A Song of the Desert

 

Catalina, AZ, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

When I saw this scene from where I sat, I shouted, “Please stop the car. I want to take a picture.” Obliging me, Bob Allen pulled to the curb. I stepped out and snapped this shot. The mountains, strung in a narrow chain near Tucson, Arizona are called The Catalinas. As you can see, it is a stunningly beautiful place.

For from the mouth of God had issued the summons, Bring forth.

“Give unto the LORD the glory due unto his name: bring an offering, and come before him; worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness. Fear before him, all the earth: the world also shall be stable, that it be not moved.

Let the heavens be glad, and let the earth rejoice: and let men say among the nations, The LORD reigneth.

Let the sea roar, and the fulness thereof: let the fields rejoice, and all that is therein.

Then shall the trees of the wood sing out at the presence of the LORD…” I Chronicles 16: 29-33

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Creation, Devotionals, Genesis, God, Word of God, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Song of the Desert

  1. helenl says:

    How can anyone see this beauty and believe not in heaven?

  2. Shirley says:

    Hard to figure. Rather splendid down here.

  3. Linda says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! All the beauty around us makes me realize once again how much God loves us. He created all this beauty for us to enjoy. I guess you could say it’s just “a little heaven on earth”. I have a question: Did you take a photography class? I’ve admired your photography a lot. You have some of the most gorgeous pictures! Thank you for sharing them with us.

  4. Shirley says:

    Hi Linda. Thanks for the compliments on my pictures.

    No, I haven’t taken any photography classes–oh yes I did too. In the 5th grade, we actually made a simple box camera and took pictures with it. I had forgotten all about that until I started typing here. But no, I haven’t taken classes since then, but because it interests me so much, I have read quite a bit. I do love taking pictures.

    I just went over and spent a fair amount of time at your site looking at all your pictures. They’re great…especially since many of them were people I know.

    Love you.

  5. writeathome says:

    Stunning photo, Sister Buxton! You do seem to have a knack for taking great pictures.

  6. Shirley says:

    Hi, Carol, and thank you. Anyone would have snapped a similar picture there. It was a brilliant and rare day.

Leave a Reply

