Incredibly Led by God

“For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God.” Romans 8:14

She was ready first, and now rushed to the bathroom to tell him. “I’m going on to Wal-mart. I’ll meet you there.”

Bob stared at his wife as she rushed out. What was going on? They had planned to go together and he had almost finished dressing, and surely she could have waited a few minutes. He couldn’t recall her ever doing anything like this–definitely out of character.

Outside, Dwylene revved up the car, raced down the street and pulled into the Wal-mart lot. She parked the car, grabbed her purse and rushed through the central doors. Just inside the entrance, she stopped. What was she doing? Why had she rushed from the house, leaving Bob behind? She stood a minute to catch her breath, then selected a cart and began to move through the store.

She probably would have passed right by the lady, but the lady stopped her, and making a desperate gasping noise, said, “Are you a Christian?” (and then went on to inquire if she were of a particular denomination.)

“Why yes,” Dwylene said.

The two women stood in the middle of Wal-mart as the lady poured out her story, telling of spending time overseas, of wandering away from God, and of now realizing how much she needed Him. She began crying. “I’ve been away from God so long, and I want to get my life right.” But she balked when Dwylene asked for her name and telephone number so she could stay in touch with her.

“No, not now. I don’t want to do that.”

“Well, here, let me give you a church card so that you can call us.”

“No,” the lady retreated. “No, not now.”

Dwylene, feeling desperate, said, “Please give me your telephone number. Please.”

The woman continued to hesitate, but Dwylene pressed her. “Give me your telephone number, and I commit that I will pray for you. I will never call you unless I definitely feel impressed by God to do so. Promise.”

Finally the lady wrote her telephone number on a scrap of paper and handed it to Dwylene.

At home, Dwylene stuck the paper on her refrigerator, and from time to time as she passed by she prayed for the unknown lady. Sometimes she reached up and placed her hand on the paper as she prayed.

Months passed. One morning, Dwylene felt a definite impression to call the lady. She was busy in the kitchen and prayed a silent prayer. “God help me not to ignore this feeling. Help me to do the right thing. Let me definitely know whether or not I should call her.”

Her kitchen chores finished, Dwylene lifted the telephone receiver and dialed the number. The phone rang…and rang again…until finally someone picked up on the other end. Wailing and howling was all that Dwylene could hear, and finally she spoke over the noise, calling the lady’s name. “What’s wrong? Tell me. What is happening?”

After a long period, Dwylene was able to calm the lady so she could speak. “What is wrong? Please tell me.”

The lady replied. “When the phone rang just now, I stood with a pistol to my head, ready to shoot out my brains. I couldn’t seem to pull the trigger, though, and I prayed, ‘God if this is not right, let me be interrupted somehow.’ And at that moment, the telephone rang.”

The lady subsequently went to Dwylene’s church, found her way back to God, and now these years later continues to serve Him. She has moved from the Tucson area where Bob and Dwylene live, but calls from time to time to stay in touch with them.

Dwylene told me this astounding story a few weeks ago as we visited in their home. “I’ve never had anything else like that happen to me.” We stared at each other as she finished speaking of this incredible incident.

To be led by God…what a place, what a goal, what a supernatural journey. It’s a boulevard I long to tread.

__________________________________________________________________________________
My other blog is here.

Powered by ScribeFire.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian Boldness, Christianity, Devotionals, Fallen Man, God, Holy Ghost, Love of God, Passion, Prayer, Romans, supernatural. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Incredibly Led by God

  1. God Things,

    That was an incredible story that touches my heart. I’ve been on both sides of those stories: the narrator, and then the receiver. Its an awesome and powerful testimony to the Greatness of the Lord, and how something that seems so simple can really make a major impact in someone elses life. And I’ve seen, thru your stories and similar accounts, that these “leadings” do not ask much of you, (as I once feared) and glorify Him all the better….

    If you dont mind, I would like to cross link your story on my blog because I’ve posted something similar that happened to me on Friday morning. Would that be ok?

    Tata…..

  2. Wow. What an incredible story. We really do serve a God who know where we are, and uses ordinary people filled with His spirit to remind us of that. We are truly His hands and feet.

  3. Shirley says:

    Good afternoon, “Abiding” and Rochelle. Certainly it is okay to use this story in any way that will uplift Jesus.

Leave a Reply

