Whitelisting

White rose, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

I can’t recall which picture it was, but once when I copied someone’s fabulous picture and made a link to their site, the photographer was kind enough to email me, and to thank me for posting the picture and for providing the link. He had received so many hits, though, that it was causing a problem, and for awhile he had to block that picture. “I’m whitelisting you, though,” he told me.

Because of the context, I conjured a general idea of his meaning, but because I had not previously heard the word used, I didn’t know for sure. Looked it up, and am printing the definition I found on my nifty Apple dictionary.

whitelisting | | noun Computing the use of antispam filtering software to allow only specified e-mail addresses to get through. ORIGIN on the pattern of blacklisting.

A wonderful word, I decided, especially when thinking of God and communication with His people. Do I ever want to be whitelisted with Jesus! Do I ever want to be able to talk with Him at the very moment I need Him, or when I’m just lonesome for His Voice or for His reassurance that everything’s okay, or when I just need a little jolt of faith! Do I ever want to be whitelisted when I’m sick or my baby is fevered, or an accident threatens, or the money runs out, but there’s still lots of month left. Do I ever want to be whitelisted to tell Him of my joy and of my good life, and of my praise and honor for Him–my Master–without whom I would be desolate and empty.

Whitelist me, Jesus. We can’t stop talking!

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Devotionals, Family, Friendship, God, Jesus, Love of God, Prayer, supernatural, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Whitelisting

  1. Tom Contino says:

    Mom & I just put you on our White List! HA! Mom thanks you for the nice wishes for her birthday.

Leave a Reply

