Passion for God

…He is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.” Hebrews 11:6

But if from thence thou shalt seek the LORD thy God, thou shalt find him, if thou seek him with all thy heart and with all thy soul.” Deuteronomy 4:29

A few months ago, here at DJs RV Park, I met a wonderful friend named Melody, and during our times of being together she has taught me a lot. One of the first lessons she taught me was how to be fervent about football–not only how to feel strongly and passionately about the game, but how to demonstrate enthusiasm. Not softly or timidly, but with gusto, she roots for The Greenbay Packers. She’s a Cheesehead.

Melody, the Cheesehead

I took this picture of Melody one day as she sat before the large screen television in the recreation room and rooted for her team. She yelped, wore cheese on her head, and waved around that yellow stick you see in the picture. I think she told me it’s called a Packaroni. She is adorable, and I admire the passion she shows for her team, and at Christmas time when she went home for a visit, she brought me back a soda can holder that is shaped like a wedge of cheese. I went to the rec room yesterday, sat with her for a few minutes as she watched the game, and waved around my can of diet coke in its foam holder. (I’m not much into sports and know very little about football. But when she cheered and waved, I cheered and waved.)

Did you hear about that game yesterday at Lambeau Field? At kickoff the temperature was 1 below zero, with a windchill factor of 23 degrees below. A local group handed out 30,000 packets of hand warmers, while videographers had quilts and blankets over their cameras in an effort to keep them functioning. Did you know that the stadium at Lambeau Field seats 72,928 people and that there is never an empty seat for a game, and that season tickets have been sold out since 1960? There are 74,000 on the waiting list, with Melody’s name being on the 42,000th spot!

Talk about enthusiasm and passion. Those Greenbay Packers and their fans have it, and the only one of those fans I know is Melody, and I admire her for sitting in the rec room in Lake Havasu City, AZ. and waving around a foam stick and wearing cheese on her head. She’s rooting for her team, she’s proud of them, she wants them to win.

Melody and I have many things in common; one is our passion for things in our lives. She’s passionate about the Greenbay Packers, and I’m passionate about God. Now I’m not saying those two things are mutually exclusive, for both of us have some interest in that of the other. Melody loves God and attends church, and although it would be pressing things a bit to say I love the Greenbay Packers, I did wave around my cup yesterday, and I wanted them to win because that was Melody’s team. (Sad to say, they didn’t and I considered wrapping myself in black and walking down to Melody’s rig this morning.)

I’m passionate about God and about His work, and I don’t mind telling you so. He’s the greatest thing that ever happened to me. His ways are the finest, a life lived for Him is the best life in the world–full of joy and peace and happiness and contentment. I love to talk about Him, and read His Word and go to church and sing hymns and clap my hands and lift my voice in praise. I love to tell others of His great love and of His redeeming power.

I love to be involved in God’s work and to think of all His plans. It excites me to consider Heaven and the great “catching away,” and to think how Heaven will look and feel and smell…and most of all how it will be…when…finally, I see Jesus, and in worship fall at His feet.

Oh, yes, I’m passionate about God. Believe me, I am. And although we don’t have Packaroni sticks in our services, we’ve struck many a cymbal and shaken a few tambourines.

____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Deuteronomy, Devotionals, Friendship, God, Hebrews, Music/singing, Passion, Pentecostal, religion, Word of God, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Passion for God

  1. Kevin Hopper says:

    I laughed when I read this post! I have been there when I was trying to connect with someone and I really wasn’t up on the game but to connect I showed my interest.

    I know sometimes we get laughed at for spending so much time, energy and money on God things. I have been told by many of my peers at work. They say “Rev you ought to be paid for all that you do for the church”. They can not imagine going to church twice in a year let alone twice every Sunday.

    But what would happen if the whole church got as excited about going to church as the Packer fans get excited about their team? How we would turn our world and their world upside down for His glory! 42,000 on the waiting list just for a chance to come into the services for a whole year! I’ll stop with that!! Come on let’s pray, fast and reach out!!

  2. Shirley says:

    Great response, Kevin. Love your enthusiasm.

  3. Von de Leigh says:

    Ohhhh I love this post. I’ve used this similar analogy in my girls Sunday School class I used to teach. If people can get so fired up about sports, how much more should we be fired up about the One who gave these athletes their physique and abilities. This life is but a vapor and is so little in the big picture but we can get so passionate about those things that don’t last.. and those things that won’t be with us on the other side. Why not be passionate about what REALLY matters and will be with us throughout eternity. Great post!!

  4. Shirley says:

    Hey, von de Leigh–

    The older I become, the more passionate I feel about God and His great church. Thanks for your comments, and for your passion and enthusiastic take on God and His work. Aren’t we blessed to even know Him…and to be involved in His work.

    I remember many years ago having a long conversation with my son, Steve, about the Bible and about God, and as we concluded our talking, I said, “Can you believe we get paid for this? Can you believe we are so blessed as to have been called to work full time in the kingdom of God. (Of course I don’t personally get paid, but at the time, Jerry was a pastor and earned his living in that way.)

    Unspeakably blessed are we, Von de Leigh.

Leave a Reply

