Invested in God’s Perfection

Often I observe the things I am doing, and the efforts I am expending in the work of God, and to tell the truth, they look rather feeble, and given merely a cursory glance, one would be prone to say they are likely not worthy to be called God’s work.

Encouragement came to me this afternoon as I sat in my motor home living room and read from Ecclesiastes 3:14 where the wise man says,

“I know that, whatsoever God doeth, it shall be for ever: nothing can be put to it, nor any thing taken from it: and God doeth it, that men should fear before him.”

Great! I said to myself. Whatever God does shall be forever, long-lasting, eternal; not feeble, not shaky, and certainly not wobbling around…nothing added to it, nothing taken away. My challenge then is to be sure that what I do is God’s work–not a work of my own, not fashioned from my mortal mind, but at the mark of His omniscient ways. My days must be spent following God’s direction, moving my hands only as He places His over mine, directing their every course–stepping in cadence to His baton, a baton of the ages.

_____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Faith, God, Perfection, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Invested in God’s Perfection

  1. kikikaria says:

    For some reason this post made me think of the scripture that says (my paraphrase), Except the Lord build the house, they labor in vain that build it. Lord, help me to sit and hear the still small voice of your Spirit and do the work according to Your will, not my own. Thank you, Sis. Shirley for this excellent Post!

    Love,
    Karen

  2. Shirley says:

    Hi, Karen.

    You have it right. Only God can build His work. Oh, He’s so sweet and kind that He lets us get right down and be involved in it, and that indeed is wonderful, but only God can do the building.

    Come to think of it, it’s a really good thing for I don’t have the slightest clue how to go about it.

Leave a Reply

