The Supreme Oasis, The Church

Huacachina

Picture from The Britain Mail

Shimmering beneath the scorching sun of the Peruvian desert is an extraordinary sight – a tiny settlement, complete with lagoon, lush palm groves, carob trees, cafes, neatly clipped lawns, 100-strong population and even the odd swimming pool.

For thousands of years, Huacachina, otherwise known as the ‘oasis of Americas’ – there is only one – has been a beacon of green, hidden deep amid hundreds of miles of barren desert. Over the centuries, its glimmering waters have saved the lives of hundreds of sun-addled travellers, staggering in from the heat with their mules.

According to a Britain Mail article, the existence of this jewel is made possible because of a deep underground river–invisible and unexpected. Far beneath the scorching desert sands flows bountiful sparkling water. Not only do these waters feed nutrients to trees and grass in the community, they are also said to contain medicinal properties and to bring healing to those who bathe in their refreshing springs.

Within the hour, I will gather my things and go to church for my Sunday morning worship. The church is my oasis, my place of refuge, a spot of refreshing and renewing. Viewed by many as mere mortar and stone, set strangely among a desert of immorality and godlessness, in truth the church is fed by the invisible torrent of a river–that of the Holy Ghost, that of God.

“The eternal God is thy refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms…” Deut. 33:27

“I was glad when they said unto me, Let us go into the house of the LORD.” Psalm

122:1

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Church, Deuteronomy, Devotionals, God, Holy Ghost, Mornings with God, Pentecostal, Psalms, religion, Word of God, Worship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Supreme Oasis, The Church

  1. C.L. Mareydt says:

    … and we are the living stones of the church … we become the oasis in the middle of the dessert …

  2. Shirley says:

    Thank you, C L Mareydt. Thank you for your contribution.

    Welcome to this site. Hope you’re here often.

  3. kikikaria says:

    Amazing photo! I’m sure it’s a wondrous sight to behold to hot, weary and thirsty desert travelers. Jesus said come and drink of me, and you’ll never thirst again. He is our living water in a dry and thirsty land. Thank God He is in our midst to provide that oasis of refreshing as we cross the desert of life. Great post! Love you!

    Karen

  4. Shirley says:

    Love you back, Karen. Thank you for being here.

  5. Von de Leigh says:

    What a beautiful and honest portrayal of the church. I hope you don’t mind my adding this site to my blog as well. I want those who visit my site to have a chance to read this.

  6. Shirley says:

    Of course I don’t mind, Von de Leigh. It certainly is a beautiful illustration of the church as sanctuary.

    I can’t tell you how many times I have staggered into the church, exhausted, perplexed, discouraged. But within that sparkling oasis, I found water, strength and renewal.

    Awesome, isn’t it!

  7. Catherine says:

    Thank you for this post. The picture is amazing, the place is amazing. Right now, this is exactly what I need,water, strength, renewal, and it is in the church.

  8. Shirley says:

    Always, Catherine, is the oasis available for us. “Come, drink of this water,” Jesus says!

  9. Kevin Hopper says:

    My you are such a treasure of Godly thoughts. I guess when you walk with Him on a daily basis then you begin to know his heartbeat. This is the way we should look at the church as an oasis in this world! God Bless you!

  10. Shirley says:

    Kevin, I am humbled by your remarks, and I would like to think I live up to them, but I’m afraid I don’t. My goal, though, is to walk ever closer to God…for is it not the best place to be. What a place of refreshing is His presence.

  11. tommyjoe says:

    Amazing photograph. What’d it be like to be one of the 100 who live there in that Peruvian oasis? Good analogy about the church being our oasis.

    Mom says: It reminds me of a song:

    I found that oasis of love
    The pastures are green year ’round
    A new life is mine with peace from above
    I found that oasis of love . . .

Leave a Reply

