The Ultimate Connection

On Friday, white MacBook in hand, I opened our RV door, went down the steps, opened said computer and turned this way…Nope…turned that way…Nope…walked forward a few steps…Nope…to the back of our space…Nope…to the front…Nope. No matter which way I turned, or in what direction I moved–no signal came to my computer.

Reminds me of someone in the Bible:

23Then Job answered and said, 2 Even to day is my complaint bitter: my stroke [1] is heavier than my groaning. 3 Oh that I knew where I might find him! that I might come even to his seat! 4 I would order my cause before him, and fill my mouth with arguments. 5 I would know the words which he would answer me, and understand what he would say unto me. 6 Will he plead against me with his great power? No; but he would put strength in me. 7 There the righteous might dispute with him; so should I be delivered for ever from my judge.

8 Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him: 9 On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him: 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold. 11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined. 12 Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed [2] the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

Those who follow my writing know Jerry and I am temporarily living in our motor home in an RV park in Lake Havasu City, AZ. Our landline, modem and desk top computer are hundreds of miles away in our home in Crestline, Ca., so now we use a wireless internet service that is routed from the office at DJs. Around one hundred rigs reside here, we’re down in a bit of valley, and across the highway is the sheriff’s station that boasts a high and powerful antenna. All this metal in and about us and the heavy sheriff’s antenna makes for lots of interference and spotty internet service for everyone here in the park. Patrick was over a few weeks ago and installed several tall repeaters and that has helped tremendously, but it’s still not perfect. (as though anything–especially concerning computers–could be perfect.) I’m one of the lucky ones here in the park, for usually I can work on my computer in my motorhome…others in the park can’t…still have to go into the rec room and connect to the DSL cable.

Anyway, on Friday, I had been busy writing something, when I got kicked off the web and could not reconnect. Finally, after casting about the park with my open computer, searching here and there for a signal, I went into the office.

“Is the service down in here, Maggie?”

“Well, I don’t know. Let me check.” She began looking under the desk at the snaking wires and flashing (or non-flashing) lights that resided there, sweetly muttering as she did so, “Now, you know I’m not much of a technician. I’ll unplug and replug everything. If that doesn’t work, we’ll have to call in for repairs…let’s see here.”

Sure enough, the service was down from the source, and sure enough merely unplugging and replugging caught the signal. I tested my Mac as I stood there, smiled at its positive signs, patted its little head, and walked back to my rig where I continued with my project.

The nature of my activities demands a connection to the internet, and mighty frustration sets in around here when such connection is interrupted. Let me tell you, though, that my connection to Jesus is much more important than my connection to the www…and so is yours…and we’d better not forget it. A downed communication pole or a bit of dust in a connection point can halt me in my tracks as far as my internet work is concerned. Drives me batty, I confess.

And I’m as Job when I’m trying to link up with Jesus…I cast about and look for Him and search for Him…and really He’s there all along…sometimes testing my determination for connection, I believe…sometimes distancing Himself…to try me. Sometimes…as close as the mention of His Name…easily touched…easily braced and entwined. Let me stay connected today…whatever it takes…however long I must cast about and reach for joining. Let my attachment be always with the everlasting, never failing source–Jesus Christ, my Saviour.

I love this little guy from Instructables ….love Jesus more!

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Job, Perfection, Prayer, religion, Technology, Word of God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ultimate Connection

  1. Paulyn says:

    That was so beautiful, Shirley. I am that way, sometimes, when things don’t seem to be going right. I pray and pray and call for Him, when He’s always around after all! Sometimes for me it’s like He’s just teaching me to become stronger. And yes, I do learn a lot from those trials and challenges. And I always thank Him for making me better than what I was before I had that trial. As long as He’s around us, nothing will ever go wrong!

  2. Shirley says:

    Paulyn, we need to pound into our heads the scripture that says He will never leave us or forsake us. NEVER is a very long time…or an absence of time…eternal. Neat, wouldn’t you say!

Leave a Reply

