ushered in?

“Then Peter said unto them, repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.” Acts 2:38

Indeed Scripture is implicit, giving us an easily understood plan of salvation. Yet, restlessly, and in vain, I am sure, I search for exception, for flawed understanding, for loopholes, although at the same time, I cringe at such thoughts. Bear with me, though, for at this moment, since mid-morning yesterday, Tanya–unbaptized and not filled with the Holy Ghost–has stood as a being of eternity. Her lot has been cast.

But into the hand of a living, merciful God has she been delivered. There can be no better place.

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Acts, Bible, Christianity, Comfort, Devotionals, Fallen Man, Family, Friendship, John. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts from a Sickened Soul

  1. Cathy says:

    I have been a Christian, born again, for almost twenty years. I also know absolutely that one does not go to heaven unless they have been regenerated, yet I understand what you are feeling. I have had similar thoughts and feelings regarding my father. You can read a blog I wrote about my dad entitled SOBERING WORDS at giannina.wordpress.com or go to onlinetabernacle.com and click on the PEACEMAKERS blog. My comfort comes from the fact that I know that God is good no matter what. May the Lord comfort your heart.

    Cathy

  2. Shirley says:

    Hello, Cathy, and welcome to my site. I hope you will be here often.

    I read a few of your columns including “Sobering Words.” Your title is well chosen, and I admire your honesty in looking at this subject.

    We’re not judges, thank God. Every person will stand before a loving and just God. I’m grateful for that comfort.

    Be blessed.

  3. helenl says:

    Dear, dear Shirley, I do not know Tonya’s eternal resting place. But I do know that God is love. I know you, a living Christian–studying to be approved, but not yet fully knowing the mind of God–are allowed “wiggle room.” God is not mad at us, when we ask questions, which is really what you are doing when you are ‘wiggling.” I am praying for you. I love you.

  4. Pingback: Thoughts from a Sickened Soul · It’s My Soul

Leave a Reply

