Rain!

Rain!, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

A few drops came down throughout the day, but in the evening the rain set in earnest. Recall now, I’m living in the arrid land of Lake Havasu City, AZ. which is one of the hottest places in the United States. The total annual rainfall here is less than 4 inches, so we’re not talking of downpours, although a few such demonstrations are seen here throughout the year. These weather conditions are referred to as Monsoons, and sad to say, when a really big one came through a couple of months ago, Jerry and I were not here. Sad, I say, for I love rain.

So yesterday, when a steady soft rain began and continued, I was in ecstasy. The temperature has drastically fallen, and as I sat at the table beside an open window for many hours last evening and heard the sound of rain dropping onto our RV awning, it was sheer pleasure. The rain continued, and when I would awake during the night hours, I could hear the soothing sound. Around 5:00 this morning I arose and heard the rain as it continued its gentle beat. Now, when I look out the windows and across the highway to the far mountains, I see leaden skies and heavy clouds. It’s beautiful.

Listen to the elegant words of Job as he writes in chapter 5, verses 8-10.

“I would seek unto God, and unto God would I commit my cause: which doeth great things and unsearchable; marvellous things without number:

Who giveth rain upon the earth, and sendeth waters upon the fields:”

Oh, rain.

Natural, cool drops without which–even in dry desert climes–growth cannot occur.

Spiritual, a cool washing of the soul, a slaking of Godly thirst.

______________________________________________________
My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Job, Love of God, religion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rain!

  1. Tena says:

    I, too, love the rain, Sis. Buxton, but…
    this morning, until around noon, I’d like for it to stop. Yes, it’s raining here, too.
    We are in the midst of a Bible Study Seminar with Bro. Shawn Dunahoe and today we are going out to get Bible Studies.
    So…please say a prayer that it will not rain from 10-12. Thank you. God has answered this prayer in the past; when we were planning a neighborhood give-away. I know He’ll do it again. Enjoy your rain. πŸ™‚ Love you.

  2. Shirley says:

    Tena, okay, I’m doing it, but I must confess I don’t have a lot of faith in my praying against your rain. πŸ™‚ Let me know how your function turns out.

  3. Tena says:

    THANKS! It stopped raining in Hollister! We went out after the seminar and the sun shown upon us! We ministered to some people and it felt sooooo good! πŸ˜€ God is GREAT!

    Have you been to one of Bro. Dunahoe’s Bible Study Seminars? Wow! I am so excited! He has given us the “tools” so that anytime we want to teach a Bible Study, we can get one, easily, in about an hour. Teaching Bible Studies is one of the best ways to win a soul to God.

    Thank You, Lord for stopping the rain; now You can let it fall; I’m in my cozy home. πŸ™‚

  4. Tena says:

    Here’s Bro. Shawn Dunahoe’s website: http://www.anointed2serve.com/

  5. arm5 says:

    Sis Buxton. I love the rain also Matter of a fact I love to go for a walk in the rain.

Leave a Reply

