Knowing That Jesus is God

When do you suppose it was that Jesus knew He was God. Huh? What a question. One that I have no business asking, I suppose, for even as I begin chasing the thought, I know I am incapable of coming close to a definitive answer.

My mind causes me grief; it is just bright enough to cast about and snag a stimulating thought or two, but at the same time, is of such elfin proportions that the development and settling of the proposition often escapes me. I fear this question definitely will settle into the category of “impossible questions.” Yet I ask:

When did Jesus know He was God? Did He know as He lay in Bethlehem’s manger–or think about this–did He (the baby, the manchild) know in utero who He was? Was He born with the understanding, did it gradually come to Him, or was it a sudden revelation? My thoughts on this were stimulated by reading today from Alexander Whyte’s work Our Lord’s Characters. He writes thus:

“Being the first-born son in His mother’s house, it would fall to the Holy Child Jesus to perform the part laid down for the first-born son in the feast of unleavened bread. And thus it was that after Joseph had struck the lintel and the two doorposts with the blood that was in the basin, and after the whole family had hurriedly eaten such a portion of the pascal lamb, and a piece of the unleavened bread, at that appointed moment the eldest son of the house came forward and said, Father what mean you by this service? What mean you by the blood, and the unleavened bread, and the bitter herbs? And Joseph would say, It is the LORD’s passover, because He passed over the houses of the children of Israel in Egypt, when He smote the Egyptians and delivered our houses. And Joseph, and Mary, and Jesus, and James, and Joses, and Simon, and Judas, and their sisters, all bowed their heads and sang the Hundred and Thirteenth and the Hundred and Fourteenth Psalms. And once every year till the Holy Child came to the full stature of the Christ of God: every returning passover He entered deeper and deeper into this great ordinance, both hearing Joseph and asking him questions. Till He came to be of more understanding about the feast of unleavened bread than all His teachers: and understood both the blood, and the bread, and the bitter herbs, far better than all the ancients.”

As I read these words in the early-morning quiet of my motor home, I was struck by this scene. My mind and soul began boiling as I considered the question I earlier posed to you: When did Jesus know He was God?

It’s a difficult question, for understand this: Jesus was fully God, yet He was fully man.

As God, He would know He was God; as man (a tiny baby) He could not.

As man, Jesus grew hungry; as God He took little fishes and bread pieces into His hands, multiplied them, and fed thousands.

As man, He wearied; as God He rose from his sleeping place on the slamming boat, stepped up and ordered the elements of nature into peace and stillness. The lashing rain ceased, thunder rolled no more, lightening faded into the inky night, and stars struck their brilliant light.

As a man, Jesus wept; as God He said, “Lazarus, come forth!”

When, then, did Jesus know He was God?”

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Jesus, Mornings with God, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Knowing That Jesus is God

  1. helenl says:

    I love questions like this – ones to which we cannot know the answer but conjecture, we will – because these are the questions that serve to assure me that I am not God.

  2. Shirley says:

    Helen, quite agree on that one. I know FOR SURE, I in no way am God…don’t even approach such a place.

  3. zita bowley says:

    Since Jesus’s death people have made Jesus God.
    He did not come forf us to worship him but to follow his ways.

  4. Shirley says:

    Good afternoon, Zita. Welcome to God Things.

    Certainly, I agree with the last part of your final sentence: He wants us to follow His ways.

    He also wants us to worship Him, and He plainly said this before His death. Once when Jesus was entering a city, the people began praising him, “saying, Blessed be the King that cometh in the Name of the Lord: peace in heaven and glory in the highest.”

    The Pharisees did not like this praise and worship, and said to Jesus, Make them stop.

    Jesus’ response speaks to His desire to have people worship Him.
    “But Jesus answered, ‘I tell you this, if these become silent, the stones will cry out.”

    Zita, this story is found in Luke 19 around the 38th verse. Check it out.

    Hope you often visit my site.

  5. writeathome says:

    Yes, this is one of those questions to which we can’t give an answer. Maybe we could ask Jesus when we get to heaven, but I have a feeling we are going to be so awed being in the presence of the King of kings and Lord of lords that all the unaswered questions we had here on earth might just fade from our minds. Do you think so?

  6. Jana Allard says:

    What a great post! This is one of those thoughts that make my mind imagine the different moments in which He possibly became aware. It could almost be a fun book to write. Suppose He found out when…….

  7. John Shore says:

    What a great question! Impossibly enough, I actually make a living asking and writing about the exact same sorts of questions (I’ve written two Christian books and write/blog for Crosswalk.com and Christianity.com–and keep a sort of annex of that work at http://www.johnshore.wordpress.com, if you care to see any of that stuff), so I really appreciate it when I see others doing it so well. Nice! I look forward to reading more of your stuff!

  8. John Shore says:

    Oh, right. I didn’t have to put in my WordPress url. Duhr. Sorry.

  9. Shirley says:

    Carol, I’ve often thought about what we will do in Heaven. Will we think again of our questions…or will such trivial thoughts have passed away? Probably, the latter. Can you image the scene there? Can you think of personally talking to Jesus? What a truly wonderful time that will be.

  10. Shirley says:

    Jana, go for the writing! It would be an awesome book…right up there with Harry Potter! Whoops. 😦

  11. Shirley says:

    Hello, John. Welcome to God Things. Hope you read and comment here often.

    I’ve visited your delightful site.

    Blessings

Leave a Reply

