The Recognition of Treasure

 

 

I don’t follow sports very much, but Jerry does so a fair amount, and when we were talking a few days ago, I learned how the Boston Red Sox, many years ago, not recognizing the treasure they had in Babe Ruth had very unwisely sold him to the New York Yankees. As we spoke, it struck me how in the spiritual realm we often fail to recognize the treasure we have when we know Jesus. Sometimes people don’t at all think of the inestimable worth of knowing Jesus Christ–of having Him live in their hearts–of walking and talking every day with Him.

Consider this story:

The management of The Red Sox surely did not know what they were doing, for after the sale, the once-lackluster Yankees became one of the most successful franchises in North American professional sports and the Boston Red Sox languished.

From Wikipedia comes more:

The Boston Red Sox baseball team then did not win any of the World Series in the 86 year period from 1918 until 2004. Prior to 1919, the Boston Red Sox were one of the most successful professional baseball franchises, winning the first ever World Series in 1903, and amassing five World Series titles by 1918. The flip side of the sale was New York’s success—after the sale, the once-lackluster Yankees became one of the most successful franchises in North American professional sports.

Always do I want to recognize the valuable treasure I have in my heart. I want to remember how precious and dear is God, what strength He supplies, what insight and direction He affords. God is my treasure, my dearest possession.

________________________________________________________

My other blog is here. Don’t miss the new feature there–Click on My Church Activities.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Devotionals, God, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Recognition of Treasure

  1. curtismchale says:

    For me it is so easy to forget the treasure since I see it all the time. Even dealing with my wife whom I also work with I find it easy to forget about all of the value that she has. Familarity breeds complacency

  2. arm5 says:

    There are many times that I have taken my eyes off of that treasure. But he always has gudied me back to him.

  3. Shirley says:

    CURTIS, your point is well taken concerning recognizing the treasure in people around us. Thanks for this insight.

    ARM5, aren’t we all glad that God is full and mercy and forgives our shortcomings.

  4. tommyjoe says:

    Mom says: It’s always good to find out more about the treasure we have in Jesus, and it takes us higher in our thoughts and insights of Him. I get thrilled when I find out new insights into the character and the life of Jesus. I’m thinking of a song (perhaps you know it?):

    I get so thrilled with Jesus
    Every moment of the day
    I get so thrilled with Jesus
    He’s the truth, the life, the way
    I get so thrilled with Jesus
    He satisfies my longing soul
    I get so thrilled with Jesus
    He’s the One who makes me whole

    Tom says: I like the expression you used “inestimable worth,” and I use it to describe my relationship w/God. I hope that unlike the Boston Red Sox losing their “Babe Ruth treasure,” I never lose this “”treasure in earthen vessels.” GOOD POST!

  5. Shirley says:

    Don’t know the song, Tommy. Do know I value Jesus as my eternal treasure.

  6. writeathome says:

    Indeed this Jesus’ name Holy Ghost salvation that we have is something to be treasured. I pray I never lose the wonder of it all. Thanks for a great post.

    Love,
    Carol

  7. Shirley says:

    Thank you, Carol, for this affirmation of our treasure.

Leave a Reply

