To Contemplate…and To Render

DSC_0004, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

During the recent past, I have spent much time thinking on the goodness of God, and on His abundant blessings and mercies. Wide-spread are His generous arms; open are His storehouses, so that one rich moment follows another. Scarcely has one magnificent gift arrived than rapping on my door comes yet another messenger of rare report.

And so with the Psalmist, I cry:

“What shall I render unto the LORD for all his benefits toward me?” Psalm 116:12

_______________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian Service, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Love of God, Psalms, religion, Word of God, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to To Contemplate…and To Render

  1. writeathome says:

    Psalm 68:19 Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits, even the God of our salvation. Selah.

  2. Tena says:

    Sis. Buxton, when I’m in prayer and I feel the overwhelming feeling of gratitude toward God for all He has done for me, I often ask Him, “Lord, what can I possibly do to repay You!” Every time, He says the say thing to me, “Tell people I love them and I died for them.”
    “Okay, Lord, I will.” 😀

  3. Tom Contino says:

    Good short post. Mom & I looked up the following verses. Here’s what we should render unto the Lord:

    I will take the cup of salvation, and call upon the name of the LORD. I will take the cup of salvation, and call upon the name of the LORD. -Ps 116:13-14. Those are good things to render unto Him.

  4. Kevin Hopper says:

    It seems as the older I get I become more in awe at the handiwork of God. I am amazed everyday at how God steps in and helps or blesses His people.

    Just yesterday I talked to a lady that I have seen her family struggle for years. Her daughter is now over seas on a 3 month missions trip. The lady told me yesterday that she got an offer for a full time position from a place that she had done volunteere work and that the next day her husband got a call from a contractor to come to work full time and they would supply his equipment and a company truck. O, to see and recognize the hand of God at work!

  5. Shirley says:

    Thanks for the responses, everyone. Love you all.

Leave a Reply

