Of Honor and the Aged

Blessed People, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

Rev. Walton Combs and his wife Mabel of Casa Grande, Az. have been active in our churches for decades…and have literally given their lives for the Gospel. Now they are aged, and his health is broken. Today I want to honor these two beautiful people and, by association, all elderly people of God.

He that is the Ancient of days charges that respect be shown to the aged. These people are worthy of double honor and privilege; favor is requisite when in their presence. Practical and spiritual wisdom reside with them, and compassionate acts of love and civility should surround them. Their comfort must be insured, their observations heeded. They should be elevated, and talk of their shortcomings must fail, except with the most loving and caring of family and friends, and then only when such attention is demanded. Their sons in the Gospel should insure they never suffer financial duress or need.

Since their youth, Walton and Mabel Combs have literally emptied themselves into God’s work. Now in their evening years, they are cherished by the United Pentecostal Church, Int., by the local church they founded in Casa Grande, by their sons, other family, and friends who are spread around the world. Long hailed will be their strength of character, the thousand songs, the thousand sermons, the people–bound for eternal damnation– snatched from Satan and directed toward God. Long will ring the stories.

“And Elihu the son of Baracehl the Buzite answered and said, I am young, and ye are very old; wherefore I was afraid, and durst not shew you mine opinion.

I said, days should speak, and multitude of years should teach wisdom.” Job 32:6-7

“The words of the wise are as goads, and as nails fastened by the masters of assemblies, which are given from one shepherd.” Ecclesiastes 12:11

I know well a young man who has on his trophy shelf  that attribute of unflinchingly taking direction from his godly and aging father. No major step is taken without consulting him, no spiritual concept embraced except by frank discussion. He respectfully takes counsel from his father, honors and elevates him. He makes allowances for his aging body and for his diminished strength.

“Thou shalt rise up before the hoary head, and honour the face of the old man, and fear thy God: I am the LORD.” Leviticus 19:32

_____________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Children, Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, Ecclesiastes, Job, Leviticus, Love, Pentecostal, Preaching/Preachers, religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Of Honor and the Aged

  1. writeathome says:

    I love seeing elderly people that have lived for God for years and years. There is just something so wonderful about being around them. I remember as a 16 year old new convert hearing the mother of our pastor(who was probably in her late 60’s then) reading a Scripture passage from the pulpit every Sunday morning. Every time she read, she was always near to tears, and you could sense the deep love that she had for the Word of God. I also remember Sister Chesser testifying too about how she appreciated being able to walk with God and have a relationship with Him. We can really glean so much from our elders who have walked with God for many years. That’s the type of spirit I want to catch.

    By the way, Sister Buxton, I do highly esteem you as my elder,(not that you are really old, mind you) and I have learned a lot through being around you, hearing you speak in the past and reading your blog. Thank you for your influence in my life.

    Love,

    Carol

  2. Shirley says:

    Thank you Carol for your very sweet and kind remarks…

    You’re right, though, I’m not yet claiming a spot with the sweet old people …not yet… I’m running as fast as I can, but when I glance behind me, I see a long string of birthdays tearing toward me at a gallop.

    I do appreciate your respecting and loving the elderly people in your life. I’m not surprised that you would do that, for it is obviously your nature to be so respectful.

    Love you–

  3. dean says:

    I do so well remember…. The walking Bible. Such a remarkable memory of the bible. Peace

  4. Shirley says:

    There you are, Dean. I was thinking of you only yesterday.

    Brother Combs had a unusual memory of scripture. They went to Casa Grande and built a church from nothing. She worked for years raising money…making and selling peanut brittle to support the church when it was small. She would drive into Phoenix every week to sell the candy. They have sacrificed tremendously. Their younger son, Andrew, is now the pastor. He is a fine young man.

    I don’t know how far away it is from you, but in a couple of weeks my husband and I are flying to Texas–town near Houston. We’ll be there from Thursday until Monday. Sure would love to see you.

  5. dean says:

    oh, that would be wonderful. I sent my c number to mike. I am starting to choke up. It would be great to see you. peace

    Dean, hubby will be calling you….hope you can make it. what a time that would be.

