I Bless Your Name

Elizabeth Goodine wrote this most beautiful song, I Bless Your Name, in 2003, but it was only during the last few months that I have become aware of it. After hearing such a magnificent song I began searching for the complete words and music, and as I did so, I came across this video produced by Azusa Pacific University Choir and Orchestra. Meghan McGovern is the soloist. If you enjoy fine music you will appreciate this rendition. It is a beautiful, inspiring work. After you view this, let’s talk a little.

But bless Your name? I bless your name? How is it possible that I–fallen, sinful, disgusting–can bless the name of God? As I spent time learning this beautiful song, I thought long on the principle here; I considered at length how a human could bless God. For it seems backwards, reversed, in the wrong order, for surely–and I’m more comfortable with this–it would be the Supreme, the Majestic, the God of all, who would bless me–the lowly, the servant, degenerate, the needy. I looked through scripture and found Paul to feel the same when he wrote in Hebrews 7:7:

“And without all contradiction the less is blessed of the better.” Hebrews 7:7

So what is this about my blessing God, about blessing His name? Is it not preposterous to think of approaching the throne of the Supreme One? How can it even skirt my mind to bless Him? And yet…it seems right, it feels appropriate, the spiritual yearning is there.

I have come to understand there is no possibility that the same meaning is implied when saying, “God bless me,” and when saying “I bless God” although both are possible and both are necessary. The Lord blesses me by His provisions, and by salvation which can be obtained in no other way, through no other Being except Jesus Christ. The only way I can attempt to bless Him is to honor Him, to give Him glory and praise. While in some translations of the Bible we are admonished to “give thanks to the Lord,” “bless the Lord” is used in others. So then we bless Him when we give Him thanks for blessing us. We proclaim Him holy! We acknowledge His superiority. We stand in awe.

Bless Your Name… I tremble, knowing how unworthy I am, yet from my heart, I Bless Your Name.

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, God, Hebrews, Jesus, Love of God, Music/singing, religion, Word of God, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I Bless Your Name

  1. Sister Buxton,

    This post moved me to tears. I love your last line… for I too tremble, knowing how unworthy I am, yet from my heart…. I bless His name.

  2. Shirley says:

    Thank you, Rochelle. Your words mean a lot to me.

  3. cbgrace says:

    Shirley, If you love this song then you should check out Selah’s CD. They have an excellent rendition of it.

    http://music.barnesandnoble.com/search/product.asp?z=y&EAN=715187883420&itm=7

  4. Shirley says:

    Thank you, CBGrace–

    I definitely will listen to that one also.

  5. Shirley says:

    Only a short clip is available at the link CBGrace provided, but indeed that recording is also beautiful.

  6. cbgrace says:

    Shirley, the Selah CD is incredible…two of the members of the group are brother and sister and their grandparents were missionaries. I read the story on the CD. Anyway, the country they were in was experiencing the gospel being spread so quickly that the government outlawed baptisms because they thought people were making emotional decisions to be baptized. The missionaries respected the law and on the day the government lifted the band on baptizing they baptized over 1000 people. They have a recording of that day along with a hymn they had translated…it is beautiful. And still brings tears to my eyes.

  7. tommyjoe says:

    We’ve sung this song as a “special” several times at Promise Land Worship Center in Fairfield, CA. We didn’t have a big choir, though, but nonetheless—a meaningful song. Good Azusa chor & orchestra rendition. Will have to listen to Selah’s version. Mom liked this, and YES, how is it possible that we, as humans (the less), can bless Him (the better), but thank God we can. We can offer the sacrifice of praise continually—that is, thanksgiving from our lips! Now we’re singing this song while sitting here!

  8. Shirley says:

    Tommy, I would love to hear your choir sing I Bless His Name. Next time I’m there, I’ll request it. The music in your church is magnificent–exceptionally beautiful. I always am blessed by it.

    Hello to your sweet mom.

  9. kikikaria says:

    I first heard this beautiful song about a year ago. Mike had bought a Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir CD, and this song was on there. We both fell in love with it. Mike can now play it and sometimes we sing it with friends and family around the piano. Mike has played it at church too. What an annointed song! I too have pondered like you, how sinful me could bless God with anything. But what also amazes me is that God considers His people to be His inheritance! (Deuteronomy 32:9, Psalms 33:12, Ephesians 1:18) The thought is very humbling, and indeed, I too weep that God loves us that much he considers us His heirloom, inheritance, priceless, precious treasure. Thank you Jesus!

  10. Debbie says:

    I do love that song! Elizabeth has written some beautiful songs! This was a beautiful rendition.

  11. Jana Allard says:

    Well, forgive me if I sound prejudice, but you will all have to hear Bryce’s quartet sing this song. They are currently in studio in Nasville recording this song. Let me add, if you study music, the quartet’s tenor, Keith Smith, cleanly hits a D flat and has room to go. Absolutely incredible! For those of you who may not know music, let me break it down this way. Most choirs will only have their tenors stretch to a G or A flat. If you are Merced choir, you will hit a B flat. Keith surpasses Merced by 2 whole notes – easily. I can’t wait for you all to hear the finished project.

  12. Shirley says:

    Hey, Jana, no need for forgiveness. I can’t wait to hear from this project. From what I’ve already heard from these four it will be spectacular.

    I absolutely love this song, and I’m quite impressed with this recording. I enjoy the bigness of it–the choir, the orchestra, the piano..think it’s wonderful.

  13. Carol says:

    This is the prettiest song i have ever heard; just heard it for the first time a few months ago and now i request it often in church. It brings me to tears everytime and the Lord always makes His presence known.
    Thank you!

  14. Shirley says:

    Carol, I agree. The song is magnificent, and I love this recording. I just listened to it again, and I’m sitting at the kitchen table of the Hogan’s in Phoenix, with tears in my eyes and with my soul moved.

  15. Mariza says:

    I just wanted to say, this song is now on Elizabeth Goodine’s and her husband’s CD called, I Bless Your Name with their own arrangement of the song. Elizabeth and her daughter sing it on their CD. I know Elizabeth personally and she is truly an inspiring woman of God. Her other songs Message of Love, New Life, I Want to Walk with You and she co-wrote “I Can Trust in You” are a must hear. they just came out in May!

  16. Anonymous says:

    God bless u. I thank god for people like u that help us to understand what we say in the word of god. Thank u so much

  17. As I was looking for this song by Selah, I could swipe the screen right and left and I found a young lady singing this song on a Jimmy Swaggert church service and it was absolutely beautiful…Brother Swaggert must have asked her to “sing that second verse again” about four times, if not more…and what a blessing to see the congregation worshipping, some on their knees, others with their hands up praising the Lord.

  18. I just watched that Jimmy Swaggert video again and the young lady singing ” I Bless Your Name” is Kellie Blackmon.

Leave a Reply

