Freedom Unexcelled

I continue to be astounded at the people who consider “religion” and “serving God” as restrictive and undesirable, and who, instead, set up as desirable, those who drink, smoke, shoot-up, snort, or gulp deadly drugs, pay little regard to marriage vows, ignore the Bible, communicate by the use of vile language…ad infinitum…

Freedom? No restrictions? You must be kidding!

(Although I truly am astonished at the world’s mistaken concept of freedom, I in no way consider myself better than anyone else, and I certainly don’t look with disdain at unbelievers. I honestly just don’t get it, and these considerations make me thankful anew for my childhood training, and for my exposure to the wonder and the truth of God and of His Word. I believe this understanding makes me love people, and I constantly am searching for ways to help those with whom I have contact to understand how absolutely phenomenal it is to serve God. I wish I could transfer to everyone I meet the sheer joy of serving Him and the passion I feel to spread the good news of the Gospel.)

Want real, true, everlasting, non-disappointing freedom, check out John 8:36

“If the son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.”

Happy Independence Day!

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Alcoholism, Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Fallen Man, God, Holidays, Jesus, John. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Freedom Unexcelled

  1. Shirley says:

    Welcome Kclick to my site. Hope you’re here often. Thank you for this affirmation.

  2. Pastor Andrew says:

    Great comments, I totally agree! In fact, check out my post today to see God’s Word in action where He said we should be of like mind! http://www.pastorandrew.wordpress.com.

  3. Shirley says:

    Welcome to my site, Pastor Andrew. Hope you visit often. Unfortunately, it seems your link does not work, nor am I able to get to your site by typing in your address.

    Blessings.

  4. Stephen says:

    I’m almost offended by your straw-man.

    I don’t have a problem if someone wants to “serve God.” I don’t even believe religion is “restrictive” until it’s specifically favored by the constitutionally secular government. But does that mean I actively condone illegal drug use? Who exactly are these people you’re talking about?

  5. Pingback: No Smoking, Please « Shirley Buxton

Leave a Reply

