Sunday Morning Issues

“Cause me to hear thy lovingkindness in the morning; for in thee do I trust: cause me to know the way wherein I should walk; for I lift up my soul unto thee. ” Psalm 143:8

As far as the sun rising, moving across the sky, then setting in the west, Sunday is no different from any other day. The laws of nature don’t take on religious tones, nor do they don pious faces, nor tuck Bibles under their arms. No, such actions are reserved for us, we humans who have set aside a day to more fully give ourselves to God. And although we have the understanding that no one day is better than another, and that we should fully serve God every day, there is something special about rising on Sunday morning with our plans laid to go to church, and to spend much of the day thinking on God and mingling with His people.

“Cause me to hear thy loving kindness in the morning,” David said, and I blend my words and my thoughts with his this Sunday morning. I rise from my bed thinking on His goodness, and in joy I anticipate the morning service where I will listen to sermons and join in singing of songs, and where my ears will hear of His loving kindness and His wisdom will “cause me to know wherein I should walk.”

A good day is in store!

________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, God, Love of God, Mornings with God, Psalms, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Morning Issues

  1. Kevin Hopper says:

    Shirley, It has been a good day! We had a great service this morning with several visitors. Then I spent all afternoon doing my volunteer service at the hospital. I prayed with several families today and one family of five promised to come to church. Yes it has been a great day!

  2. Shirley says:

    Kevin, glad your day was so wonderful……sounds like a busy one. Mine was busy also, including lots of traveling. I will post about it a bit later.

    Happy Monday, too.

Leave a Reply

