Holiness Effulgence

Who is like unto thee, O LORD, among the gods? who is like thee, glorious in holiness, fearful in praises, doing wonders?” Exodus 15:11

Extending far beyond the rules and regulations of what many term holiness is the brilliant radiance of God and the bliss and wonder of being connected to Him and to His majesty. While God will not share His glory with another, those who walk with Him are in some mysterious way permitted a glimpse, an ethereal brush, with His wonder and with His glory. In an unfathomable way we enter into His mystery, an inscrutable, indescribable place.

I love the words of Job in chapter 29 verse 1-4.

“…Oh that I were…when the secret of God was upon my tabernacle:”

Have you been there? Have you somehow pressed into the very presence of God, into the Shekinah? Have you dwelt there for a time when the world fell away, and you were transported into another sphere? Did you every try to tell someone about that experience, and, even as you spoke, you knew you could not explain it? A blank stare was returned or a shy grin or a knowing expression that affirmed, you can’t say it–don’t even try. It is a useless endeavor; there are not fit words.

I thought again of this as I sat in our Tuesday Bible study last night, where just a few people gathered, but where the presence of God was palpable and distinct. I watched a young man raise his arms, weep profusely, and then quite overcome by the presence of God, rise to his feet and walk about the room.

Job was right–it is a secret, without earthly understanding and wholly unaccountable. When I speak of being in the presence of God my lame tongue stammers, its flawed words dissolving as does filmy steam cast into frigid air.

Portions of this taken from my book, Road Tales.

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Boldness, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, Exodus, God, Holiness, Holy Ghost, Job, Pentecostal, religion, supernatural, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Holiness Effulgence

  1. writeathome says:

    It really is hard to describe to someone what it is like to be in the presence of God. It’s kind of like eating a delicious apple pie and trying to explain to someone just how good it is. They really can’t understand until they taste it for themselves. Maybe that is why the Scripture says:

    Psalm 34:8 O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.

  2. Shirley says:

    Isn’t that the truth, Carol. I long to be able to transfer this knowledge to those who don’t yet know Him. But it’s hard. Even to describe a special touch of God to a believer loses much in the telling.

    Love you lots

  3. tommyjoe says:

    We had to look up the word “effulgence,” though we’d heard it before. Now we KNOW it means radiance. That’s just one word to describe the undescribable! Mom says she’s amazed at the wonder of it all. You just can’t put some things into words.

  4. Shirley says:

    Well, now, Tommyjoe, you have a new word to describe the wonder of our great God.

    Greetings to your mom.

  5. Loys says:

    Shirley: I found your web site not long ago and have been blessed, thank you for your insite into the Word of God.

    My husband and I are missionaries in Crimea Ukraine to a Muslim people the Tatars. We are part of retired folks on the field, we are lay people that love the Lord and especially His Word.

    As we share about God’s love, prayer walk their streets, and witness about God’s provision of Jesus Christ in the darkness of the Former Soviet Union I’m reminded of comments like “Why are they smiling and their faces are so bright, who are you?” That comment was made by some young guys in the part that had been drinking all afternoon. And I love this one and pray each day it is asked, “Why did you leave America to come here, why would anyone want to come here?”

    Appreciate your prayers for these we have grown to love!

    And again thank you for sharing from your heart and experiences of God’s great love.

  6. Shirley says:

    Hello, Loys–

    I welcome you to my blog. Thank you for taking the time to read and especially to leave a comment.

    I’m very interested in what you are doing and spent some time over at your site. What thrilling work you are doing.

    Perhaps you have read on my other site where I talk a bit about my own life now as regards ministry. My husband is 75–I am 69–and a few months ago, we came out of retirement and are planting a church in Lake Havasu City, AZ. Quite a challenge, but we’re loving it.

    My prayers are with you, your family and your work.

