That’s What I Know

I don’t know. Did it start out that way? Hard to imagine Jesus having a prayer meeting with His disciples and it being only Jesus who prayed…yet the scripture sort of implies that. I don’t quite get it. Maybe all of them had started out praying…and…can you imagine physically kneeling or standing by Jesus as He prayed? And you’re supposed to be praying, too? Talk about pressure and intimidation. Anyway the first verse of chapter 11 of Luke says,

“And it came to pass, that, as he was praying in a certain place, when he ceased, one of his disciples said unto him, Lord, teach us to pray, as John also taught his disciples.”

And so, maybe it was this way, that after the disciples had finished praying and then stood around or knelt or sat and waited for Him to be finished, one of them thought as he heard Him praying, “Have mercy…we don’t know a thing about this…won’t you help us out, Jesus, won’t you share a secret or two about this prayer business, we certainly don’t have this together, I see that now… And so, Jesus tenderly began to teach his men to pray.

A few minutes ago, I finished several hours of study in the Scriptures and tomorrow I will take my Bible and my notes and the handouts which are nicely printed and stapled together, and I will sit at a table with a small group of ladies and we will talk about Jesus and what He has to say about prayer. I am the teacher–supposedly the learned scholar–the leader–the guide–the elevated one who has the answers and who points the way…and the truth is, I don’t know a thing about the whole lesson.

Except this…One of the lines Jesus spoke is, “Thy will be done…” and that’s what I know. Not much, I admit. Merely a few words, certainly not original, maybe not profound… but that’s it…that’s what I know.

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, Disciples, God, Jesus, Luke, religion, Word of God and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to That’s What I Know

  1. helenl says:

    RE: “Except this…One of the lines Jesus spoke is, “Thy will be done…” and that’s what I know. Not much, I admit. A mere few words, certainly not original, maybe not profound… but that’s it…that’s what I know.”

    Original? No. But profound? Probably is.

    What else is there to know, except that the Spirit will pray in us when our words fail?

  2. Shirley says:

    Thank you, Helen.

  3. elmantheman says:

    Hi Sister Shirley,

    I want to share too that when we pray, we should pray where no one can see us, specifically, the unbelievers.

    And when you pray, do not pray like the hypocrites, they want to be seen and be heard, etc.

  4. Mervin Clark says:

    Sis. Buxton:
    I really feel that these words of Jesus is not formal prayer but a equation of or to pray. Or is it a path to be fallow, when we pray? I would look at just a portion of the equation, “Lord forgive me as I forgive.” How can I mouth these words and not see face before me. Then it moves to Lord I forgive, this person whose face I see, for a very personal reason. Because I know I need forgiveness for my Lord.
    The piece of Holy Writ we call the Lord’s Prayer is a format for us to follow and it times we will dwell longer at one point this time and another point the nest time.
    The best that Jesus has for you and yours;
    Mervin

  5. kikikaria says:

    What a thought…to be by Jesus as He prayed. I’m sure were I to stand or kneel by Jesus as he prayed, that I would be humbled immensely..convicted too. All my prayers would pale in comparison with His. I’ve taught lessons before on prayer, but I can honestly say that I too felt I didn’t know a thing about the whole lesson. Prayer is abstract, and we live in such a concrete, visual-minded world. And prayer is intangible as far as the senses go, but the benefits are mind-boggling! To commune with the Eternal in sweet fellowship through prayer is sublime and edifying. But then there’s times when prayer seems elusive and God away on a long trip. Even Job said, “Oh that I knew where I might find him!” Still so much to learn on the subject. I appreciate your honesty and candor.

  6. Shirley says:

    Good evening, ELMAN Certainly, we should not be as hypocrites and pray just for show. However, I believe there are times when it is appropriate to pray where unbelievers are–in church, in a hospital where they are sick, at the site of an accident, when we’re about to be in an accident etc. Of course, there are many times when we are to pray alone…go into our closets and pray. Jesus prayed in both manners–alone, and before believers and unbelievers.

    MERVIN, I believe you’re right that the Lord’s prayer is given as a guideline, although, it’s always moving when on rare occasion, we recite the prayer together.

    KAREN, the first time I had the thought of standing or kneeling or sitting by Jesus as He prayed, it brought me up short. Think how those disciples felt. No wonder they said, “Teach us to pray.”

    Love you all.

Leave a Reply

