The Grace Walk

It was in the book of Ephesians that I was reading this morning, when this jewel of a verse captured my eye–and my heart.

“Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.” 4:29

“Whoa!” I said to myself. “That’s a great theme for this day.”…and for any day, I now add.

So for today, let nothing ugly, mean, untruthful, arrogant or thoughtless come from our mouths. Let that part of our bodies that so often gets us in trouble, be softened with compassion, beauty, truth and humility. May its utterings be God-like, elevating and full of hope.

For in so doing, according to the last part of the verse, we “…minister grace to the hearers.” Now I like that. I want to walk around today handing out bits of grace to those with whom I come in contact.

How about you? Want to join me?

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Ephesians, Grace, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Grace Walk

  1. Mike Sawyer says:

    Would be great to do this everyday.

    With compassion,
    Mike
    Birmingham, Alabama

  2. Shirley says:

    Hello, Mike. Welcome to my site. And yes, it’s great to walk in grace every day.

    Enjoyed your site! I’ve never smoked, and certainly never intend to. I know many people who struggle with tobacco addiction. God bless your work.

  3. Mike Sawyer says:

    Shirley, thank you!!

    With compassion,
    Mike Sawyer
    http://Www.AmBlessed.com

  4. Kathy says:

    Hi Shirley,
    thank you I just stumbled on your web-site and found it to be encouraging!
    I was discouraged today because I told a fellow Christian that I do not believe we should ever curse. James 3:10 speaks that the same mouths should not curse from the same mouths that praise God. I know we are not perfect and we all sin of course, but I just think that should be an easy one!
    However pray for me I need self control too… every day I fail… I just need to do better with my eating habits!
    Blessings Shirley
    Kathy

    Hi, Kathy. Glad you came by my place; hope you visit often. Be of good courage; we can be overcomers, although of course we are not perfect.

    Cursing bothers you? Good for you, my friend. It is despicable and not pleasing to God. Continue to be grieved by sin.

    Blessings always…..

Leave a Reply

