Magnificence Created by Our God

“In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth…And God said, Let the waters bring forth abundantly the moving creature that hath life, and fowl that may fly above the earth in the open firmament of heaven…” The Genesis of all things. What an amazing God we serve.

Edit August 20, 2007  The original picture I posted here, seems to be no longer available. I’m replacing the stunning picture of the hummingbird with one of my pictures of a cactus blossom.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Animals, Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Genesis, God. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Magnificence Created by Our God

  1. kikikaria says:

    What a beautiful hummingbird photo! My husband Mike has created a hummingbird haven in our backyard. We have about 7 or 8 hummingbird feeds, and Mike has planted several types of flowers that attract those amazing birds. As a result, I guess, they frequent our yard quite often. We enjoy sitting out on our deck in the evenings and watching them soar to the skies and suddenly do a nosedive. It’s also fun to see them flitting from flower to flower to feeder. Occasionally, they have hovered for a few seconds not far from where we are sitting. I would love to capture them in a photo like this one. Thank you for sharing this.

    Karen, keep your camera handy, and post any spectacular pictures you take. I want to see them. sjbuxton

  2. writeathome says:

    That is a gorgeous photo and a great example of the handiwork of our wonderful Creator! I’m glad we can enjoy the beauty of His creation. Hope to see you at campmeeting. 🙂

    Carol, the more I look at that picture, the more I am in awe of not only the bird, but the skill (and patience, probably) of the photographer. All comes from God, doesn’t it? His handiwork, including any talents and abilities he gives to people are dear and precious to me…and to you, I feel sure.

  3. It’s not that I forget, yet I need to be reminded, that God is the Creator of ALL things. Nothing exists, nothing happens, unless He lets it. What a beautiful reminder that He is in control. All beautiful things, and (not so beautiful), have a purpose. He is an awesome God indeed!

    Good morning, Rochelle, and yes, it’s great that we can help each other by bringing to mind the incredible God we serve. A marvel, indeed. Maya your day be blessed. sjbuxton

  4. Ionatan says:

    I’m a Romanian Christian writer, a poet of Crist. I have a little In English section of Christian poetry on my blog:
    http://ionatan.wordpress.com/tag/in-english/
    Do you want te see it? Thank you and God bless you.

  5. Shirley says:

    Welcome Ionatan to my blog. Thank you for being here.

    I have visited your site and enjoyed it tremendously. Hope you return here often.

  6. elmantheman says:

    May I just correct you… heaven should be “heavens”

    …In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth…

    There is a so called third heaven.

    I hope that it is but proper to instill in the minds of every Chrisitians that every word even periods and commas are important in understanding the Word of Truth.

    Thanks for your advice, but you will thank God for this:

    Please visit http://www.esoriano.wordpress.com

  7. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Elman.

    Yes, I agree that we must be careful about the Word of God. I certainly am not above making a mistake, but on checking my Bible–the highly respected King James Version–I find Genesis 1:1 to read: In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.” There is no plural to the word heaven in this verse.

    God bless you.

    shirley

  8. elmantheman says:

    Just try to visit free online bible translations in it’s old and correct greek or hebrew translation.

    Haven’t you noticed the difference when you have mentioned of Genesis 1:1 from your previous post entitled, “The Supernatural Edge of Preaching,” and may I wit the part:

    “…Do you understand what I am saying? God–the One who created the heavens and the earth, the Creator of all life, He who buckled the ends of the earth together and Who fenced the edges of the seas…”

  9. Shirley says:

    Elman: There are numerous places in the Bible–even the King James version– that refers to the heavens, and of course, that is common nomenclature in the English language. I have never heard of any contention concerning the word. I often, I believe correctly, use the term heavens, and you quite accurately quoted me when once I did so.

    Previously, though, I responded to your post in which you corrected my quoting Genesis 1:1 thusly: “In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.” That was not a misquote, as I have indicated.

    Respectfully, I’m not sure as to the nature of your contention, but I’m willing to listen.

  10. elmantheman says:

    There is the so called third heavens as written by Saint Paul.

