Sweet Scent of Friendship

“Ointment and perfume rejoice the heart; so doth the sweetness of a man’s friend by hearty counsel. Thine own friend, and thy father’s friend, forsake not…” Proverbs 27:8-9

Berl and Lavelta Stevenson weren’t here when we arrived at the RV park in Durango, but several hours later they came in from a four-wheeling trip, saw us parked beside them, banged on our door, and when we answered, into our motor home came our very dear friends. We hugged and slapped hands and talked at length, and then they had to leave for they had made dinner arrangements with other friends here in the park.

A few hours later, Berl called on Jerry’s cell phone. “You guys come over. We want to show you the pictures we took today.” We went to their place, looked at the pictures and stayed for hours. We talked of travel, of God, of doctrine, of motor homes, of challenges within the church, of generational blessings and anointing, of pictures, of videos, of four-wheeling, of our children…We drank coffee and hot tea and gulped hefty drafts of warm affection for these two people who are as our family . We alluded to issues of sadness, laughed and recalled old stories. Finally, not too far from midnight, we said “good-night.”

I was tidying in the kitchen when I recalled that Berl had said he needed a glass of milk from us–guess he was running short. I mentioned it to Jerry. “Berl wants a glass of milk.”

Jerry, who was partially undressed, began putting on his shoes. “I’ll take it to him.” Jerry walked out our door, down the steps and into the dark, carrying to his friend a tall glass of milk.

I tell you there is no substitute for friends, and when we are blessed to have such godly people who love us, and whom we equally love, there is little in this world that surpasses such a relationship. Yesterday, Rochelle wrote a moving piece about special friends of hers. Please go over and read it.

I hope you have such friends. If you do, treasure them. Send them a note today or punch their number into your phone, or ship them a box of candy or hop into your car and dash to their house. If you’re not so blessed, resolve that you will find someone with whom you can establish such a blessed and Godly relationship. Work on the friendship, cultivate it, spend time and effort there. It will be worth it. Promise! (After I wrote that last line, it occurred to me that at times close friendships dissolve, and actual pain may result. How then can I promise the development of a friendship to be worth the effort? I stand behind my statement, for though there may arise pain, the joy and nurturing that comes from the kind of friendship to which I refer, is worth a time of pain that may result.)

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Church Trouble, Comfort, Devotionals, Family, Friendship, Love, Love of God, Preaching/Preachers, Proverbs, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sweet Scent of Friendship

  1. dean says:

    What a wonderful post!! Thank you!

  2. Shirley says:

    Good evening, Dean.

    I believe as we grow older, Dean, we appreciate more and more our friends. Given your great personality and caring ways, I suspect you are surrounded by numerous friends. Count me in, please.

  3. There is a special blessing and safety in the comfort of good friends that can only come from God. And the older, or shall I say wiser, I get, the more I appreciate the friendships He has placed into my life.

  4. titus2woman says:

    I am very blessed with good friends, and this post was BEAUTIFUL! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  5. Shirley says:

    Hugs back to you, Sandi, and to you, Rochelle. I’m counting both of you “blogging friends.” 🙂

  6. Cathy says:

    My father is in a nursing home in another state. Though we visit him every Sunday, it is always nice to hear that he gets visitors during the week. I just received a phone call from my Christian friends (three of them) who live near my father. they visited this afternoon, sang, prayed, and i believe read the word with him. he had a brain bleed last april, a month after my mother died, and he’s been inconsolable since. It left him unable to walk. it is wonderful to have Christian friends who visit my father as if he were their own. God is so good!

  7. Tom Contino says:

    Mom & I saw the photos from your Durango trip of these “godly friends” to whom you refer. They look like wonderful people. Good post and good scriptural verse.

  8. Mark Pryor says:

    Great post. Glad you all are having a great time in Durango.

Leave a Reply

