Oh, Sweet Wonder

 

 

Taken in (See more photos here)j

Eyes of Ethan, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

They range in age from 6 months to 4 years, and during the past week they and their parents, Joel and Aisha, have been parked here at DJs, their rig mere yards from ours. I’ve spent lots of time with them, and have closely observed these great-grandchildren–three beautiful boys. Totally oblivious to their role as master teachers, the boys with their wide eyes and incredible sense of wonder, have nudged into a little soul-spot I may have too long neglected–the place of Wonder.

See it depicted on Ethan’s face here. Their world is new and unexplored, and with fascination and downright awe, they gulp in the newness, the grandeur and the glory. They’ve splashed in our patio fountain, and with tin cups and plastic scoops finagled a full catch of cool water. With tipped bottles they learned to refill the reservoir, so that water would continue its flow. They found that ceramic ducks break when dropped to pavers, that smooth stones clunk just right when tossed in cups, and that when the cord is unplugged, the fountain water stops flowing.

They’ve sat for hours in shallow lake water, digging in the gravel and in the sand, until diapers were sagging.

On Pappy’s lap, they sat two-deep and silently listened to stories, their black eyes glittering, and ate oatmeal across the table from Pappy because that’s what Pappy does, and they spent the night in a sleeping bag on our RV living room floor and ate tacos with their cousins and aunts and uncles. It’s all a Wonder to them.

In the comment section of my other blog, a few minutes ago, I spoke in response to a question of my Christian heritage, saying that my father was a minister, my husband is, as also are two of my sons, and one of my grandsons. What Wonder has been in my life. With what Glory and Majesty have I been surrounded. With what Splendid Spirituality have I been inculcated.

Oh, the wonder of it all. Think about it. Jesus loved me before I was ever born, saw my need of a Savior, came to earth as Bethlehem’s baby, lived as a Man, died on Calvary, rose again, and ascended into Heaven. What a Wonder. What miraculous mercy. Let me never lose my awe at such a happening. Let such Grand Scheme linger…and may I never lose my Wonder.

An old song sings thus:

“Oh, sweet Wonder,

Oh, sweet Wonder,

Jesus, the Son of God.

Have you ever seen Him or shared in His glory?

Jesus, the Son of God.”

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. 

 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Children, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Jesus, Love of God, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, Sweet Wonder

  1. kikikaria says:

    I love that song you quoted in this post. I remember in my early years in Pentecost, our choir sang that song. I fell in love with that song right then and there. Perhaps it’s the subject of the song that draws me (Jesus). I never want to lose the wonder of Jesus and who He is. There is a new song we learned last year that we sing at church called “You’re the Wonder of It All”. Here is the chorus:

    I bow down
    Adore Your Name
    Cry out Worthy, Worthy.
    You are God
    There is none beside thee.
    I have been captured
    I have been captured
    You’re the wonder of it all.

  2. Shirley says:

    Thank you, Karen. How marvelous to be captured by the wonder.

  3. Ken Van Loon says:

    I love the memory of the song you quoted “OH Sweet Wonder”. Do you know where I can find the music for that old gospel spiritual?
    I know there are some modern versions out there, but I would like the old version, that I remember hearing my Grandma lead us in so many years ago.

    Thanks

    Ken

Leave a Reply