    2 Corinthians 12:2
    I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know—God knows.

    If there is a third heaven, it is logical that there are more than one heaven. This was part of the creation. You can read it in a hebrew translation, much older than the king james version.

    Deuteronomy 10:14
    Behold, the heaven and the heaven of heavens is the LORD’s thy God, the earth also, with all that therein is.

    1 Kings 8:27
    But will God indeed dwell on the earth? behold, the heaven and heaven of heavens cannot contain thee; how much less this house that I have builded?

  11. Shirley says:

    Again, I am not contending that the Bible does not contain references to the third heaven, nor I am denying the use of the word heavens in the Bible, nor am I denying any of God’s creative power, nor attempting to change what He did during the days of creation.

    I merely responded to your saying I had misquoted Genesis 1:1.

    I wish you a blessed and joyous day.

  12. Shirley says:

    Elman, I’m curious: are you a Greek and Hebrew scholar?

  13. elmantheman says:

    Before I answer you, may I ask, would it matter if you are a scholar of the greek and hebrew when the Spirit of God is in you?

    Would it matter if a preacher and a student are all scholar in the eyes of God?

    We have a presiding minister in the Church of God where we are all members, may I invite you to visit his wordpress blog, if you do not mind?

    Here it is:

    http://www.esoriano.wordpress.com

  14. Shirley says:

    Good morning.

    Of course, you’re right, Elman in alluding to the fact that the Spirit of God is more important than whether or not we are scholars of languages.

    I only asked that question because you had pointed out that my quoting of a verse in the King James version was wrong, and you recommended that I study Greek and Hebrew: “Just try to visit free online bible translations in it’s old and correct greek or hebrew translation.”

    Bless you

  15. Amanda says:

    I would like to interject, if I may/ when we start focusing on legalistic or religious differences it takes our focus off the Lord our God and side tracks us to avenues less desireable. Elman, your knowledge is respected, however ,your challenging manner is unquestionably argumentive which comes from the force ruling this world not the world we belong to. God speed his healing to you on this matter.
    Respectfully in CHrist
    Amanda

  16. Shirley says:

    Thank you Amanda. Although I believe it is important that we understand the doctrines of the Bible, we truly must stay focused on Jesus.

    It is especially important that we do not focus on one person and the teachings of that man. That stance can be devastating.

    Bless you today.

  17. Amanda says:

    I truly believe we need to focus on our relationship with God. We need to recognize His small voice. We need to be obedient. We need to trust in the Lord and in His truths.
    We need to cling to Him and only Him in these days. As the enemy is hard at work trying to destroy Gods Bride, through a great force of deception and lies.
    Anyone reading this: I ask of you to seek Him and He will direct you. To Elman seek Him for the truth in the matter. If you feel it is important to you. But stay focused our your relationship with God, He is there with the truth for you.
    Sincere Blessings today
    Amanda
    Shirley, thank you for this web page … I am not sure how I ran across this. But here I am !!!

  18. elmantheman says:

    Please allow me to answer Amanda, Shirley.

    She stated her beliefs, and that does not necessarily mean that it’s the truth.

    How can you focus relationship with God when His words altogether, for man’s salvation, were written in the Holy Scriptures but you do not know how to read it? She is so careless to point out her beliefs. But the question is when, how to start having a relationship with God.

    In Revelations 1:3 which says:

    Blessed is he that readeth, and they that hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written therein: for the time is at hand.

    The truth is in the bible, and if you do not know how to read it with the help of the Holy Spirit, then your belief is in vain.

  19. elmantheman says:

    COL 2:8 Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.

  20. Shirley says:

    Hello, Elman. Good to hear from you again.

    I suspect you’re a very serious and sincere young man, Elman, and I really do admire that in you. I trust that you will continue to search the Word of God and continue in your quest for truth.

    Of course I can’t speak for Amanda, but I don’t think she was saying that we should ignore the Word of God. If she meant that, I agree with you–that would be wrong. But I don’t believe that was what she was thinking. Consider the words Paul wrote to the Corinthian church: II Corinthians 3:6 “Who also hath made us able ministers of the new testament; not of the letter, but of the spirit: for the letter killeth, but the spirit giveth life.”

