The Supernatural Edge of Preaching

During the preaching in yesterday’s service, I wrote this note to Michael, who sat beside me: “It never fails to amaze me how God directs a preacher’s sermon.”

Michael read the note, smiled, leaned over and spoke in my ear: “It’s supernatural.”

Indeed it is supernatural, and the sermon yesterday by Patrick Garrett was a profound demonstration of this phenomenon. Although I admit to limited insight into the human condition, and certainly lay no claim to exceptional spiritual discernment–it nevertheless seems impossible to me that this preacher could have more directly addressed the needs of our congregation.

Do you understand what I am saying? God–the One who created the heavens and the earth, the Creator of all life, He who buckled the ends of the earth together and Who fenced the edges of the seas–that One–from His infinite knowledge and incomparable love moved within the psyche and soul of Patrick Garrett and directed a sermon.

It is impossible. It is supernatural.

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, Faith, God, Jesus, Love of God, Preaching/Preachers, supernatural, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Supernatural Edge of Preaching

  1. How true are your words, and so eloquently put. I thrive off of the very fact that our men of God allow the Word to flow through them in such a precise manner. Thank you for this post. It is a wonderful reminder.

    I have enjoyed looking through both of your blogs. I enjoy writing very much and that is one reason why I started my blog. Although, right now it seems as though my blog has been a “diary” of sorts of the blessings I received from going to Morocco on a missions trip, I usually attempt to capture Him in the details of my life. And that is exactly what I love about both of your blogs. Thank you.

    Rochelle Ritzi

  2. Shirley says:

    Hello, Rochelle and welcome to my sites. Thank you for the compliments. I readily see that we are kindred spirits in that God is the center, the very core of our lives.

    Bless you. Hope you are here often.

  3. helenl says:

    “It never fails to amaze me how God directs a preacher’s sermon.”

    How many times have I thought this very thing? And yet, does God not supply our every need through a sermon or a poem or a newspaper article?

    I am not doubting that God “from His infinite knowledge and incomparable love moved within the psyche and soul of Patrick Garrett and directed a sermon.” I am saying that God uses people to send what is needed to whoever needs and will receive it. A sermon is “supernatural” only in that it uses the word of God, quoted or implied, or the principles contained therein.

    A sermon is a part of a worship service, and a pastor is a part of the body of Christ. God speaks in various ways through people. But memebers of a congreagation sit, quietly and respectfully (as they should), while the preacher speaks. Not all others get such a careful listening. If they did, we might be saying their words were “supernatural” also.

    My comment is not meant to argue with your post, just to put it in perspective.

  4. Shirley says:

    Helen, I agree that any of us can be used of God in that we minister to other people, and it’s a beautiful thing. I believe that such times are also supernatural. God is directing that conversation–speaking through His people. It’s other-worldy.

    I can’t get over such a phenomenon, for I believe it to be real. And to think we can be personally connected to such power and anointing is simply amazing.

  5. helenl says:

    We are on the same page here, Shirley.

  6. Shirley says:

    Hey, Helen. It feels good to be on the same page with you. 🙂

  7. helenl says:

    Join me any time, Shirley. 🙂

    I want “God’s will on earth as it is in heaven.” In other words, I want our Christianity to determine how we react to “the least of these.” I stand for the underdog and fight against racism, poverty, and violence. I want my actions toward others to matter more than when, where, and how I worship God. And worship I must. (no joke here)

  8. Holly Bren says:

    When this happens, it’s definitely a “God Thing”, and I feel so blessed to be married to this man of God!

  9. Shirley says:

    Hello Helen.

    Your last comment reminded me of a scripture. I could not remember exactly where it was located, but I looked it up, and will print it here.

    “By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.” John 13:35

    I surely agree with you that how we treat people–all people–of all races, creeds, conditions, colors, reveals ourselves.

  10. Shirley says:

    Dear Holly:

    Right you are to recognize that you are blessed to have Patrick for a husband. Equally blessed is Patrick who has you for a wife. You are a dynamic team…have been in the past…are now…but…for the future, I see and feel anointing, intensity and opportunity building. Go! …and God will be with you.

    Love,

    sjb

  11. Pingback: The Ultimate Connection « God Things

Leave a Reply

