God-Directed Giving and Overflowing Blessings

“Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.” Luke 6:38

The young man was exhausted from a full day of strenuous work. But it was Wednesday night, midweek Bible study time at the church of his host, and so he sat in the service. The young man came to be aware that piercing the layers of fatigue and the sound of the words of the pastor as he spoke on the ever-needful subject of prayer, was a distinct impression that God was speaking to him.

You need to give an offering of one-hundred dollars.

I what?” he fussed.

You need to give an offering of one-hundred dollars.

But God, he’s not even preaching on giving.”

But you have two one-hundred dollar bills and I want you to give one of them.

“Okay, okay, I will,” he finally decided. “I’ll find the offering plate and put it in there.”

No, put the bill in an offering envelope and place it on the pulpit.

At last the young man had a clear understanding that God was speaking to him and implicitly directing his actions. After the preacher had concluded his study and during the time that all had gathered in the altar area, the young man removed the bill from his wallet, filled out an envelope and placed it on the pulpit.

At the conclusion of the prayer service, the pastor asked everyone to return to their seats, and he spoke once more, telling of the one-hundred dollar offering he had found on the pulpit, and that the person who had given it was himself a home-missionary.

“He cannot afford to give this offering, and we’re giving it back,” he concluded. “In addition, we’re going to support this young church, and we will bless them with an additional offering.” The pastor went on to say that this action had confirmed his feeling that God was directing him to preach on sacrificial giving.

The collection pans were passed again and a gift of almost $700.00 was given to the young minister.

The Pentecostal Church of Hollister, CA. pastored by Rev. Nathan Hurst was the wonderful group that provided this blessing to a young minister.

(I received this story second-hand, so some of the details may not be exact. I’m closely associated with one of the principals, though, and am sure of the story’s essence.)

Is God great…or what! Are His people great…or what! Is this the best life…or what!

______________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Boldness, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, God, Love of God, Luke, Pentecostal, Preaching/Preachers, religion, supernatural, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God-Directed Giving and Overflowing Blessings

  1. cbgrace says:

    God has been teaching me lately about being aware of where you are sowing your seed. Sow into the most fertile ground…good ground. Not all ministry is good ground. Our rule is, local church body first and then sowing into other ministries that have been feeding us.

    God bless you, CB. Thank you for responding, and for your wisdom regarding the giving of your money.

  2. Carol says:

    Yesterday, we were talking in Sunday School about being obedient to God, even though it may seem stupid to us or it doesn’t make sense, but it’s being obedient that will bring the blessings and victory. There are several stories in the Bible that illustrate this principal such as Naaman being instructed by the prophet to go and dip seven times in the Jordan River to receive a healing of his leprosy and the Israelites marching around the walls of Jericho, exactly as God had instructed them to do and seeing those walls fall down on the 7th day. God is still the same today, and he blesses those who are obedient to His voice.

    It’s true too, that you cannot outgive God. I know there have been several times when my husband has slipped money into the pocket of another minister or a family in the church with a need. This week he had a fellow minister(someone actually very close to you) slip some money into his coat pocket. You just can’t outgive God!

    Love you,
    Carol

    Carol, it is just so blessed to be involved in God and His miraculous ways. We give to others, and without fail, more is returned to us.

    I truly love all of you and wish you every benefit of God’s attention.

  3. Tena says:

    I was thinking you would write about this awesome testimony, Sis. Buxton. And I was right! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you did – I love your writing.

    When my husband called to tell me about this service (I was in MS visiting my mom), he was crying as he told of it.

    Read more about it at Sis. Hurst’s (Ronda’s) blog: http://iluv2prshim.wordpress.com/2008/03/06/victory/.

    And, more at Nathaniel Hurst’s blog: http://thanh3.wordpress.com/2008/03/07/cha-ching/.

    There is more to rejoice about!

    God is so awesome – words cannot describe Him!

    What comes to my mind as I think about the events that took place in this service is: if that young man had NOT obeyed God, would the blessings on others have taken place? Hmmmm…not sure if they would’ve. It “pays” to obey God. πŸ˜€

    Yes, Tena! God is awesome. I had previously read Ronda’s blog, but went also to Nathaniel’s. Thanks for the link. What a powerful service that must have been. There is another exciting development. I’ll write about it tomorrow….stay tuned. πŸ™‚

  4. Kevin Hopper says:

    I experienced a similar situation about 4 years ago at Because of the Times Conference. I felt impressed to give $100 and God said that he would multiply it. I said what, and God again said to give it and He would multiply it. So I walked up to the altar and put the money down while people were worshipping and Pastor Anthony Mangun mentioned a few minutes later that someone had put some money on the altar. Within fifteen minutes my offering(to me it was big because I was laid off work) grew to over $100,000!

    I thought thank you Jesus!! He was true to His word!

    The next morning I got to the airport and somehow my flight was over booked and I got a free ticket and a later flight home. God blessed me twice!!

    And some people think it is boring to serve God. Wrong! πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: God Directed Giving and Over-Flowing Blessings–Part II « God Things

  6. Pastor Jones Owusu Banahene says:

    Dear my fellow pastor in christ,
    Is been my pleasure today to visit your ministry and to know how much you are doing.However,my name is Pastor Jones Owusu Banahene having my own church known as (The Servant Of Gods Church)we are now worshipping in a school class room and praying hard to build up a structure.
    Now,through God we are able to convert many people but there has been a finacial problem for a while and will like to reguest from you a study bibles for me and my elders to improve our bible knowledge and also to have a greate fundation as a leaders.
    my the almighy God bless you and touches your heart and listing to our call in Jesus name amen!!!!!!

    Pastor Jonas Owusu Banahene
    Box Ta 696
    Taifa Accra
    Ghana West Africa.

Leave a Reply