    I’m praying for you that God will continue to lead you in His way.

    Shirley

  21. Amanda says:

    Elman, you have misinterpretted me. I am in Gods Word every day basking and washing myself in His Glory and Truth. I simply meant that we want to be careful to listen to His guidance , the Holy Spirit in us,which is in His word.Thank you Shirley for the scripture above it states what I meant to the letter.2nd Cor 3:6
    I find myself in defense, which is not where God would have me. So I wash myself clean of this issue. The blood is no longer on my hands. It is not a mere” belief” in argument with your belief, what I speak is scriptural. Amen
    I do not wish you to respond to me any longer I find it distracting. I started this and am now finishing this.
    Respectfully Amanda

    God Bless

  22. elmantheman says:

    Amanda’s claim and philosophy is preceded by a number while my answer is by a dash sign:

    1. “I would like to interject, if I may/ when we start focusing on legalistic or religious differences it takes our focus off the Lord our God and side tracks us to avenues less desireable.”

    – Amanda, where in the bible can you find your claim and philosophy above?
    Let me just remind you Amanda that first, anything you say should have a basis not just coming from your own idea but what the verse implies: COL 2:8 Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ. Based on 2 Peter 1: 20, Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation. 21For the prophecy came not in old time by the will of man: but holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost. Let us ask the apostle what they are talking about, look on the other verses within the bible itself, not from your own understanding.
    Are you doing philosophy based on your own idea or not? I am a reader of the holy scripture the reason why I know how to give the verse and it’s proper context.

    2. “Elman, your knowledge is respected, however, your challenging manner is unquestionably argumentive which comes from the force ruling this world not the world we belong to. God speed his healing to you on this matter.”

    – I suggest you test what I am saying if really the force that drives me comes from what you claim. This is my answer:1 John 4:1 Beloved, believe not every spirit, but try the spirits whether they are of God: because many false prophets are gone out into the world.
    Aren’t we commanded to try the spirits and compare what they are saying to find out who’s telling the truth. Of course, the bible is our reference to the truth.

    Eclessiastes 7:27 Behold, this have I found, saith the preacher, counting one by one, to find out the account: 29Lo, this only have I found, that God hath made man upright; but they have sought out many inventions.

    Thus if you have no knowledge of the word, then it is you who is wanting in knowledge. And Christians only argue or debate with people who pretends that they are working for salvation but its just in vain for all of it were done in hypocrisy. That is one of the qualities of those hypocrites who are afraid to work what is needed for a Christian but instead they do what they see is fit and right not knowing that the bible says otherwise.

    Isaiah 1:18-20 Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool. 19If ye be willing and obedient, ye shall eat the good of the land: 20But if ye refuse and rebel, ye shall be devoured with the sword: for the mouth of the LORD hath spoken it.

    Lastly Amanda, I have not misinterpreted you. Your own statements prove that you have your own idea of what the bible says. It is your invention.

    Isaiah 34:16 Seek ye out of the book of the LORD, and read: no one of these shall fail, none shall want her mate: for my mouth it hath commanded, and his spirit it hath gathered them.

  23. elmantheman says:

    Romans 10:

    2For I can testify about them that they are zealous for God, but their zeal is not based on knowledge.
    3Since they did not know the righteousness that comes from God and sought to establish their own, they did not submit to God’s righteousness.

    Test your belief if it’s biblical or just a product of your own righteousness. Because if it is just your righteousness, your faith would just be in vain.

    The letter killeth as man boast of what he follows, specifically the law of moses. But then again there is the new law, the law of faith in Christ Jesus. If there’s a new law, then there are commandments that we should follow, and we cannot follow these laws without Christ. Christ would not be working with us, the reason why we can follow the commandment and we cannot boast about it anymore. When you pray, shut the window. When you give alms and fast, do not let anyone know about it. Seek the kingdom of God.

    Rev 1:3 3Blessed is he that readeth, and they that hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written therein: for the time is at hand.

    It is not just reading “and or” hearing “and or” keeping those things that is written, but it doing it all.