  7. Loys says:

    Shirley: Yes I have read your other site but was not sure if you had retired. My vision of retirement and God’s has been very different. But I must say it is great, Virgil and I had always served the body inside the four walls and never really dreamed of moving so far from our home and family to live cross culturally. Missing our daughter and her family the four grandkids is the hardest but God has been faithful to surround us with lots of young students to love. And I know God will redeem the time we have missed with our grandkids and having their own blogs helps us keep up with their lives from week to week. Plus we use Skype to talk with our daughter.

    Well we will be praying that God’s mighty hand will move among those you are reaching, like a mighty wind which of course is His Spirit. I’ve heard “retirement is not in the Bible” well now I can testify to that one!

    It’s amazing how the internet can connect our spirits even though we have never met. Makes God’s presence so much more real to be connected to His body of believers.

  8. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Loys–

    Although you are so happy doing God’s work, and I heartily agree with such a stance and commend you for it, I am touched about your being away from your grandchildren, for I know how dear they are to us “grannies.” God bless you and this sacrifice you are making.

    Six of my grandchildren will be here on Wednesday. It’s quiet now, but hold on–soon chaos will reign. But I will love it. I have 12 grandchildren (from infant age to late 20s) and 8 great-grandchildren. Four children. When my third was 8 1/2 Andrew was born, and my third born didn’t have her child until she was in her 30s. So, I’m blessed with grown grandchildren and with tiny ones. It’s the best!

    I wish you well and trust you have a blessed Thanksgiving. I do enjoy hearing from you. Yes, the internet is quite the thing.

  9. elmantheman says:

    I love reading Romans 8 too!

  10. Shirley says:

    God bless you and your love for Him, Elmantheman

  11. elmantheman says:

    I hope you can hear Brother Eliseo Soriano’s when he prophesies on the deeper understanding of God’s mysteries that is becoming clearer to us Members, Church of God, International.

    He has tackled about how our brethrens “Christians” who died already, as the people outside the church calls it – but for us, just sleeping, are doing. Would you know what Elijah, St Paul etc, have been doing recently? Well, they are exactly doing what has been prophesied. All topics are biblical, bible based and you will be greatful more to God once you understand His plan for the Church of God. I hope we can sit down together on our next Thanksgiving to the God of Israel. We celebrate it during Saturdays, Philippine time the whole day while the prophecy is done on the later part of the day. We will have our National Church Thanksgiving to the God of Israel on 22December 2007. Should God allow, you will also be able to celebrate with us through internet access.

    If you are interested, you can try to visit esoriano.wordpress.com or you can just ping me if you become interested. You can also try angdatingdaan.org

    “Ang Dating Daan” is a Filipino phrase and in English, “The Old Path”

  12. elmantheman says:

    I hope you can hear Brother Eliseo Soriano’s when he prophesies on the deeper understanding of God’s mysteries that is becoming clearer to us Members, Church of God, International.
    He has tackled quite a lot one is about how our brethrens “Christians” who died already, as the people outside the church calls it – but for us, just sleeping, are doing. Would you know what Elijah, St Paul etc, have been doing recently? Well, they are exactly doing what has been prophesied. All topics are biblical, bible based and you will be grateful more to God once you understand His plan for the Church of God. I hope we can sit down together on our next Thanksgiving to the God of Israel. We celebrate it during Saturdays, Philippine time the whole day while the prophecy is done on the later part of the day. We will have our National Church Thanksgiving to the God of Israel on 22December 2007. Should God allow, you will also be able to celebrate with us through internet, live streaming. I am sharing these things to you as a member and witness for over 10+ years of watching and listening to him on tv and radio. I am now 5 years old in the spirit.
    If you are interested, you can try to visit esoriano.wordpress.com or you can just ping me if you become interested. You can also try angdatingdaan.org
    “Ang Dating Daan” is a Filipino phrase and in English, “The Old Path”

  13. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Elman–

    I wish you a blessed and enlightened day in Jesus Christ.

    Shirley

Leave a Reply