  6. aprdmomy says:

    I do so love Bro. and Sis. Combs. Remembering well from my youth the many times she joyfully, I mean joyfully sang.
    Can’t you just see her? Sweet head reared back lustily singing,”After All”. Her beautiful ‘do bopping to and fro. Nothing like it. God Bless them richly.

    PS Thanks Mom for remembering these precious people of God

    Bek, nobody in this world can sing that song like Mabel Combs. She still sings, and every time I hear her, she “brings down the house!” It’s amazing. Love you. See you soon.

  7. Susan (Noble) Pace says:

    This is very beautiful. I would love to see them again. I remember as a child, Bro. and Sis. Combs coming to our church in San Fernando, CA and holding revivals. One of them lasted 9 weeks. He could quote more scriptures than anyone I’ve ever known. His brother, Charles, said one time, “While my brother memorized scriptures, I memorized jokes.” God bless them and I pray them well.

    Oh, thank you Susan for being here and for your kind and loving words about Brother and Sister Combs. They are precious people of God.

  8. Pingback: Mabel Combs At Rest « Shirley Buxton

  9. Robert Tackett says:

    Brother Walton Combs would preach scripture only messages on various Bilical topics by memory, without comment (except for maybe a “Woooooooo!!!!” or “Halleluia!!!” or various other shouts of praise to God). He easily had the capability of quoting all the Old Testament prophesies relating to the coming of the Mesiah, and how the documentation of the life of Jesus Christ in the New Testament scriptures fulfilled those prophesies. Sister Mabel Combs (now passed away) was a wonderful woman of faith; loving, kind, generous, and one of the best peanut brittle makers on the planet. She could sing and play the piano or organ Pentecostal style like no one else. Her right hand would go up in the air to worship God (or point her finger to emphisize a lyric in the song being sung, or direct some kids acting up in Sunday school to sit down) while the left hand would be keeping the song’s rhythm going strong without missing a beat. When these two would sing together, Brother Combs with his tambourine, and Sister Combs with her accordian, it was an unduplicatable event by any couple on earth. “…Cried Holy to the Lord…and if I could, I surely would stand on the Rock where Moses stood!…” or “I prayed through…God’s Glory shown around me and ev’ry thing seemed new. I got up shouting “Glory!” I’m glad I’m one of them, too. I never shall forget the night that I prayed through!”. The place would just go up in a shouting, running, dancing, worship to God, Holy Ghost, tongue talking event. Anyone who’d never seen it before would probably say we were nuts, just plain crazy insane, and maybe we were. But then again, I look at the Iraq war, Rwanda Genocide, drug cartel war in Mexico, folks getting so drunk that they throw up all over themselves, mothers killing their children, the Holocaust of WWII, flying jets into the World Trade Center and using explosives, killing a bunch of people, Oklahoma City bombing, kids shooting kids at school, killing people for religious reasons, I could go on and on…I have to ask who really are the crazy ones? Though I may not agree with everything that was taught while sitting under Brother and Sister Combs ministry, I must humbly say may Jesus Christ always bless and fill thier lives with Joy and Love in this life and the one to come for at least wanting to bring some Spiritual sanity in a world that appears to be headed for disaster.

    • Brother Tackett, what a treat to hear from you. So sorry, though, I have noticed this so late. Thank you for adding your wonderful remarks that further show the amazing people that the Combs were. . . . when we all get to heaven. .

  10. Matthew says:

    Do you have all of the words to “I Prayed Through”? I remember that song from my childhood!

    • Matthew, are these the ones?

      Verse 1
      I came to God one night in prayer with my heartache and my care.
      I prayed, “Dear Father, here’s my all, I’m going through.”
      And since the day that Jesus came I have never been the same.
      I’m glad I stayed down on my knees til I prayed through.

      Chorus:
      I’ll never forget that wonderful hour, when I felt His power, and I prayed through.
      All Heaven came down and God’s glory abounded, the angels resounded, when I prayed through.

      Verse 2:
      And now I’m His and He is mine, blest assurance joy divine.
      I’m feasting on the living Bread since I prayed through.
      I can’t explain just how I feel, but praise God I know it’s real
      Because I stayed down on my knees till I prayed through.

Leave a Reply