    When it was stated that women should not cut nor shave her hair but let nature teach us that women should have long hair. Are you following it. Or you are just taking a part of the bible and ignoring those others that you find difficult or you feel annoyed to following. 1 Corinthians 11:15

  24. elmantheman says:

    Romans 10:

    2For I can testify about them that they are zealous for God, but their zeal is not based on knowledge.
    3Since they did not know the righteousness that comes from God and sought to establish their own, they did not submit to God’s righteousness.

    Test your belief/s if it’s biblical or just a product of your own righteousness. Because if it is just your righteousness, your faith would just be in vain.

    The letter killeth as man boasts of what he follows, specifically the law of moses. But then again there is the new law, the law of faith in Christ Jesus. If there’s a new law, then there are commandments that we should follow, and we cannot follow these laws without Christ. Christ would be working with us, the reason why we can follow the commandment and we cannot boast about it anymore. When you pray, shut the window. When you give alms and fast, do not let anyone know about it. Seek the kingdom of God.

    Rev 1:3 3Blessed is he that readeth, and they that hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written therein: for the time is at hand.

    It is not just reading “and or” hearing “and or” keeping those things which are written, but it doing it all, specifically, the written things commanded to Christians.

    When it was stated that women should not cut nor shave her hair but let nature teach us that women should have long hair. Are you following it? Or you are just taking a part of the bible and ignoring those others that you find difficult or you feel annoyed to following? 1 Corinthians 11:15

  25. Shirley says:

    Good evening, Elman.

    We all need God and certainly we need to fully understand His Word.

    Blessings to you.

  26. elmantheman says:

    That’s how we usually say it, “We all need God and certainly we need to fully understand His Word.” Notice the word “we” “need” and “fully understand.” What does these words and phrase means to you?

    Let’s stop beating the bushes and find out the real score, the true “how’s.”

    Maybe we can start reading, here’s some

    http://www.esoriano.wordpress.com

    Don’t forget to open your bible and weigh things out, as it should be weighed.

    May the “real blessing” be showered upon you in times of searching of the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

  27. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Elman.

    By saying, “We all need God and certainly we need to fully understand His Word,” I mean exactly that. At least for myself, I continually search His Word and ask that I “fully understand” what I read. I certainly meant no offense by using the word “we” in that statement.

    I’ve never met anyone who claimed to have such a full understanding of God, of His Word, and of His ways, that they didn’t need to keep reading, praying and searching.

    Help me understand what you mean by “Let’s stop beating the bushes and find out the real score, the true “how’s.”

    Blessings to you. Thank you for your concern and prayers. I need all I can get.

  28. elmantheman says:

    Well, reading the bible is one of the commandments and they are called blessed.

    But it doesn’t stop there. As we need to keep on reading, we also need to hear the words and keep those things which are written in the bible.

    Revelation 1:3 Blessed is he that readeth, and they that hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written therein: for the time is at hand.

    I am just worried when people begin their sentences like yours: “We all need God and certainly we need to fully understand His Word.” But then again, it is all lip service.

    Well, it matters when you practice what you preach. More importantly, preach what is written in the bible not from baseless ideas. This that not necessarily pointing at you but to those who does it.

  29. elmantheman says:

    Let me just answer when you said ‘Consider the words Paul wrote to the Corinthian church: II Corinthians 3:6 “Who also hath made us able ministers of the new testament; not of the letter, but of the spirit: for the letter killeth, but the spirit giveth life.”’

    You are out of context. May I just remind you that St Paul was having a comparison between the 10 commandments and the new testament! Of course how can you read the New testament without letters?

    Thus, knowing the gospel of Christ will lead you to the gospel of his Father. There are things to learn about Jesus Christ’s teaching which he received from the Father.

    Now, may I ask, do you know Bro Eli Soriano? He will soon have a tv show in Canada, ask Bro Eli and the bible shall answer, if God allows.

    From this moment, you can visit his blog and I hope you can
    take sometime to read on what things that Jesus Christ meant in His gospel. And the Jesus Christ that you never knew.

    http://www.esoriano.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

