The Glory of a Trained Child

“Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

He is ten years old and has been taught the ways of God since his birth. He is from a single parent home, and although his father faithfully supports him and is quite involved with him, it is his mother who has been the dominant force in his life.

He stood beside me as the minister made the necessary plea for a camp expense offering last night. From the edge of my eye, I watched, as from his trouser pocket, he removed his nylon wallet. We were near the front of the tent, and as the offering pan came closer to him, I saw Nathaniel fingering his money, as though trying to settle the issue.

Mind made up, Nathaniel drew four dollar bills out, and as the container passed, he dropped them in. He never knew I watched.

I’ve been with him for several days now and I knew that his spending money for camp consisted of $20.00. He had given 20 per cent of that during camp’s first night offering.

Train up a child…

______________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Children, Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Conferences, Devotionals, Family, parenting, Pentecostal, Proverbs, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Glory of a Trained Child

  1. Gene Holley says:

    This is so incredible. There is something about a pure, innocent giver that moves me. We have had several times that our 12 year old has pulled money out of his wallet to give to our new home missions church. I didn’t know about it until we were posting the offering into our computer! I first thought, “Wait a minute, he doesn’t need to do that (because he doesn’t get a regular allowance). But then remembered that it was HIS offering, not mine. It was such a moving moment. Thanks for sharing your experience.

  2. Jana Allard says:

    And he is such a nice, young gentleman, too. I wonder how much he is going to be blessed while at camp?

  3. Shirley says:

    Gene and Jana, he will surely be blessed. Know what? He’s already blessed–just by having the opportunity to be in such a place as this!

  4. gracemark says:

    My daughter is four. Her notable understanding and acceptance of God as REAL is inspiring to me. Your post gives me hope that there is more to come as she grows older. Thanks!

  5. Shirley says:

    Dear Gracemark:

    What responsibility, but what joy, comes from the rearing of children–especially when, as Christians, we endeavor to lead them in God’s way.

    It’s different being a grandparent (and a great-grandparent), but in many ways it’s even better than being a parent. The time I have with the children is less restrictive than it was with my own children, for I don’t have the day-to-day responsibilities that a parent has. It’s nifty. 🙂

    My prayers are with you and your young daughter.

Leave a Reply

