Seeking A Way for the Little Ones

Seth Buxton, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

If there is anything that will intensify my seeking after God, it is the consideration of my children, my grandchildren and my great-grandchildren. My love for them is so intense that when I ponder the world in which they are maturing, and in which they will function, and now function, I understand the implicit need for God to direct and guide my family; the mothers and fathers and the little children. Read with me as Ezra addresses the issue:

“Then I proclaimed a fast there, at the river of Ahava, that we might afflict ourselves before our God, to seek of him a right way for us, and for our little ones, and for all our substance.” 8:21

Help us God in these perilous days, to seek diligently after You. Our little ones are depending on us to protect them and to guide them in the ways of righteousness–to lead them to safety.

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Children, Christianity, Devotionals, Ezra, Family, God, parenting, religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seeking A Way for the Little Ones

  1. writeathome says:

    You’re so right, Sister Buxton. The next generation must know. We do need to pray that God will help us to be diligent in training them up in the way they should go. Thank you for this reminder. I love the picture of Seth. You can definitely see the Buxton in him! 🙂

  2. Shirley says:

    Hi, Carol.

    I’m much further along in it than you are, of course, but even you no longer have babies, although I realize you are in the throes of getting yours through their teen years yet. An uncommonly difficult challenge is that, I know. But think about your children’s babies–your grandchildren–and the possible state of the world they will inhabit. Maybe it will never happen, though. Perhaps we will take our leave. 🙂

    Seth not only is beautiful, he is an easy, placid baby.

  3. Janet says:

    I smiled immediately when I saw your precious grandchild–Seth. Amen to your post! I shudder to think “of the possible state of the world (our children and grandchildren) will inhabit.” However, like you said, “perhaps we will take our leave!”

    Until then, I will also be praying and seeking Him…

    Thanks for this post and all your devotionals, and thanks for stopping by my site!

    Blessings,
    Janet

  4. Shirley says:

    Janet-

    Thank you for your remarks, for being concerned about our world and our children…and for admiring beautiful Seth. Nice thing about being a grandparent–people are forced to look at your pictures, and to listen to you brag. Pretty nifty!

    Bless you always

Leave a Reply

